We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sapa View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sapa View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   041, Muong Hoa, Sapa 020, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 40 hotels in Sapa
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect so close to the local markets and restaurants.

Spectacular views from the rooms and worth bike ride down the mountains from a local.

The staff were so nice and gave us complimentary wine, beer and lunch on our last day. The restaurant had amazing food, coffee and tea and played nice music a very nice experience overall and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

As the name suggests, the hotel has a pretty nice view of a rather picturesque landscape.

We felt that all of the services were delivered as promised, whether it was the laundry service or the tour service provided. The restaurant staff were also friendly and the all you can eat breakfast mentioned previously was quite delicious.

Overall, although the location of the hotel was outside town, my mother and I still felt that it was within reasonable walking distance and if you're here for a Trekking holiday then it's best to get a little extra training in.

Personally, we also felt that it was good to have a little peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the sapa town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our tour of Vietnam. We had a room on the second floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful valley below. the room was clean, comfortable and the staff ll friendly and attentive. It is at the edge of town, so very peaceful (but less than ten minutes walk from the centre).

Downsides, the breakfast service was a bit slow. We ate dinner in the restaurant once. The food was excellent and good value and we had a local traditional music show, but as the hotel is just on the edge of town, we were the only diners, so it was a bit lacking in atmosphere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front overlooking the beautiful valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Peter B, Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are delighted that you felt at home with us. We are currently re-training our old staff and hiring new staff to make the hotel service more dynamic. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Love from Sho Giang, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Once again we were pleased with our tour planner's choice. This hotel is on the outskirts of Sapa with a fantastic view of the valley. Breakfast is included and is "all you can eat" ordered off the menu. Delicious. Our room was a bit cool and there is a wood heater that had a fire laid but after our days in the hot southern parts of Cambodia and Vietnam this was a welcome relief to us northerners. Other than the big wood burner in the restaurant there didn't appear to be any central heating.
The local art and artifacts were interesting. English was a challenge but they coped pretty well.
Rustic in some ways but comfortable and clean. Exceptional, friendly service made us feel very welcome.
Trekking can start from the front door.
Laundry was available but since Sapa is a huge consumer of firewood, they may come back a bit "smokey".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Larry B, we are very happy to hear that you loved our LOCATION! We are proud of being uniquely placed in Sapa; being both peaceful and convenient at the same time! Please pass on our thanks to your tour planner for partnering with Sapa View Hotel. Love from Sho Giang, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

2/11/2013. 10 days before departure, I booked a room (Mountain View Deluxe) for the night of Nov. 1 2013, and I had a BAD experience with the booking. I clearly told them that I needed the room with MOUNTAIN VIEW and they said "OK, we always keep our promise. Deposit first and you will definitely get the room as you wish". I trusted them and deposited along with a booking email with details. On the day of check-in, it turned out to a room with NO VIEW AT ALL. When we asked why the room is not as of advertisement, the staff said all the rooms with mountain view were booked well in advance of your booking!?? What can I say now? They strongly promised me over the phone and by confirmation email, and then they threw it away easily.
When I called to the sales staff for explanation, she said that the view does have view, but over the city, which also have a view of city mountain??. Nonsense. Never come back again. Surely.

Here is the number for your reference: +84 0915.111.154 Ms Nam (Sales staff)
Booking email: salesmanage@sapaview-hotel.com

Room Tip: Never deposit to any hotel in Sapa because you will not be paid back in case your booking is not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel was a real surprise. From the road it looks like just another accommodation for tourists but the rooms have the best views of the valley and we had a corner room so a 270degree view. the Hotel doesn't have a lift so the first trip to the room is a challenge but is quickly mastered. The breakfast was chosen from a menu and there is no way you go away hungry. The waiter was wonderful and made the best Hot Lemon Tea, I have ever had. The hotel management is very community focused and Hmong ladies have a small work centre and shop within the hotel but there is no hard sell. would definately recommend this Hotel as it is only a very short walk to the shopping area and it was great to get away from the tourist strip at the end of the day/evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sue N, Thank you so much for this glowing review! Sapa View Hotel has just entered a partnership with the ethnic minority social-enterprise, Sapa O'Chau. Through this Sapa O'Chau hopes to increase the hotels benefit to the community and improve the guest relations and guest experience at Sapa View. We are committed to ensuring a fantastic Sapa experience for all our guests. Love from Sho Giang, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at Sapa View on the 4th floor with views to die for overlooking the valley and mountains. Room was cosy and modern with a single and queen size beds. Breakfast was good. Loved the tribal information and artifacts on the wall.
We were on an organised private tour through Green Discovery Indochina Tours and all went to plan. Shu, the manager was delightful and very helpful and let us extend our checkout time as we were on a return night train. Our trekking guide Zu, was fantastic with surprisingly great command of English. They speak 4 languages! We trekked 12kms and this was the best. But we knew why we had 3 extra Hmong Villagers attend with us. They were our mountain goats!
I had a great time at Sapa View and will certainly be returning to see Shu and Zu in a couple of years.
Great experience - Erika

Room Tip: All depends if you want a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Glen265, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with Sapa View Hotel, Green Discovery Indochina and Sapa O'Chau. We are so proud that you felt well looked after throughout your stay. We believe that Sapa is a special place and are making every effort to ensure that Sapa View is our guests home from home here. We are glad you liked the informative decor throughout the hotel that makes Sapa View such a unique place to stay: a boutique hotel mixed with an ethnology museum! Love from Sho Giang, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sapa View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa View Hotel

Address: 041, Muong Hoa, Sapa 020, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa View Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Muong Hoa valley, the Sapa View Hotel offers competitive rates for rooms with views of Mount Fansipan, the last major peak in the Himalayan chain and Indochina's highest mountain. Less than a five-minute walk from Sapa town's main shopping and restaurant area, Sapa View remains quiet and just off the beaten path. Wooden furnishings combined with locally-made decorative handicrafts provide a decor that is both modern and culturally specific to the area. With over fifty photographs and detailed descriptions of local customs lining entrances and hallways, Sapa View serves as a convenient gallery museum for its guests. Room amenities include bathrobes, a fireplace or electric heater, electric blankets and hair dryers for cold winter months, as well as flat-screen cable TVs, safes for valuables, tea/coffee/minibar and WiFi. Sapa View also offers a restaurant, bar, terrace, massage, bike rental, car hire services and free parking. All travel arrangements can be made through the hotel, including trekking and homestays in ethnic minority villages. Please inquire with the hotel for a full list of services. A partnership was recently made between Sapa View Hotel and the Sapa O'Chau community development project, which supports education of children and families from local tribes. As a guest of Sapa View you may support their efforts by responsibly purchasing from the craftstore or by scheduling a guided trek. There are also opportunities to volunteer during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Tingo, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sapa View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.