We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, great view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Mountain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunny Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Sunny Mountain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
1 review
“Good experience, great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good experience and accommodating staff who made a plan for early checkin. we arrived at hotel at 6am and coukd check in at 8:30. Clean, pleasantly appointed rooms but very pleased about aircon. It was cold and the eindows

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    45
    8
    11
See reviews for
43
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dromana, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were in Sapa for 2 days last week and had a wonderful time despite my wife being ill. The staff were extremely attentive and very helpful. They helped with arranging a doctor, acting as interpreter and taking me to the pharmacist. Our guide "Todd" was a real marvel, his tour was fantastic on both days. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and associated Sapa tours to anyone. Many thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good location. Short walk to the ethnic night market, restaurant and bars. Clean rooms with heater during the winter season. Good breakfast. Not much of interaction with the staff. So do not expect much from the frontline staff. Amenities in the room is basic but is good enough. Very stringent on check out time. This ,may be due to the limited number of rooms and the high occupancy of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just stayed at the Sunny Mountain Hotel in Sapa. The hotel is more thank ok. I can highly recommend the place.
The rooms as well as the lobby have been designed in a very nice way, everything is very clean. In addition, the breakfast buffet is compared to other places really good.

Great value for the price

Room Tip: Stay in one of the upper floors (7 or 8) with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Shame we never got to see the view of the mountain over the valley but you cant do much about the weather. For the rating for this hotel, we thought it was very appointed, clean, well maintained, and friendly staff. Kettle and a small supply of tea and coffee in the room as well as mineral water (complimentary). We only ever got 2 tea bags a day, although they would give you more at reception, or you could just raid the maids cart in the corridor! A short walk into the centre of the town, and surrounded by similar hotels, shops and restaurants. We had a view over the valley which was quiet until early morning when the buildings started work nearby. Not a major issue as we were up to go out. Nice views (weather permitting) from the restaurant on the top floor. We had breakfast and lunch here and that was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view room - quieter away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We were late for check out. When we reached the hotel, the receptionist was very rude. She asked for our key and did not bother that our belongings was being taken out of the room without our permission. Our wet towels were chucked into a bag with our phone charger. The bag was dirty as we used it to put our dirty shoes. We felt humiliated. The hotel staff should not throw our things out and make us pack at the lobby. They should respect their hotel guest and not treat us in this manner. At the most they can only charge us for late check out.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Director of Sales at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Mr Ong, Hin Liong and Family
As your email sent with your information provided to travel Agency and Hotel before
on 27 of 12 /2013 hotel had chance to get your staying with us 1 night .The problem is happener for a week ago , We would sending our apologize to you and Family for this mis understanding to us on 28 of 12/2013 at the same time you going out to do the trekking to Village Our reception has contacting to your guide and some menber in your group to remind please do checking out before you go to trekking because for the trip is will get back to Hotel
in late noon time and at that moment at our loby you saw theare are many guest waiting to get check in room , And from us we had explaining you can do check out hotel then after trip back to Sapa hotel have room availbl to arange you or other traveler the room for having fresh up but after our explaning you we get your reminding from you and guide if you coming back before 12 Am you will do checking out hotel by yourself untill 1 pm hotel tried to contacting to you and guide to asking about your time and all out contacting you is impossible at that moment hotel still waiting for you untill you arrival is 1h15pm our receiption had asking you should help hotel do check out because other guest waiting for your room at here we had other requesting from your group want keep the room for 30 minute more at here we reply you , your room can`t keep longer we would arrange you other room for have fresh up and the hotel not toucher your room untill you arrival yet
- at sunnymountain hotel alway give to all the guest the best relaxing when thier come and staying with us for Police hotel will do free charge late check out or early check in when our the room availble also we do free charge for all giuest the room for fresh up when you waiting for checkin room or before you going to train station

- The hotel under stand valid for our long bussiness and providing all the best service to all traveler coming to sunnymountain hotel and this is reason we writing our explaining to you and your group and also we had tried to tell you on 28

- at sunnymountain hotel all the guest come their all happy with our staff and friendly
thier some time skill not 100% perfectly because here at sunnymountain hotel raised mostly minority people all of them were train in school and sunnymountain hotel where they stoping to change the life

- you or other guest when your traveling to Sapa and visiting the Village you saw mostly people here have poor life thier need alot of help

And this is reason Our hotel taken the name Sunnymountain

We hope through here you and other traveler can understanding Sunnymountain hotel all way give traveler smile and happy holiday in Sapa

All recommending about sunnymountain service or need our help please email us : info@sunnymountainhotel.com

Best regard`s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoy the hotel, good breakfast, rooms confortable and warm, location near the market,and the tour to Lao Chai village, you have to book with they, really really amazing and very good guide. We recomend it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunny Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mountain Hotel

Address: Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really enjoy to stay with us in the best accommodation in sapa town with mountain overview to Sapa Valley and the mont Fansipan and enjoy our tours services packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunny Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.