We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Mountain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunny Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Sunny Mountain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently spent three nights at Sunny Mountain Hotel. The 'mountain view' rooms were spacious, clean & stylishly decorated & as expected had a great view of the surrounding mountains.

Whilst our stay was okay we were not happy that with the ongoing construction work. There was constant drilling & hammering & if we stayed in our room at all during the day we could not relax. We can appreciate work needs to be done but I do think Sunny Mountain should advise guests when booking so they can decide before actually booking & making payment. I'd suggest anyone considering booking a room here to first ask when the works will be complete.

When we arrived at the hotel we were allocated a different room to the one we actually looked at & left a deposit for the previous day. It took significant negotiation to finally secure a room on the floor we requested.

Wifi does not work in the rooms & only periodically in the reception area. Reception staff however kept insisting that it did work in the rooms. I asked on a number of occasions for them to look into the issue but there was no follow up. This may not be an issue for everyone but certainly was for us. For $50 night I expect internet access particularly when small cafes & other guesthouses can offer it.

The hotel is centrally located & the restaurant offers well priced local & Western cuisine.

Room Tip: Choose a 'mountain view' room but stay away from rooms located near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    45
    8
    11
See reviews for
43
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For 50 usd per night probably the best place to stay in Sapa with amazing valley view. It is very new and there is spa zone still unde the reconstraction. Rooms: very spacy, big window and great balcony. Very nice bathroom. Comfortable bed. Good heating which must during cold nights. Breakfast: big choice, great asia buffet with very good pho bo. Staff: some of them were very nice, some of them not so which unusual in Vietnam. Location: in the main street which is very busy and smogy but orientation is to valley. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for valley view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

newly renovated hotel in the center of town. Nice room. great view. Good breakfast. No problems at a ll exceptno wifi in the room. Had to come tohe lobby fo r the comthey even have free umbrellas for rent!

Room Tip: Front looks noisy. Ask for a room with a view at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Director of Sales at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Tristan B
Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, our lodge and very importantly that you enjoyed the food. and service

Thank you again for recommending to others but most of all for advise others travelers to read about the lodge before booking a tour here. and our strong partner Food print travel For future visitors reading this I would advise you to visit our updated website: http://sunnymountainhotel.com/ or http://xesapa.com/ http://sapatravellands.com/ or Food printravel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is new and it still in process to be finished. The bathroom is not full clean and I've found pouder in the lift. The lobby and bathroom aren't smelling well. The breakfast is not good quality. The laundry is ok. The massage is very rare I don't suggest to try it. But the beds are very confortable. So if you go just for relax after a trakking is very good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had excellent service from beginning, including early check-in after overnight train from Lao Cai. Room was spacious, clean, had opening windows, good bed linens and adequate amenities. Free use of minibar - including beer, wine and sodas. Nice view of valley in back room.

Included Breakfast was excellent - fresh omlette bar, assorted Western dishes, pho, cereals, bread, coffee, tea, juices, etc., including on a lovely terrace overlooking the nearby valley.

Services was good, professional and correct. As a value proposition, is more expensive than some but the added benefits will be of interest to some.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear face the valley, not the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A nice new hotel in the middle of Sapa. We 'upgraded' for an extra $20 on our tour, to a 2 star (perhaps 3) and got to stay at this new hotel. Well worth it! The tea on arrival is lovely. Good shower, friendly staff and central location. They stored some luggage for us also while we went off for some trekking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

When I chose this hotel, I was a bit worried about the stay. No much review over this hotel. Some reviews were totally opposite.
When I arrived at the hotel, all the doubts were gone. Even in the very early morning, they provided the room for our family to help us wash up the dirt overnight. Newly built, the furnishings and equipments in the room were clean and in good condition. We booked the family room. Instead, we had a connecting room with twin and double. It was so spacious for our family, all 4 members. Our kids were crazily happy to run around two rooms during the stay.The staff at the reception were so kind and helpful that they sincerely replyed to my all requests. Even when my husband missed his cell phone at the lobby, they found and kept it safe. Breakfast itself was average, but don't miss their vietnamese noodles, pho bo. It was the best I had in Vietnam. It was beyond what you can expect for breakfast at hotel.
Over all stay at this Sunny Mountain Hotel, was very enjoyable and relaxing. I strongly recommend to stay here when the hotel is maintained in good condition. 1 year later, anything can't be assured in Vietnam.--;

Room Tip: They have a restaurant at the 9th floor, so rooms on the same floor could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunny Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mountain Hotel

Address: Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really enjoy to stay with us in the best accommodation in sapa town with mountain overview to Sapa Valley and the mont Fansipan and enjoy our tours services packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sunny Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.