We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with a good view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8B Thac Bac Street, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice room with a good view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was quite spacious and had a nice view of the mountains. It is in a good location just a couple of minutes walk to the restaurants. The room was clean but the bathroom was a little dark. Breakfast let the hotel down, there were too many people and not enough room to accommodate them all. We ate our breakfast on a dirty table as it had'n't been cleared and by the time we managed to get something to drink our breakfast had gone cold, The buffet didn't look appetising and there was a lack of choice. The staff seemed friendly and were happy for us to leave our luggage with them whilst we were on a 2 day trek.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
2
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are currently staying here at the moment, what a mistake, the cockroaches are the least of the problem - just squashed 3 with my shoe.... I've just had to go downstairs to complain about the noise from staff occupying a lot of the rooms on the 4th floor, they are all shouting at each other, and it's made no difference me asking them to quieten down. The manageress has just come up and told them off, at least it's better now. Looks like people are living up on this floor, judging by the piles of stuff you can see in some of the rooms. And yes, as one other reviewer pointed out, it is pretty dirty.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Room was ok not big. The see through bathroom is a hazard when traveling with your children - even though you can pull down the shade. The room in the back is much better. Internet service was sparse. Managers at the hotel do the best they can with limited English.

Room Tip: Chose room at the back side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here and I would have said loved it with 4 stars but when the staff tried to scam us for an extra 25 dollars I was ANGRY! They knew exactly what they were doing and tried to charge us an extra 25 usd because we decided to pay with credit card/usd and not dong. We were running late for the bus and after my calculations I corrected them. I did not confirm the change we received back in dong and they shorted us 5 usd. Such a shame that the staff scammed us because otherwise they would have a positive review on here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

First impression was nice. My friends rooms were a bit on the icky side. Mine I thought was lovely until I pulled the covers off the bed. I saw one hair, then I started seeing more. Then there were stains. I ended up sleeping on top of the covers fully clothed as the covers felt cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hotel staff has good English. Some are friendlier than others, but not out to give any extras. The rooms are quite nice, but the bathrooms could use some cleaning. There is free wifi and a billiard table in the bar area. Located up a hill, so not great if you have trouble walking, but otherwise a decent locale. $20 u.s. per night if you bargain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a trekking tour in Sapa.
The building is magnificent and the rooms have lovely furniture in them and are clean. There are large gaps in the windows and bathroom for mosquitoes to get in.The bathrooms are old and very dated with shower over the toilet which can be a bit messy/damp, but is quite common in hotels around Vietnam. It works ok in other places, but not here.
There is no air con, but I don't consider that a problem as Sapa is so much cooler.
The main issue is the breakfast- it is pretty horrible with dirty looking serving table and everything running out.
When you could find the staff they were helpful.
Overall I think you could find somewhere better for the same price in Sapa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel

Address: 8B Thac Bac Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Muong Hoa Valley and Fansipan Mountain, Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel is located a 5-minute walk from Sapa Market. A 24-hour front desk and free Wi-Fi throughout the building is provided.Hoang Ha Hotel is approximately 10 km from Fansipan Mountain - the highest peak in Vietnam & Indochina. The hotel organises a chargeable two-way shuttle from Lao Cai Railway Station, located about an hour’s drive away.Rooms are fitted with a cable TV, minibar and fridge. A hairdryer andslippers are provided. The rooms come with carpets. Garden, city or mountain views are available from all rooms.Guests can re-confirm their flight and train bookings at the hotel’s tour desk or request for postal services. Luggage storage and currency exchange services are available. Safety deposit boxes are offered at the front desk.Home-style local and Western cuisine is served in the restaurant. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.