We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel With Character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Hotel With Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited the Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa in July and stayed for one night in a deluxe room. This was part of a short tour of the area which included two nights on the Livitrans train (a journey of 8.5 hours each way) and one night at Topas EcoLodge.

Although guests of the hotel, we had not been able to obtain a berth in one of their sleeping carriages on the hotel’s dedicated Victoria Express train. This was unfortunate as the Victoria Express’ departure and arrival times were more convenient, leaving Hanoi at 9.50pm and arriving at Lao Cai station at 6.15am, than the Livitrans train which we did eventually book, departing at 8.35pm and arriving at 05.05am. Nevertheless, the route was exactly the same and I suspect that we would have experienced the same lack of sleep on both trains.

On arrival at Lao Cai station we were picked up by our pre-booked driver who drove us the 45km along the winding mountain road to Sapa. As darkness gave way to light and we drove closer to Sapa the views became more and more spectacular with stunning mountains and picturesque rice paddy fields. As the single rice harvest of the year is in October after which the terraces are bare, July was a perfect time to view the lush green fields.

On reaching Sapa, the town had the air of a European mountain village and the temperature was considerably cooler than the 38 degrees we had just experienced in Hanoi. The hotel itself, which resembled a mountain chalet, was situated on a hill just above the centre of the town and had wonderful views.

After filling out the necessary paperwork at the hotel we asked whether we could check in to our room as we were totally exhausted but we were told that we would have to wait. We then asked whether it would be possible to have breakfast while we waited, which we would be happy to pay for, but we were told that it was too early. Eventually we were allowed to purchase a coffee in the Ta Van bar while we waited and, after half an hour, we were finally shown to our room. Although this was an inauspicious start, made worse by our lack of sleep the night before, our stay did improve from this point onward.

The room in which we stayed was delightful and had a view over the hotel gardens from the balcony. We had a comfortable but firm queen bed, tea and coffee making facilities, mini-bar and in-room safe. We did not use the television. The en-suite bathroom had a bath and they had thoughtfully provided a step in order to climb into the bath to take a shower as the sides of the bath were rather high for those of us who are vertically challenged. The room was not air conditioned, although it had a ceiling fan, but I suspect that you do not really need it in the cooler climes of Sapa. We greatly appreciated the fact that, even though we had already checked out of the hotel, they allowed us to shower in a courtesy room the following day prior to our return train trip to Hanoi. This was a nice touch.

The Spa was situated about 200 metres up the hill from the hotel and although I was kindly offered a lift in the hotel golf buggy as it was raining I was very happy to grab an umbrella from reception and walk there. I had booked the 90 minute Victoria Massage which was total bliss. I could have stayed there all day as it was, without doubt, one of the best massages I have ever had and it was worth every penny. They do offer cheaper options in town but I seriously doubt whether they would be as good.

The hotel has a small boutique where they permit some of the local Black Hmong and Red Dzao ladies to sell their wares. This is a great idea and as the ladies were so charming and made us laugh I couldn’t resist buying some of their beautiful woven cloth (‘an heirloom from her grandmother’, she said with a wry smile!). In addition, there is also a loom in the reception area where a local lady weaves beautiful scarves each day; it was lovely to watch how skilled she was and to see the finished product. The prices here are higher than in the market but you can browse and haggle in comfort without being surrounded.

The hotel’s Ta Van restaurant offers wonderful views over the town of Sapa. It is here that they serve the extensive breakfast buffet and where we had a wonderful fruit platter and eggs cooked to order. The coffee, which is included in the breakfast price, is filter but there is an option to purchase Lavazza coffee, which we happily did.

In our opinion, this is definitely the best hotel in Sapa, due to its location, its character and the way in which it harmonises with the local area. We wish we had stayed two nights in the Victoria rather than wasting our second night in, in our opinion, inferior accommodation elsewhere.

The only thing I would change, in order to offer clients an even better experience, is to suggest that provision be made for early arrivals. As the majority of visitors travel on one of the overnight trains, arriving exhausted in the early hours of the morning, it is not unreasonable to assume that some people will want to check in to their rooms, freshen up and have something to eat earlier in the day. Other than this small improvement, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Balmaiden65,

It is very appreciated that you rate us 5 stars. Thank you very much.
Even if the Victoria Express Train uses the same rails as the other operators, by having a full service and a restaurant on board makes the journey different and more appreciable.
Due to the check out time (12 noon) it is sometime difficult for us to give the room key before the previous guests check-out. That’s why, you can pre-book or buy upon arrival, the Good Morning Sapa package, including the breakfast and 30 minutes massage at the Spa. It will allow you to enjoy the buffet breakfast and relax instead waiting.
If you liked the breakfast, you should love the lunch or dinner. Our French Chef cooks with his team various western and local dishes. From gastronomic menus to the snack menu, you will find something fitting your taste.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Alps of the Tonkin, at the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    302
    91
    27
    5
See reviews for
124
379
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were a little wary about the Victoria because of the mixed reviews and the high price compared to other hotels in Sapa. After staying there for three nights we are pleased with the choice that we made and overall feel this is a good hotel.

