We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sapa Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Luxury Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   036 Fansipang, Sapa 84-20, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free pick up by bus
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent only one night at Sapa Luxury Hotel. We had been given a free upgrade to a deluxe room (room on the top floor with shared balcony and a great view). The room was large and clean and comfortable. The manager was very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was perfectly adequate to start the day and everyone treated us extremely well. The hotel even provided free cleaning for shoes after the trekking to Ta Van Village. It is near to the entrance of Cat Cat Village which you can explore by your own. It is a couple of minutes walk to the market and the main town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaluxuryhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Hui Hui,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sapa Luxury Hotel. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our beautiful guest room (you got the preferential policies of our hotel - Upgraded from Standard room up Deluxe room due to you booked the tours with us), nice breakfast and central location.

I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are also happy when you enjoiyed of the tours as well.

We wish your family good and Please contact us through the website or via the mailbox if you have any inquiries when you have an other plan back to Sapa.

We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again soon to Sapa.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    119
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
55
148
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

the rooms were comfortable had a PC in there as well. great hot shower very wecome after a good hike !. my one gripe was the staff their helpfullness seamed quite fake to be honest ( personal openion). there are great restraunts all along the same road so nice place to stay. would recomend to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaluxuryhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Nasser H,

Thank you very much for taking time to writen a positive review for our property. Also thank you as well to let other Tripadvisor travellers know about your experience at Sapa Luxury Hotel. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

We had staff meetings but could not find any reason why we had to fake treated you like that because we welcome and treat all customers are the same.

Once again, we look forward to welcome you again at Sapa Luxury Hotel

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Chose this based on TA reviews and was pretty disappointed. Not sure how it's got number one rating. Arrived with others off the 530 train from Hanoi, was squished into a shuttle bus for an hour and arrived at hotel to be told there were no early check ins today. That's okay I understand they're subject to availability but to just be cut loose and told to look around the streets of Sapa with no offer of a clean bathroom or shower to freshen up, no comfortable place to sit and wait, no recommendations for breakfast, well we should have realised what was to come. When a room did become available we should have known it was a crappy one that the previous occupants wanted to vacate ASAP and waited for another but we were tired, in need of showers and told all the rooms on that floor were deluxe. Don't think so. Our fridge was smelly and not working, phone didn't work, shower reminded me of student accom, one towel was dirty blah blah blah. Anyway after five hours of breathing in damp, the thought of that for two days sent us in search of true luxury. Spend the extra ten bucks people and give this place a miss.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaluxuryhotel, Manager at Sapa Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mary Ashe and Readers,

We are hotel' management of Sapa Luxury Hotel, we are really sorry for any inconvenience caused with Mary Ashe but we would like to let the readers on Tripavisor know the both side. When you arrive in hotel, you were offered an welcome drink and explained the room was not already due to the night before the hotel were fully booked and we also offered you extra breakfast in our restaurant even showed you some where you can eat if you prefer out side. As you may know check in time is 12h00 to 12h30 and check out time is 11h00 but we had tried the best in our ability for you can do free early check in at 10h25. After you check in then you came down to the reception and informed us that the TV and phone did not working, we immediately came up to fixed it, just only the phone couldn't be fixed yet due to the customers check out made it broken and I said you "we need more time to fixed it sir" even I asked you "everything ok?" you said "every thing very good". At 18h00 same day you came down with luggage and said to us, "we check out due to fridge not working, towel dirty and room very smell" (In-fact you stayed almost 8 hours in the room and all the things running very good except phone) and move to an other hotel which they offered you last minute of cheapest price.

We appreciate your comments and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Sapa Luxury Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great family run boutique hotel in the heart of Sapa. Dont expect the luxury of a big city five star, but this hotel has everything you need. The service from Chinh and his family was exceptional. All the arrangements were done by email and ran like clockwork. They picked us up from the train in Loi cai and allowed us to check into the room at 6:30 am.
We had the two VIP rooms on the top floor, 99 steps, but oh what a view. We sat on the private balcony and soaked in the view, the mountain air and just relaxed. The staff led by Chinh and his brother were fantastic. Our son was poked in the eye quite badly whilst walking through the market. We raced back to the hotel to find a doctor. Chinh was straight on the phone and then walked us down to the medical centre for treatment. It turned out to be relatively minor, but he kept checking to make sure our son was OK and gave us a bottle of wine, which was really great, but it was us that should have been giving Chinh the wine for his care and attention.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little basic and they could use some new towels. The rooms had these amazing bedside lights that lit up like a neon sign, a bit tacky and very asian, but it gave us a chuckle.
Chinh organised a hiking guide for us and gave advice on where we should go each day. The guide was a young man who looked about 14, but was 28 and married with a child. He chatted away whilst we walked and explained everything around us. He also recommended a massage place at the end of the day - very traditional soaking in a herbal hot tub before the masage, not particularly relaxing as they pound hard, but good for tired muscles.
If I was going back to Sapa, I would happily stay here again.

