We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and outstanding location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sapa Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Luxury Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   036 Fansipang, Sapa 84-20, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free pick up by bus
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service and outstanding location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We really enjoyed Sapa. We stayed at the Sapa Luxury Hotel and immediately were greeted by friendly faces and helpful service.

The hotel was only $70 per night for a family room on the top floor overlooking the. beautiful Sapa Valley. The room was basic, but had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was a la carte and always tasty. The Management were great when we were looking for things to do or arranging day trips for us.

We would highly recommend this hotel- in particular for families. Their treatment of my four year old son was exceptional.

Room Tip: The family rooms are large and on the top floor with a beatiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    119
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
55
148
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were so pleased to have chosen this hotel rather that the Boutique rooms. The staff were so welcoming - from the moment we arrived at the station where we were greeted with a smile to being dropped off there the next evening - everything was a great success.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with what ressembled a cinammon tea and then were offered a very tasty breakfast. Our room wasn't ready but we decided to go straight out on a trek, despite the rain which seemed to have settled in for the morning. But then with Sapa it appears one should always say optimistic since each day has four seasons, spring in the morning, summer at noon, autumn in the late afternoon and winter at night time. We hired a guide - May - recommended by the hotel. She took us first of all to see the black muong village. Her English was excellent and we learnt so much abou her way of life. We would strongly recommend her. Our policy of leaving for our trek early meant that we arrived at the black muong restaurant before the other tourists and were able to enjoy the trek back in peace with just the locals. And by now the sun had come out. We then enjoyed a wonderful massage in the establishment recommended by the hotel and we were also able to dry our boots that night in the same place.

We had wonderful VIP rooms right at the top of the hotel. Full of character and with amazing views. The next day we used our same guide May to visit several waterfalls and then we returned to the hotel for a very tasty meal, one of the best we sampled in Northern Vietnam. In the afternoon May took us to see her own Red Mao village which was sunny and peaceful and we came across few other tourists. August is a good time to go since the rice fields are green.

As we left the hotel they gave us picnic boxes for the train, and a departure gift of a hanging decoration which will certainly evoke many wonderful memories for us.

Just one piece of advice - do check the price of the trips before you go. We went alone with our own van, all of which is advertised in the hotels guide, but there are no prices shown. We should have asked but with the fatigue from the journey we just went along with the proposal. That's not to say we found it overpriced, but its better to be forewarned!!

Our thanks to the staff of this hotel, and our guide, May - you really made our trip to Sapa an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

it really is a house turned into a hotel. with a few guestrooms in each floor. you should go to its highest floor to take beautiful picture of sapa!

i stayed in this hotel with a friend, arriving very early by train from hanoi. the room was not ready but the staff let us take shower in the bathroom located in its restaurant. pretty clean bathroom, though they could have provided better quality towels.

the hotel is situated very close to cat cat village, a beautiful spot for you to do a trekking enjoying rice paddies, waterfall and streams. the room is quite spacious with modern bathroom, minibar, television, computer (in its deluxe room)

oh the staff is also helpful. breakfast choice is not many but food is good! enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel was comfortable and the room was very spacious with two beds. However, it was a little expensive for what it was compared to other hotels we stayed in during our trip around Southeast Asia. I liked the fact that we were given a bottle of red wine on arrival (wine is difficult to find when eating out in this continent unless you want to pay a lot). There is also a nice terrace with good views and you can have breakfast outside. Unfortunately there was a power cut in the morning and that meant packing our cases in the dark as we didn't have a window-the rooms overlooking the main street are the best but cost more I think.
I think my major qualm with this hotel was the fact that the man at reception tried to sell us one of their excursions as soon as we arrived and was evidently miffed when we said we weren´t interested. I'm sure their excursions are fine but my partner and I prefer to do our own thing and I don't like feeling under pressure to do go on hotel excursions. Furthermore, as we had planned to rent a motorbike and go around Sapa by bike, when we asked the man where we could rent a bike he told us that to ride a motorbike in Vietnam you need to have a special license and have done a course in Vietnam and that if the police stop you there'll be trouble etc..Now, although it could be true IN THEORY that you need to do some Vietnamese driving course, we all know that lots of tourists rent a motorbike no problem, so we went to the rental shop and the guy there said all we needed was a driving license. We rented a bike for 5 dollars and had the best time ever riding in the mountains. We did the trail that all the tourists do on foot with organized trips and then went further and met real indigenous Sapa people (ie not the ones at the start of the trail- 'Hello! You give me one dollah!'). I really, really recommend renting a motorbike and going off the beaten track if you want something more authentic and if you can ride a bike. We travelled around Vietnam, Cambodia and Malaysia for a month and I have to say that Sapa was my best experience but might not have been if we hadn't been able to rent a bike.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

After staying at a total dive the two nights before this hotel was pleasant reminder that there are nice, clean and friendly places still. We stumbled upon the Sapa Luxury Hotel as we wanted to have a look at the hotel as opposed to booking blind and being trapped.

Upon arrival this husband and wife team greeted us warmly and offer us some delicious tea. We had a look at the rooms and settled on the deluxe room on the fourth floor. It was well appointed with wifi and all the things you need. The breakfast was very generous and tasty offering a choice of western or vietnamese.

They were very helpful and there suggestion and advice useful. I would gladly recommend this hotel to any visitor of Sapa.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent 2 nites and 3 + days what with the early train arrival and nitetime departure. Good hotel, friendly & helpful staff, central location. Taxi van from train station didn't take us to hotel but rather dropped us off in town. We walked a bit and got lost. Friendly local gal called the hotel on her cell and 2 of the guys there walked 10 minutes in the rain to meet us with umbrellas to walk us to the hotel. Nice service. Breakfast was OK, not great but substantial. Offered a shower if we wanted b4 our nite train back to Hanoi. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Book a room on the front balcony. Lovely view out to the mountains when the fog has lifted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. It is not that luxury, but everything is ok, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but adequate.
However the service was outstanding and over expectation. Hotel staffs were very helpful. They helped us to arrange a shared group of trekking to the village near by at cheap price. On the last day as we already checked out from the room but we waited for the evening train, we could be allowed to use hotel shower/bath room with towel. The offered towel was over expected as we though we would need to use our own towel. Moreover, a bottle of water was also given to all customer before leaving the hotel. It was very nice and showed that they really care on customer.

Therefore, if you look for a hotel with reasonable price with very good service. Sapa Luxury hotel would be the best choice. We had no doubt why this hotel has been voted in top ranked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Luxury Hotel

Address: 036 Fansipang, Sapa 84-20, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapa Luxury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familial hotel with luxury rooms and friendly staff in the magic atmosphere of Sapa. We will try the best to make you sactifaction ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sapa Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.