We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There for you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel
026 - Dong loi, Sapa 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Got this hotel through my hotel in Hanoi.
It's family run and they're really nice. As I'm travelling alone, my first night they asked me to join them for dinner.
Staff is great, although their knowledge of English is small, they want you to have a good time.
Rooms, breakfast and cleaning are good, but what really did it for me is that when I had an accident with my motorbike and got back to the hotel, the owner left his lunch to take me to the farmacy, cleaned and bandaged the wounds and went with me to help me settle the bill for the damage to the motorbike.
When I will return to Sapa, I so will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    53
    27
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
79
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location with spacious clean and well maintained rooms, definitely one of the better value budget accommodation options in Sapa with helpful friendly staff.
Shower is located over a bath as opposed to being just located on the wall next to the toilet, always a plus in budget rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights. It's in a great location in Sapa. The rooms are spacious and well decorated with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom (shower over the bath). Breakfast is free and tastes pretty good. The wi-fi is reliable and the TV has many Vietnamese and international channels. It is a family-run hotel and they are all very nice and welcoming and helpful. My only problem was that my door was very difficult to unlock so I would often have to find someone to ask for help to open my door.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a room with a balcony and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Many people go to Sapa for the local villages and a Hill tribe home stays- This maybe the best home stay you can encounter while making a base in Sapa!
Such a wonderful visit and nothing was to much.
Life made easy with awaiting bus from Loi chai to sapa town all arranged by Mr Tom and not charged an extra penny.So pleasant when you see your name on a card after a 10hr overnight train!
To recieve a call on my phone en route to Casablanca asking if I wanted breakfast before check in was only to be the same service encountered throughout the duration of my extended stay!
Daily breakfast onward was served when ever you like to get out of bed and cooked by dedicated foody staff if only the usual choice of eggs but with taste!
Make this your choice for a home from home but should you be one just to go about your daily business you will be more than free.
The rooms are a good price and if you can go for one with a view, they are more than worth the extra dollar or so! (Views amazing!!)
This is on the cusp of being a boutique(ish) hotel and Mr Tom is putting his all in to make it work being the new owner!
There are a few maintenance issues in some rooms but thats easily overlooked when you realise whats on offer for the money and should you have the smallest problem with your stay just ask....its really that simple!
Value for money, Fantastic location, Homely rooms, great hospitality.
Iv met people in Sapa who have payed more only to get poor(remember your price bracket and what your getting for top end of mid range accommodation)
Sad to leave but good that all onward tickets were arranged by Casablanca at cost price!
Casablanca always my first call should I return to Sapa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

After staying one night at another hotel (I won't name which), we decided to try elsewhere as the rooms seemed to have a bit of a funky, musty smell to them. We came to Casablanca and were immediatly greeted by the most friendly helpful man imaginable. Mr Tom showed us around a few rooms and we settled for one with a brilliant view of the mountains. The rooms are clean and tidy and have extra little touches like colourful bright local made pillow and chairs that the other hotel didn't have. Most importantly the shower is over a bath rather than the floor, we were sick of having wet bathroom floor all the time! Sapa was nice and warm whilst we were here but the door to the balcony did have a few small gaps which might be a problem in winter however there was an electric blanket in the cupboard. Mr Tom and his staff are super friendly and will help with anything you need during your stay, we asked him if he could get us bus tickets back to Hanoi which he sorted and will take us to the bus tonight. For the price of the room you really can't get much better, I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of the best places to stay in Viet Nam. All the praise in the other views is absolutely correct: the people that run this place are fabulous, helping in every way possible and going beyond the call of duty! I've even been phoning one of them since I've left for help translating, and he has been really useful!

The people are cheeful and gentle and kind, the rooms are completely clean and comfortable -- this is a really great place to stay and gets the highest possible recommendation!

One thing to note: If you book this or many other places on an external booking site the hotel has to pay an enormous 25% commission to the site. So help them out by using their own site or by phoning and booking directly!

Room Tip: Some rooms have nice views but require climbing more stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Like everyone says, the guys who run this spot are just peachy. They genuinely want to do this. I tried to tell one of the staff that he was so kind and he dismissed the comment, saying this was his job and he was happy to provide a service. We had the room with super view and they almost wouldn't move us down a level, becuase the view would not be as stunning.

I had pho for breakfast (included) which was just fine, nothing fancy. The bathroom was clean, towels were thick and the bed pretty typical for Viet Nam. The location is perfect and frankly these guys make it feel like vacationing, even if you're a tired backpacker!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel

Address: 026 - Dong loi, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wild beauty is seen, not only in the land and the sky, but also in the tapestry of colors seen throughout the spectacular rich region and in its lovely people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.