Also, if you are going hiking in Sapa, wait until you get there if you need to buy gear. Every second shop sells The North Face or Merrill gear and it is about 20% of what you would pay in Australia. It is the real deal, but you need to barter hard. There is a great shop just up from the hotel in the lower section of the market. The lady who runs this shop is very attractive and speaks perfect English.

Room Tip: The VIP rooms are huge and on the top floor. The view is spectacular. The 99 steps will not be a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaluxuryhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sapa Luxury Hotel. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our beautiful guest room, nice breakfast and central location.

I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are also happy when you enjoiyed of the tours as well.

We wish your family good and Please contact us through the website or via the mailbox if you have any inquiries when you have an other plan back to Sapa.

We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again soon to Sapa.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent only one night at Sapa Luxury Hotel, and while it is not what I can in all honesty call luxurious, for the price it is an excellent find. We had a room on the top floor with shared balcony (with one other room) and a great view. The room was large and clean and comfortable and the manager (sorry but can't remember his name) was very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was perfectly adequate to start the day and everyone treated us extremely well, loaning umbrellas to go out for dinner and providing towels and a small shower room for us to use before we caught the return train to Hanoi after a day trekking. It is a couple of minutes walk to the market and the main town centre so is also a great location. Only drawback if you have heavy bags is that there is no lift. What more could you want for $40?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here in October and had a great room on the fourth floor with fantastic views and a huge shared balcony. The staff 001 and particularly 007 went out of their way to assist us. We were given a half bottle of wine on arrival and early check-in. The hotel organised our two day trek with a very lovely Black Hmong guide Pang which was perfect for our middle-aged abilities.I note an earlier review said their guide did not speak English - can't imagine this as Pang was very knowledgeable and informative and we learnt a lot about the culture from her.
We decided to stay an extra day however the hotel was full so 007 Ching organised the hotel across the road for us for $20 which was cheaper but not as nice as Sapa Luxury. Additionally 007 offered us free breakfast and internet use which we happily accepted, even though we were not staying there. Good location and would not hesitate to stay there again.
p.s. I had a massage across the road after the trek and it was actually quite good and just what I needed

Room Tip: Select a deluxe room on level 4 or above as the views are lovely. The stairs are good preparation fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Truc Long L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

It is such a delight to read our guests' satisfaction. I thank you for your kind words regarding our service. Due to you booked the tour product with us therefore we had to gave you some thing as a small award for you.

Thank you as well to let other Tripadvisor travellers know about your experience at Sapa Luxury Hotel. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

The management and staff of the hotel would like to take this opportunity to once again thank you for your whole-heartedly support .

Please contact us through the Website or via the mailbox if you have any inquiries when you have other plan back to Sapa.

Once again, we look forward to welcome you again at Sapa Luxury Hotel

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We used this hotel to shower and store our luggage during our brief one day stay in Sapa. The location was perfect, just down the street from a market and close to everything. The staff was very responsive to our every need. We arrived very early from the train in Lao Cai and the room was ready. Breakfast was good. Our group sampled the Western style food as well was the phở. The bread and juice were especially. The hotel arranged for the most amazing guide ever. May took us on our day of trekking and truly made the trip an outstanding one. She explained so much to us and shared personal details of life in the surrounding villages. She's the best!! Upon our return to the hotel, the staff saw our terribly muddy shoes so they cleaned them all! They were also helpful when I broke a glass in the room. Not only did they send someone right away to clean it, but then they sent someone else to check that they were cleaning it up! Room was spacious, even with our large group trying to tidy up. The shower does kind of flood out to the bathroom floor, even after only 1 shower, so be careful of that. We arranged our transport to Lao Cai from the hotel and it was easy and prompt. Recommend this hotel but especially the guide they use!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duong Truc Long L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are a professional tour organizer in Sapa, if you book tours with us, you will have a chance to get preferential policies of our hotel such as: Special free upgrade the room from standard to deluxe or deluxe to VIP room, if that rooms are available. Free shower before or after the trip
Free store luggage during the tour and Free shoes cleaning after the trip.

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sapa Luxury Hotel. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our excellent service.

Due to you booked our tour products with us, therefore, we free offered you had an room for relax before you're leaving Sapa.

Once again, we look forward to welcome you again at Sapa Luxury Hotel

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Luxury Hotel

Address: 036 Fansipang, Sapa 84-20, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapa Luxury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familial hotel with luxury rooms and friendly staff in the magic atmosphere of Sapa. We will try the best to make you sactifaction ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sapa Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.