We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
8B Thac Bac Street, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It's an okay base for exploring Sapa - we stayed here for 10 nights and it was mostly fine for us.

Over a couple of nights the staff who we presume live at the hotel were pretty noisy (it's like they forgot there were guest in the hotel; maybe it wasn't a busy period). We did have 3 little cockroaches (very small) visit us during our stay, and probably the biggest negative for me was that the hot water would run out very quickly.

On the plus side the desk staff were very and helpful, breakfast was serviceable, there was a mosquito net in the room, and the location is pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    11
    12
    12
See reviews for
2
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

First of all I'm pretty amazed by some people's bad reviews on here about hoang ha. I'd go so far as to suggest that the main complaints are from those who have far too high an expectation of a hotel that charges roughly £6 per person per night. I dare anyone to find a hotel in england charging that much for a double room with its own bathroom and balcony looking over the town. One complainant seems to not understand that a standard Asian bathroom is generally a wet room with no defined shower area curtained off... welcome to international travel my dear!
Sure it's not 5 star accommodation but for that price I think it was great. Clean room, 2 person bathtub in our bathroom (room 304 if you're interested), hot water, flask of boiling water on request if you fancy making your own cup of coffee.
Breakfast included which was perfectly fine just your standard Vietnamese range of eggs, rice, bread, pho, noodles, pancakes and fruit with tea, coffee or juice.
Bugs and cockroaches, well we didn't see any but you're in the mountains for goodness sake so to find them is hardly surprising, so long as they're not in your bed or your food they don't do any harm.
We had a great stay, helpful staff from the day we booked, emails to arrange the transfer from Lao Cai answered quickly.

All in all, if you're just a normal budget traveller looking for a reasonable spot to rest your head in the evenings then you can't go wrong. If you're expecting the Hilton for the price of a premier inn then look elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a tour and part of it was a quick shower and breakfast after a 8 hour train ride from Hanoi. Let me tell you after you've experienced the train ride, the hour + ride on a bus you want somewhere clean, dry, half decent, enough light to see what you are doing, dry toilet paper, clean towel, decent food, hot (not lukewarm) coffee. What was with the breakfast - disgusting.
I hated this place. The only good thing was that we could leave our luggage here, but it was not secure. Anyone can go in and out of the room. So use locks.
We were given paper thin, grey towels to use in the shower. No soap, nothing else. The rooms, available as part of the deal with the tour groups, are horrid. On the bottom floor. Things are broken, lights don't work, telly only on one station, obvioulsy no sheets on the bed, I don't think they wanted you to get too comfy!!
The bathroom has a shower, toilet and wash basin. There are no shower curtains - so if you are a bit of a splash-about in the shower EVERTHING gets wet. You had to watch your footing on the wet floor.
So rescue the toilet paper before the shower - that is if you get toilet paper! It was just a stopover I do realise that, but surely if you offer a decent deal to a customer it might just lead to a returning customer. I don't think they realise that yet in the very young Vietnamese tourism culture. Great location, good views from what we could see. Surely they want return business.
We had a similar situation in Hanoi at the Landmark Hotel and we were given a regular room and it was great to come back to after that dreadful train ride.
You'll have to pay me to stay here. Horrible. I did inform the tour group about this and hope they make changes to their programme.

Room Tip: I have no tips! Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was quite spacious and had a nice view of the mountains. It is in a good location just a couple of minutes walk to the restaurants. The room was clean but the bathroom was a little dark. Breakfast let the hotel down, there were too many people and not enough room to accommodate them all. We ate our breakfast on a dirty table as it had'n't been cleared and by the time we managed to get something to drink our breakfast had gone cold, The buffet didn't look appetising and there was a lack of choice. The staff seemed friendly and were happy for us to leave our luggage with them whilst we were on a 2 day trek.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are currently staying here at the moment, what a mistake, the cockroaches are the least of the problem - just squashed 3 with my shoe.... I've just had to go downstairs to complain about the noise from staff occupying a lot of the rooms on the 4th floor, they are all shouting at each other, and it's made no difference me asking them to quieten down. The manageress has just come up and told them off, at least it's better now. Looks like people are living up on this floor, judging by the piles of stuff you can see in some of the rooms. And yes, as one other reviewer pointed out, it is pretty dirty.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Room was ok not big. The see through bathroom is a hazard when traveling with your children - even though you can pull down the shade. The room in the back is much better. Internet service was sparse. Managers at the hotel do the best they can with limited English.

Room Tip: Chose room at the back side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here and I would have said loved it with 4 stars but when the staff tried to scam us for an extra 25 dollars I was ANGRY! They knew exactly what they were doing and tried to charge us an extra 25 usd because we decided to pay with credit card/usd and not dong. We were running late for the bus and after my calculations I corrected them. I did not confirm the change we received back in dong and they shorted us 5 usd. Such a shame that the staff scammed us because otherwise they would have a positive review on here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel

Address: 8B Thac Bac Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Muong Hoa Valley and Fansipan Mountain, Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel is located a 5-minute walk from Sapa Market. A 24-hour front desk and free Wi-Fi throughout the building is provided.Hoang Ha Hotel is approximately 10 km from Fansipan Mountain - the highest peak in Vietnam & Indochina. The hotel organises a chargeable two-way shuttle from Lao Cai Railway Station, located about an hour’s drive away.Rooms are fitted with a cable TV, minibar and fridge. A hairdryer andslippers are provided. The rooms come with carpets. Garden, city or mountain views are available from all rooms.Guests can re-confirm their flight and train bookings at the hotel’s tour desk or request for postal services. Luggage storage and currency exchange services are available. Safety deposit boxes are offered at the front desk.Home-style local and Western cuisine is served in the restaurant. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.