We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to relax post a hillside trek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Mountain Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunny Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunny Mountain Hotel
Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 38 hotels in Sapa
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great way to relax post a hillside trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here the night after our hillside trek, the staff where very helpful and accommodating in storeing our bags while we ventured on our 2 day trek, the breakfasts where very good with a good range of food available, dont expect to much western type breakfast food but thats why you visit these remote places
The rooms where very spacious and tidy,working the shower taps where a task, i would ask for advice next time
Location is supurb with it being on the main road and very handy to all shops etc, a great way to relax and freshen up post a trek

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    31
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My number one rule for rating hotels is not to rate all hotels equally. There are a number of factors you need to take into consideration before making your judgement on how many stars you will give your said hotel...such as but not limited to: Are you in a 3rd world country? Did you just travel on a prison train for 8 hours to reach this destination? Are you in a desolate area where the Four Seasons is not a hotel, but an actual description of the Seasons? Are you surrounded by dirt and beggars?? If so, then you need to rate your hotel accordingly, Obviously, these are just a few of the factors I took into to rate the Sunny Mountain Hotel.

For this area, the Sunny Mountain hotel was amazing. The service was outstanding and the best, best, best part of all...that view. You have a front row seat of Sapatown and Fansipan if not from your hotel room, then from the awesome rooftop bar and restaurant. We went when the weather was beautiful and sunny. Even then, the afternoon clouds would come in and cover Fansipan. If you got up early enough, you could see the mountain peaking out.
The food is not great, it's ok. Stick to Vietnamese food, don't order something international and expect it to taste the same. The breakfast is decent. I always asked for my Vietnamese Drip Drip coffee, much better than the one they serve in the caraffe. Get there before the crowd so you get the morning home made pho, oh my goodness it was good! Nights were spent on the patio with a bottle of wine and cheese from across the street (The Hill Station...so good!! and Service, amazing!) and listening to the sounds of the bustling mountain town.
The rooms were huge, warm and CLEAN! Everything was brand new when we stayed here (score!), so everyting was super clean! Yes, a few hiccups here and there... like the water in the shower fluctuating from burning hot to freezing cold, and the staff is a bit slow (but this is a mountain town, so it's slow everywhere). The food is not going to be that great anywhere in this town. If you are looking for a culinary experience, look somewhere else. Go to Saigon. Sapa is for hiking and scenery.
Monica is an outstanding GM, she and her staff took care of us in every way possible. The travel coordinator booked our outings each day (motorbikes for 2 days and hiking 1). I'm just sad I didn't get to try the Spa, it was still being built during our stay. Again, don't expect a Four Seasons spa...
I can't say enough great things about this hotel. If you are looking for clean, bright, relaxed place to stay with amazing views, then this it.
Enjoy Sapa.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 2 nights. After a early arrival we were welcomed with the possibity to get breakfast at the hotel for 5$. It was very kind. Our room was not available untill 11am (4hours to go). After we booked a tour, there was a room available straight away. Hmm... Rooms were modern, clean and spacious. Breakfast fine, BUT...
Next day we wanted to have a sleep to relax of the trainjourney, but at 8:30am we got a phone if we can go to breakfast, before later it will be busier (breakfast until 10am). What???
The last day we had even a phonecall at 12:02 to ask as if we can check out (we were just putting our shoes on).
You could also see that the staff is way to unexperienced and all is being told by a young boss... So our advice: good rooms, good location, but do no expect to much from the staff...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Sunny Mountain Lodge had nice rooms with plenty of space and very clean. Centrally located in SaPa and loved the people. They let you use computer in lobby and tried very hard to please you. Breakfast was good, dinner was OK. Our room had a fantastic view of the valley with clouds rolling in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is new and each room comes with electric heating. It is well situated with plenty of eateries, spas and shops. It is also located near the Sapa market. We requested for a family room and was pleasantly surprised by the sheer size of it. The rooms were clean, well furnished and the electric heating was a blessing in the cold month of December. There were intermittent power failures the two days we were there but they were shortlived as the hotel has its own backup power generator which switches the lightings back on. Breakfast was a delight. If not because of the mist, the view would have been great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stay 1 night in a suite, we were sorely disappointed. We checked-in the hotel at 2pm and we're requested for late check-out, the room was available but need to pay $20.
The room is nice with a huge bed. The cups in the room were still wet, the room come with tea and coffee maker but no coffee, I rang to ask for coffee, but the staff said coffee not provided, so why their website advertised with tea and coffee???
We walk around to look for Gym and Swimming, the staff can't understand English at all. All the facilities still under constuction, the safety signboard only in Vietnamese.
After dinner we went to the restaurent to get some snacks, we ordered vegetable spring rolls, it rolled with coleslaw and mince meat "bad", the pancake took 30min to delivered, bad because we're the only table.
Next day 9am, Check-out time, If pay by visa card it need to charge 3% extra, so we paid cash. After they check the room they said a towel was dirty we have to pay for it, we said we'd stayed so many hotels around the world none of the hotel ask us pay for the dirty towel, that is hotel job to clean it not us, he said he ask his manager talk to us. "Oh! No!" The manager she were worse than the receptionist, after I said the towel is washable and we won't pay, she took me to the laundry area to clean it with cold water and washing power, after I'd washed it she said not the same, I told her I need hot water and I want to video tape how she bully the hotel guest. We went back to the hotel lobby and I washed it again with hot water, she still said not the same, I wash it again and again, my tour guide said to me it is clean and the hotel guest also said it clean enough, when I ask my son take out my camara doing the video recording, finally she said it clean. don't need to pay.
We'd such a bad experence with this unprofessional hotel, bad service, bad food, bad manager...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of four stayed in one huge room with two twin beds and a queen bed. The bathroom was as big as our previous accommodation alone. It was very nice with bath and great facilities. The restaurant is ideally situated on the top floor with great views of the mountains Im told, but it was misty while we were there. .The buffet breakfast was very good. Plenty of different types of food to cater for everyone. We did like the welcome friendly cinnamon tea.
We didnt use the swimming pool. The room quiet and beds comfortable, although quite firm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunny Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mountain Hotel

Address: Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really enjoy to stay with us in the best accommodation in sapa town with mountain overview to Sapa Valley and the mont Fansipan and enjoy our tours services packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunny Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.