We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in at good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sapa Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Luxury Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   036 Fansipang, Sapa 84-20, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free pick up by bus
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Birkeroed, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in at good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were picked up at the train as agreed, and recieved a nice welcome arriving at the hotel. Our room was not ready of course arriving very early in the morning, but we were allowed to use another room to get some rest until our own room was ready - very nice gesture! And our own room was ready earlier than expected. The staff was from the moment we arrived very helpful and attentive, and also arranged a nice trek for us. Our guide was a local girl - Sue - speaking good english and she was very nice.

Our first room was quite dark and a little damp, but after the first night we were upgraded to one of the 2 VIP rooms - a very nice and big room with the most fantastic view. On the last day we were able to pay for late check-out wich was really nice since it was raining most of the day.
The breakfast is OK without being fantastic. The only really not so good thing is the stone hard beds - but that we have experienced at other places also.
We had a really really nice stay and the staff did everyting they could to give us the best stay in Sapa. And we realy enjoyed Sapa even though it is very turisty.

Room Tip: Go for the VIP rooms or rooms with a view. The others are a little dark - and after all you go to Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    119
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
55
148
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is generally good in term of services, not really luxurious but good value for money. The room and toilet is clean and comfortable. However, we didn't spend much time in the hotel except at night for sleeping. There is computer with internet for you to use. If you walk up to the balcony at the highest level, you can enjoy a very good view to the mountain and valley around the area. The staffs is polite, helpful and friendly. It's easy to catch a bus from the train station in Lao Cai to the hotel but you may need to wait for a while as the bus driver wants to fill up the vacancies on the bus.

They also allowed us to check in early (@730am) upon our arrival and let us keep the luggage in the hotel after 12pm as we left for the train in the evening. It is suggested that you check out the room in the morning before leaving the hotel so that you can hang around and don't need to come back to the hotel to check out at noon.

Breakfast was simple and adequate with very nice fruit juice (mango & watermelon). The tour to Ta Van village with our own guide (she is from H-Mong minority) was great. The scenery along the trekking way is very amazing and the weather is just nice. You may want to prepare good walking shoes as you need to walk for around 12km. The tour provide the van back to the hotel.

Room Tip: I heard that VIP room provides an amazing view. When you go up to the balcony in the high levels, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

No not really luxuriuous but clean and comfortable - and not bad value for money

We arrived - as most on the early train. The staff, from teh moment we arrived until the day we left were attentive, personable and very caring, whilst not being pushy about trying to sell tours.

The berakfast is just okay but this did not matter.

Delux or VIP rooms have sensational views.

We noted that it was very family friendly and they staff are very efficient in turning around rooms as quickly as possible

Room Tip: Choose a room on the strret side to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Arriving in Sapa at 6am and not knowing what to expect we were pleasantly surprised arriving at the hotel. We were immediately upgraded to the VIP room at the top of the hotel with views to die for. The friendly staff organised a tour later in the day and we were able have breakfast and rest after the "eye and ear" openning journey on the train. ( Book a VIP delux which means you get 2 people per cabin on the train instead of 4 - definitely worth the extra $$). Breakfast was simple and adequate, the tour with our own guide was great, ok it cost a little extra but it limited our walking to 2 hours and included a home stay lunch. We were dropped off and picked up in different places and our guide spoke excellent English and was very helpful. On check out day it was raining constantly so we were able to pay for a late check out until 4.30pm when the bus to take ust to the the train station (40 mins or more away) came. This place was one of our highlights and surpassed Halong Bay (do it anyway) as a tourist destination in our opinion. (Oh, rock hard bed at no exra cost)

Room Tip: VIP 1 and VIP 2 rooms are excellent. Best views, balcony, and quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well really, it is neither "luxurious" nor a real "hotel". To get straight to the point, it is a small and somewhat basic inn with perhaps a dozen or so fairly sizable rooms. The reception is small too and you may meet the owner's friendly family members there. It is however very strategically located - just a 2-min walk from the atmospheric Sa Pa market & bazaar and along a lively street of cafes, restaurants and reflexology spas as well as a 30-min walk to "touristy" Cat Cat village (supposedly the closest Hmong village to town).

