We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Hotel

North Star Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added North Star Hotel to your Saves list
North Star Hotel
Ngu Chi Son Rd, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Sapa
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

During a two week organised trip from north to south Vietnam in March 2012, this one was the worst hotel of the trip (and our hotels were always three stars).
The only good thing was the size of the room and the breakfast.
However, the room and the hotel in general were very cold and also noisy.

I do not recommend staying here if you can find better options in Sapa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rosebud, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We arrived here after staying at a 3 star hotel in Tam Duong which we couldnt wait to leave. There is a remarkable difference between 3 star hotels we have found since travelling from the south 2 weeks ago. When choosing 3 star we expect clean & comfortable and not a lot else but many fall well below that standard and I think they are self rated! The Deluxe Room we have is very adequate for our needs and the staff have been very helpful. Also, our laundry came back to us within 4hrs and smelling very fresh! We highly recommend for the Price

Room Tip: A Room Overlooking The Lake is Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We travelled from South to North Vietnam over 3 weeks during September 2011. All but one of the hotels were supposedly 3 star delux rooms. However, the difference from best to worst was huge. The North star was damp and cold with black mold on the bedroom ceiling and water stains on the carpets in the hallway. There were dead bugs squashed on the walls and shower floor, something that could easily have been cleaned up. Breakfast was poor and the location was was not great when it rained as all the places to eat were the other side of town. The phone did not work either. The only saving grace was the staff who were friendly as was the case everywhere we stayed. Had this been our first place to stay in Vietnam we would probably have been ok as this is what we expected prior to our trip. However after three weeks of staying in multiple places we had come to expect much more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Only comment would be that the breakfast could have been a bit better. The staffs ware friendly and helpful on the whole. We had great time and could not report any thing. Room was clean, lovely and quite large, the shower was hot and powerful, the wifi was really excellent. North Star Hotel is very good budget hotel, it doesn't pretend to be grand but was goodfacilities for the price. Would thoroughly recommend it for anyone, we will certainly stay there again, Excellent hotel and value money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Hotel

Address: Ngu Chi Son Rd, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your North Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.