Our main reason for choosing the Victoria was that we wanted to spend some of our time in Sapa relaxing in our hotel and to have use of onsite facilities such as a swimming pool and gym. The hotel has a nice relaxed feel and the traditional alpine style works well. The bar is pleasant and has a pool table.

Our eight year old son enjoyed the small play room. The adjacent garden which has pet rabbits was a nice touch and will appeal to families with young children.

The dining room has superb views across the mountains and if you are lucky you can get a table next to the window. Breakfast options included Sausages, bacon, Asian and continental European. We were particularly impressed with the range and quality of the French pastries. Noodles were cooked fresh with a choice of meats or vegetables. Eggs were also cooked to order.

We found all the staff polite and courteous. We thought the staff in the restaurant, were particularly attentive and obliging, though at times a little too enthusiastic to take away crockery. On a few occasions I had barely finished with it and it was gone.

Our bedroom was pleasant enough, but not that much better than rooms in small mid-range hotels. The room was big enough, but not large and the bathroom was ready for an upgrade.

The pool, spa and gym equipment are in a purpose built block that is separate from the main hotel. It is a 50 metre walk up an incline, but you can be taken in a golf buggy, if you can’t manage the walk. The pool is indoors, but pool room has large windows and glass doors, which make the most of the surrounding mountain scenery. On warm days the doors are open, so you can wander freely between the pool area and outdoors.

There are a few items of gym equipment in the pool room. This works okay, but isn’t ideal and it would be better if there was a separate gym.

The basic price for the Victoria is about right and there are no other hotels in Sapa with the same level of facilities. Drinks and other services, such as the Victoria train carriage and hotel shuttle from the train are overpriced in our view. By taking a minibus and standard sleeper train we paid significantly less (a few hundred pounds) than we would have paid using the Victoria train and shuttle transfer. Our cheaper alternative, was fine and were pleased that we had not paid significantly more for a slightly higher level of service.

The hotel is a good option if you want more than just a room for the night and are going to use the hotel facilities. If you just want a good room and are not bothered about the other facilities, then there are plenty of places with good rooms with panoramic views that are worth considering. Overall we were satisfied and we would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Tony E,

It is good to read your constructive review. You mentioned almost all Hotel services and facilities and we appreciate it.
The Hotel accommodates families as yours as we offer what you deserve. Our family studio will fit perfectly to your expectation. Furthermore, cleanness, safety and good level of service will make your stay a perfect one. The Victoria Express Train is in the same spirit: luxury, comfort, service for you to have an enjoyable and safe journey.
The Resort has a package called “Between luxury and authenticity” which consists of a home stay in a village without tourist, with the Victoria standards set up. It is perfect for couples as well for the family. We invite you to have a look at our website for further information.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in fascinating Sapa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Firstly we travelled from Hanoi to (and from) Victoria Sapa resort on The Victoria Express in our own compartment (you can travel by car or in a shared compartment. Each to their own ). Having never slept on a train it was an EXPERIENCE :-) . You are warmly welcomed with drink and a towe to freshen up and you have water, ear plugs , blankets etc in your compartment. The food on the train is expensive. Bring, extra water, snacks, fruit etc and if you want to sleep some ALCOHOL!!! (we did this on our return journey and slept a little more. The hotel was very nice our room had a balcony facing well kept gardens and a view of the edge of the himalayan mountains STUNNING! . Breakfast was of a high standard with lots of varieties of western and eastern dishes for you to enjoy. The staff were lovely and always there to help you if required. I cannot rate the spa as i did not try it. The price of the food here was again expensive, so like most people we ate out at the excellent local restaurants in the village (delicious food at very cheap prices). All in all thia is the best hotel in the area, but i think it would be better if they had a top hotel to challenge and push them a bit more. Thank you all at the hotel for making this leg of our honeymoon so fantastic! .

