We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice for Sapa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Elegance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sapa Elegance Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Elegance Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   03, Hoang Dieu Road, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Sapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monchengladbach, Germany
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The best choice for Sapa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Centrally located (300mt from the market) and very nice and helpful staff. We arrived early in the morning after the night train from Hanoi, like everybody in Sapa, but the girl at the reception let us use the toilet of the room anyway: very nice of her! Rooms are big and clean, but don't expect the amazing view from the window. Breakfast is ok but probably someone will need more food..
The first day the girl gave us a map of the city and she explained very well where to go to get the best from Sapa and the villages around. The day after we rented a scooter from the hotel and once again she fully explained where to go for the best views of the rice terraces. She was incredibly and kind! In the end we were completely satisfied of the service.

I don't give 5/5 because I didn't like the shuttle serivice the offer to Lao Cai and back: the fact that it is unexpensive (3USD for 1hour ride) doesn't mean that they can fill up a bus for 10 people with 18 and drive like crazy down to the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    70
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
80
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sapa, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great location, very nice family rooms. Spatious and well decorated with folded towels everyday.
The trips you can order from the hotel are quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was a good hotel for the price but after an over night train from Hanoi and trekking in the rain all we wanted was a shower. We aren't normally the type of travelers to worry about this type of detail for just 2-3 nights but given what we were doing a good shower was really vital. It literally dropped out. Other hotels of the same price didn't have this issue so particuarly if your staying in winter I would opt for somewhere else. Also the "shower available on the last day before the overnight train" is over the toilet so opt for a $7 red doa bath in town instead.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We arrived at Sapa Elegance Hotel around 6:30am by overnight train from Hanoi and it was misty and slightly cold. The hotel is located right in the middle of town, across from the Sapa church. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel was fully booked when we arrived so we couldn’t check in that early. But the receptionist let us use their lobby bathroom to freshen up and held our bags while we checked out the town.

A room was ready for us by 11am. The hotel opened about a year ago and so their rooms and facilities are one of the cleanest and modern looking in all of Vietnam. The décor is colorful and charming and each room comes with a balcony that overlooks Sapa. The beds are extremely comfortable, the comforters are thick, the sheets are high quality and the bathrooms have a walk-in glass shower! Towels were arranged in different animal designs on the bed and they give you plenty of towels. The breakfast was simple, but it was free and filling. You can choose one food item (pho, pancakes or eggs with a baguette) and one drink. Everything tasted great.

If you want to do laundry, you can ask the hotel or you can wash your own clothes and hang them up to dry on the roof. The hotel has clothes lines, hangars and clips. It gets sunny and hot in Sapa around 11am, temperatures reach about 85 degrees.

Service at the hotel was superb. The receptionist was very knowledgable. She recommended places to see and rented us a motorbike for $8 a day. We were able to cover the entire city in a day with the motorbike.

After we checked out, they held our luggage for the day while we checked out the town. They let us come back and shower prior to leaving Sapa to connect to our overnight train back to Hanoi. The hotel helped arrange a minibus to take us back to Lao Cai train station for $3 per person.

This is a wonderful place to stay, you really get a lot for the price that you pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Sapa Elegance Hotel is located a bit apart from the bustle of the town" centre", but is still only a few minutes walk away from all the nice restaurants. We stayed with my boyfriend for four nights and had a lovely room with one of the nicest toilets I've seen in Asia. They actually have a walk-in shower! The room got a bit cold everytime we went away, but we had a heater, which was great. The breakfast was okay: you can choose from the menu, one drink and one food. We arrived there by the night train from Hanoi (like pretty much everybody) and it pouring down rain. We were wet and hadn't really slept. It was only 7am when we got to the hotel and we're told that our room wasn't ready, because there was someone else staying there and the check-out time was at 11am. We got some warm tea and pho bo and got to our room after 9am. Really liked the hotel, the room was cleaned every day, Only problem was that the one time we stayed out later than 10pm, the doors were locked and it was all dark. We woke up the poor guy, who was sleeping on the floor of the lobby, waiting to open the door for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed at Elegance as part of my Sapa tour, so I'm unable to tell you the cost per night, but there were some definite pluses: bathrooms was the best so far in Vietnam, the room was clean and the bed was comfy. The view from the room was also stunning.

And now the not so awesome things: when I first arrived I asked straight away if they had an international wall charger. They did, but they didn't know where it was - they were going to let me know as soon as they found it. I asked a further 3 times that day and they still didn't know where is was. The next morning I came down and asked about it again and was told they had found it and given it to another guest already. I asked the time, and was told 10 to 9. I told the girl I'd just go pack my bag and come down for breakfast. At 9:05 I received a phone call to the room, where girl shouted at me down the phone that breakfast finished at 9 (I had not been told this) and I needed to come down NOW. I was really upset by this call and when I did come down I told them I would have had breakfast first if I'd been told that at the time. And then it was suddenly 'no problem' to still serve me breakfast - I was simply frustrated by the reception staff.

Also, if your guide invites you out to socialise with his friends during the night, which is a lot of fun, I suggest you get home before midnight to avoid the 'curfew' and also to avoid being chased up the street by the local dog. No one seemed to care much about this either...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel twice now, for extended periods, and everything has been ideal. The staff is friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive. The rooms are very well designed. The location is just up the hill from the landmark church and market area. They can arrange anything you need in tours and such, but they never push anything. They're mid-range in price, so I'm sure bargain shoppers can find a slightly cheaper rate, but this is reasonable and secure. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Elegance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Elegance Hotel

Address: 03, Hoang Dieu Road, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa Elegance Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sapa Elegance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Elegance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.