You will need to 'trek' (pun intended) to the 4th or 5th floor rooms to really enjoy the picturesque views of the surrounding valley and hillsides. Along the way up via a side staircase, you will strangely pass by a few tenanted bedrooms (owners of the inn?). After that rather awkward first impression encounter the rest of the way is more pleasant. Housekeeping needs to be credited for maintaining a decent level of cleanliness especially the bathrooms and the terracotta floors in this moist mountain environment. The ID is traditional & cheap Vietnamese "chic" which means it entails some tacky touches but since you here for the outdoor views, the indoor sights may not be so critical. The bed is of the Asian-firmness but comfortable enough to rest weary muscles. Toiletries are very basic too, so pack your own necessities. Towels are clean but a trifle too thin. Showers were heated but water pressure was low (time to install boosters).

Commendation must be given to the front desk management. In spite of our mistake on the arrival dates, they were kind enough not to charge us for the cancelled room. Feeling a little bad, we paid for a more premium room (still a 'bargain' for USD40) and got a late check out since our return train was later in the evening. Did we mention they also allowed us to check in early (@ 730am) upon our arrival? Nice guys all around. They also helped organize two enjoyable side trips for us with our own private van & guide and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: the back (cheaper) rooms have tiny windows and can be very dark. better to opt for the front rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Found this hotel through the internet and book their trekking with homestay and a night stay in their hotel.

This is my first time staying in a wooden house in a homestay. There is no partitions, just a mattress with a mosquitos net. The power supply keeps tripping and the whole house went totally darkness. Luck we are well prepare with a touchlights. It had a heavy rain on that night and the rain water start dripping into the house and is dripping on us.

We should be trekking on the next day to another village for another homestay. But after experience the homestay, we change our mind. So we called up the hotel boss to cancel our trekking and homestay and ask the manager to arrange a night stay in Sapa. Although his hotel already fully booked, he still help us to book another hotel stay without paying any extra charges to compansate our homestay. They even arrange a very delicious steamboat lunch. What a great service we have ever had in our life.

After a night stay at Cat Cat hotel, we went back to their hotel stay. They give us a deluxe and VIP room which we didn't expect he will give us a VIP room. The VIP room is so beautiful with great views.

During our check-out day, they provide us a room to leave our luggages and have our showers because our train is at 7pm.

The only improvement is their arrangement for the homestay and their tour guide. The tour guide must be more hospitallty. The reason is because during the trekking, our tour guide keep walking forward putting us at the back. And when we reach the homestay, Our tour guide just leave us there and went doing her own things. She didn't inform us where is our bed and what time is our dinner and what will we be doing later.

Another impressive service they have provided. I have left my jacket in their hotel when we check-out. And we are already on our journey to the Laocai train station. They called me and ask if I have left my jacket in his hotel and even arrange to send my jacket over to me and is a 1 hr journey from their hotel to Laocai station.

I would like to congratulate the Boss that he got a baby boy in Dragon year.
Wish you and your family healthy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Good things
- nice views on the mountains
- fairly big rooms
- good water pressure
- gave 50% discount on published rate
- breakfast included

Bad things
- cockroaches in bed
- no stable power supply
- no air condition
- breakfast is served in room without windows on dirty and mouldy tables
- breakfast is very basic
- travel desk is overpriced
- bad pick-up service at the train station, had to wait more than one hour in the hot bus before it was leaving the train station

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Luxury Hotel

Address: 036 Fansipang, Sapa 84-20, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapa Luxury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familial hotel with luxury rooms and friendly staff in the magic atmosphere of Sapa. We will try the best to make you sactifaction ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sapa Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.