We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service was ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal View Hotel to your Saves list
Royal View Hotel
34 Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Sapa B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good location, service was ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The staff were good, friendly and honest. The hotel is located in the middle of town, close to all restaurants and the markets. The room was good, and had a HUGE balcony, although I think this is the only room that has one this size. The view from the balcony was spectacular, overlooking the hills. The food in the hotel was okay, each night we were offered a set course, which we could change if we wanted. Overall, this place was a good place to stay at night while trekking around Sapa during the day.

Room Tip: I think room 303 is the one we stayed in. It has the largest balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    30
    17
    9
See reviews for
17
38
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time here, the hotel is modern, clean and the rooms are designed with convenience and comfort in mind. The staff were wonderful to us, very helpful in telling us where to go and what restaurant's to eat at, there were always staff available to help with any queries, even when they were quite busy. This hotel is in the perfect location, right on the center of everything: market, church, restaurants, bars, etc.... The view is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location of the room is right in the middle of Sapa, can't complaint location wise. The room itself was big with no design. When I stay in a hotel, the most concern for me is the bathroom and what a disappointment. There were only toothbrushes and 2 big bath towels as amenities, the bath tub with shower however no curtains and the wall built in shampoo and shower gels were far from the bath tub, the hotel just want you to fall out of the bath tub and have an accident.

The worse thing was the staff, we rented a bike and we parked the bike at the hotel to went for a nap, when we came down, the receptionist was leaving work on her bike and she was talk to some old guy, this old guys was holding one of our rented helmets, he looked at us when we exited the hotel and as we were coming close to the bike, he then started to put the helmet down, had we been 2 minutes later, the helmet would've been gone and the receptionist would have not said anything and would not be responsible for witnessing such crime!

Room Tip: Choose high floor so you can see the mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is placed in the main commercial street.
Staff was correct all time but nothing in special to highlight apart of the fact that they did not get back our passports at check out and we forgot them there (also our fault!)
Buffet breakfast was good, specially their vegetable omelette.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Big impressive bedroom. Royal views of mt Fansipan. Not perfectly clean but ok. No shower curtain but hot water. Breakfast is adequate, enough of everything including fruit. Coffee is cold. Staff not friendly at all. Will look for other accommodation if visiting Sapa again. Conveniently situated but so is everything in Sapa

Room Tip: Ask for view of mt Fansipan, it is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I just wanted to report my experience with thís hotel.

I took a trip to sapa with an agency in Hanoi for 2 days one night at the hotel.

The staff I really taking advantage òf the tourists. The room are not so clean, the electricity was in a bad condition (it finally broke my ịphone charger due to a short cỉcuit), and they promise us a room after the checking, that they were supposed to provide us. They told to all the people from all the agencies, that they couldnt provide one because "some people in the hotel were sick'. They ended the conversation screaming at the other clients.

I wont recommended it, sapa í a geaorgeous place to visit but the hotel service screw my trip.
.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel has great mountain views but that is about all it has going for it unfortunately.
The room was large with a balcony and a great view - however, it was also less than tidy and the breakfast was dire - after watching one of our party getting fried eggs from the "cook" we decided to ditch and buy brekky in town. It was also very noisy
There are probably a lot better places to stay in Sapa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Address: 34 Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.