We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great rooms, but amateuristic service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Mountain Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunny Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunny Mountain Hotel
Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 hotels in Sapa
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great rooms, but amateuristic service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 2 nights. After a early arrival we were welcomed with the possibity to get breakfast at the hotel for 5$. It was very kind. Our room was not available untill 11am (4hours to go). After we booked a tour, there was a room available straight away. Hmm... Rooms were modern, clean and spacious. Breakfast fine, BUT...
Next day we wanted to have a sleep to relax of the trainjourney, but at 8:30am we got a phone if we can go to breakfast, before later it will be busier (breakfast until 10am). What???
The last day we had even a phonecall at 12:02 to ask as if we can check out (we were just putting our shoes on).
You could also see that the staff is way to unexperienced and all is being told by a young boss... So our advice: good rooms, good location, but do no expect to much from the staff...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    31
    4
    8
See reviews for
33
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Sunny Mountain Lodge had nice rooms with plenty of space and very clean. Centrally located in SaPa and loved the people. They let you use computer in lobby and tried very hard to please you. Breakfast was good, dinner was OK. Our room had a fantastic view of the valley with clouds rolling in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is new and each room comes with electric heating. It is well situated with plenty of eateries, spas and shops. It is also located near the Sapa market. We requested for a family room and was pleasantly surprised by the sheer size of it. The rooms were clean, well furnished and the electric heating was a blessing in the cold month of December. There were intermittent power failures the two days we were there but they were shortlived as the hotel has its own backup power generator which switches the lightings back on. Breakfast was a delight. If not because of the mist, the view would have been great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stay 1 night in a suite, we were sorely disappointed. We checked-in the hotel at 2pm and we're requested for late check-out, the room was available but need to pay $20.
The room is nice with a huge bed. The cups in the room were still wet, the room come with tea and coffee maker but no coffee, I rang to ask for coffee, but the staff said coffee not provided, so why their website advertised with tea and coffee???
We walk around to look for Gym and Swimming, the staff can't understand English at all. All the facilities still under constuction, the safety signboard only in Vietnamese.
After dinner we went to the restaurent to get some snacks, we ordered vegetable spring rolls, it rolled with coleslaw and mince meat "bad", the pancake took 30min to delivered, bad because we're the only table.
Next day 9am, Check-out time, If pay by visa card it need to charge 3% extra, so we paid cash. After they check the room they said a towel was dirty we have to pay for it, we said we'd stayed so many hotels around the world none of the hotel ask us pay for the dirty towel, that is hotel job to clean it not us, he said he ask his manager talk to us. "Oh! No!" The manager she were worse than the receptionist, after I said the towel is washable and we won't pay, she took me to the laundry area to clean it with cold water and washing power, after I'd washed it she said not the same, I told her I need hot water and I want to video tape how she bully the hotel guest. We went back to the hotel lobby and I washed it again with hot water, she still said not the same, I wash it again and again, my tour guide said to me it is clean and the hotel guest also said it clean enough, when I ask my son take out my camara doing the video recording, finally she said it clean. don't need to pay.
We'd such a bad experence with this unprofessional hotel, bad service, bad food, bad manager...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family of four stayed in one huge room with two twin beds and a queen bed. The bathroom was as big as our previous accommodation alone. It was very nice with bath and great facilities. The restaurant is ideally situated on the top floor with great views of the mountains Im told, but it was misty while we were there. .The buffet breakfast was very good. Plenty of different types of food to cater for everyone. We did like the welcome friendly cinnamon tea.
We didnt use the swimming pool. The room quiet and beds comfortable, although quite firm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just had a two night stay in the Sunny Mountain Hotel in Sapa. Newly opened it is quite fetching and ideally located in heart of town in Sapa. The view from your balcony is breath-taking and the room itself is large and more than accommodating. Breakfast is a buffet served in the rooftop restaurant which is again situated with brilliant mountain views all around you.

The staff were very eager and friendly to help or just chat away anytime.

Great price, great room and great service.

If I had to pick on anything, it would be the loose tiles in the elevator :P

Our stay was organised through the travel company Footprint located in Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Is a nice Hotel. Service poor due to one male staff that claim working for 7years there claim as manager tag a reception id funny ya? No manner while talking to a guest. Overall the Hotel is nice and near sapa market.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunny Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mountain Hotel

Address: Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really enjoy to stay with us in the best accommodation in sapa town with mountain overview to Sapa Valley and the mont Fansipan and enjoy our tours services packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunny Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.