Tips; Take a couple of trips to visit the various Indigenous people who live in Sapa. They are friendly and enlightening.( get a good guide) Be prepared to do lots of walking. It will be well worth it. Also be prepared to buy little goods that they sell but haggle with them a little. Eat out at the local restaurants. Happy holidays!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear MetinR,

Thank you very much for rating us 5 stars in: sleep quality, rooms, cleanness and service.
It is always an honor to host honeymooners in our property. The journey starts on board of the Victoria Express Train, in thecabins and in the restaurant. You will be able to experience a dinner or just a snack, depending on your budget or your needs. A full bar is also available on the journey with the restaurant. A cocktail or a glass of wine might exceedyour expectation.
Our French Chef is cooking a new menu, with Vietnamese specialties and Western favorites. His creations are appreciated for the taste, the presentation and the originality.
And we have a special offer, the Honeymoon package; refer to our website for more information.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Alps of the Tonkin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived to the hotel very early in the morning due to the train. They were very accommodating and let us into our room early(By about 8AM). The hotel and staff were very nice. Our room was nice. The only complaint I would even have was that the bathtub/shower were looking a little worn down. Nothing major though that warranted a complaint to the hotel. Everything was clean. The bed was a bit hard- perfect for my husband but I prefer a little softer...especially after a long day of hiking! We were both very sore! Used the spa and both got massages which were also very good. Once we checked out, they let us come back that afternoon and use the spa to shower and get ready for the crappy train ride back ( see post on livitrans). Last comment, but also minimal and not a deal breaker, is that it'd be nice if the hotel/spa carried plastic bags for guests. Our clothes were muddy and sweaty after a long day of trekking in the mountains with rain. Our shoes were caked in mud and we had nothing to carry them back to Hanoi in. Bring extras with you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Jennie H,

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it.
It is always good to have positive feedback on the service and cleanness, which is very important for us.
After a long day of trek in the mountains, our Spa will allow you to relax your body and your mind through some massages, scrubs, wraps or medicine baths.
Our laundry department offers to clean your shoes within 3 hours, you will get them back clean of mud and dry, ready to pack.
For a better experience, we suggest you to have a look to our website to discover the Victoria Express Train, which will transport you from Hanoi to Lao Cai in a luxurious atmosphere, comfort and service.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Probably the best (only?) quality large hotel in Sapa although there do appear to be some nice smaller boutique style hotels in town. Good service and breakfast was up with what you would expect for a 3 star hotel.
Spa was excellent with a large indoor pool and good quality massage - at Western prices!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear JeremySalvesen,

Thank you for your valuable review and writing that we are the best Hotel in Sapa.
The management and the staff are working together as we try to provide you the best and to go beyond your expectation. We want you to have a memorable stay in our property. It can be through our restaurant, by having a rejuvenating treatment at the spa, or just by enjoying our excellent ginger and lemongrass tea by the garden.
We invite you to visit our website to discover our packages, which might interest you.
We look forward to welcome you again at the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel facilities are very good, the staff is very courteous and friendly, always willing to help. The room is spacious and comfortable. The highlight of the hotel is the delicious breakfast with many choices of pastries and french bread, delish, delish. Woww! drinks are strong!!! =))) The Spa is good but not extraordinary for the prices they charge, too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Lourdes A,

Thank you very much for your appreciated review.
This is great to read about our team members, the Victoria employees, we thanks you for this valuable comment.
Our Spa, located on a hill, away from noise and from any disturbance, offers a large variety of treatments, from the beauty treatment to a 3.5 hours package including full body massage. The atmosphere of the place and the skills of the therapists make this place unique.
Our breakfast, served from 6.30AM to 10AM, display some pastries, cakes and live stations as eggs on demand and Vietnamese traditional breakfast dishes.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Victoria hotel need to improve service at Hanoi station for people who have no idea how to find the correct train.It is a pity that there is nobody at the station that understands engish
The train trip itself is good however the dining car prices are overpriced

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Smurfy9,

Thank you for rating us.
At Hanoi Train Station, a Victoria yellow board is placed at entrance of the station with a part of the Victoria Express Team, at least our porters are there at all times (or just a wait for few minutes) to orient you and assist you with your luggage. Our French Train Manager or Team of Supervisors will be very happy to meet you in English language in front of our carriages for explain to you the safety procedure and more. We are doing now a lot of English training for a better and better level of service.
During your way up to Lao Cai, you have the chance to experience a unique moment by having a dinner on board of the Train. We do not provide only snacks as others might do, but full menus, or a la carte dishes.
We look forward to welcome you again at the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#3 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.