We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No adult supervision” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sapa View Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   041, Muong Hoa, Sapa 020, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No adult supervision”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night mid-November and moved to other hotel next day. Great view, cold and damp. Shower doesn't work - no water pressure or enough hot water. Floor not very clean, ratty towels. Then the electricity went off all over town. This seems to be a common occurrence on weekends and many places have their own generator but not this one. They built a fire in the room at night that lasted all of two hours, no flashlights for you to climb staircase probably constructed by elves. Then at 11pm a large family with a hoard of kids moved into the room next door and proceeded to party hardy in their room AND the hallway. I called the desk to complain and about 30 minutes later loud pounding on my door and a staff member dressed up as if headed to the club demands to come into my room to ask why I called the desk - all the while the family is partying and kids are tearing up and down the hallway shrieking. Really? She needed to ask me why I was complaining? We left in the morning for hotel with generator and competent staff, if not quite so spectacular a view. The desk staff seems to change all day and night when they are there - about 50 percent of the time, not encouraging since your passport and keys are held at the desk and the hotel doors are wide open and close to the street for anyone to walk in. Sapa itself seems overrun with tourists and doesn't have the infrastructure to deal with it. The constant pleading by women/girls and children to buy the same products they all carry is just sad as well as annoying. On the other hand the countryside is spectacular. Just don't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    44
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
26
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

There is a wonderful place you can visit in Vietnam. It is called Sapa. When you are there you could do no better than to stay in the Sapa View Hotel. Thanks to Liam for making our stay memorable. Good meals and great view

Room Tip: room 504 suited us fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Is located along the main road, only some rooms have the awesome mountain views. Rooms are big, showers are hot but no air conditioning as the weather is cooling. Breakfast is normal. Plenty of massage center, shops and food along the way.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Make sure you book a room with a view! Our room was large, comfortable, quiet and clean with 2 balconies. The view from our room was a phenomenal panorama of of the Sapa hills, rice paddies and low clouds. Sho at the tour desk was wonderful. I wished we booked our trek with her rather than in Hanoi, as she would have arranged a local Hmong guide and worked for a local organisation Sapa O'Chau who provide education to some of the locals in an effort to improve their prospects. NOTE if you are going to Sapa some of the Hmong ladies selling goods on the street can be very pushy- do not promise you will shop with anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great view from the rooms. I loved staying on the balcony or even on my bed and just enjoying the view. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the staff is very friendly one of the staff had a decent level in English. I would highly recommend the hotel in term of quality and price and for those who want a great view. The location is convenient also. The main problem is that the towels and the linens smelled like they had been dried next a fire... Breakfast is ok.
Laurence F.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony and with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Sapa View Hotel have a great view, i can see the Fanxipan mountain from there, it close to nature and warm atmosphere. I love this hotel very much, the staff is very friendly and kind to me, the room clean and nice to stay in. I can have buffet on the restaurant too, breakfast was very good, tasteful and yummy. I will stay there if i can go to Sapa next time. Now i'm in Ho Chi Minh city i may come back to Sapa for a few day couse i really enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Don't expect Sapa View Hotel to be a 5* hotel - it isn't, but it's a good 3* one. It's clean, comfortable and located down the road from the centre. Our highlight was to sit on our balcony and admire the truly amazing views over the valley - ask for a room at the front with a balcony!

Breakfast was good and set us up for the day before we left for our trek with Sapa O'Chau organisation (excellent group).

Lee at the hotel was superb in looking after us and spoke excellent English but as other people have said the rest of the staff speak little.

After our trek we were allowed the use of a room to shower before catching the overnight train back to Hanoi which was greatly appreciated.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa View Hotel

Address: 041, Muong Hoa, Sapa 020, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Muong Hoa valley, the Sapa View Hotel offers competitive rates for rooms with views of Mount Fansipan, the last major peak in the Himalayan chain and Indochina's highest mountain. Less than a five-minute walk from Sapa town's main shopping and restaurant area, Sapa View remains quiet and just off the beaten path. Wooden furnishings combined with locally-made decorative handicrafts provide a decor that is both modern and culturally specific to the area. With over fifty photographs and detailed descriptions of local customs lining entrances and hallways, Sapa View serves as a convenient gallery museum for its guests. Room amenities include bathrobes, a fireplace or electric heater, electric blankets and hair dryers for cold winter months, as well as flat-screen cable TVs, safes for valuables, tea/coffee/minibar and WiFi. Sapa View also offers a restaurant, bar, terrace, massage, bike rental, car hire services and free parking. All travel arrangements can be made through the hotel, including trekking and homestays in ethnic minority villages. Please inquire with the hotel for a full list of services. A partnership was recently made between Sapa View Hotel and the Sapa O'Chau community development project, which supports education of children and families from local tribes. As a guest of Sapa View you may support their efforts by responsibly purchasing from the craftstore or by scheduling a guided trek. There are also opportunities to volunteer during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sapa View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.