We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guys, nice views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casablanca Hotel
026 - Dong loi, Sapa 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice guys, nice views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Like everyone says, the guys who run this spot are just peachy. They genuinely want to do this. I tried to tell one of the staff that he was so kind and he dismissed the comment, saying this was his job and he was happy to provide a service. We had the room with super view and they almost wouldn't move us down a level, becuase the view would not be as stunning.

I had pho for breakfast (included) which was just fine, nothing fancy. The bathroom was clean, towels were thick and the bed pretty typical for Viet Nam. The location is perfect and frankly these guys make it feel like vacationing, even if you're a tired backpacker!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    47
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
70
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at four different hotels during our nine day stay in Sapa and the friendly service award certainly goes to the staff at Casablanca Hotel. We stayed at Casablanca Hotel only two nights before moving on to something a little cheaper, but the friendly staff continued to engage with us as we ran into eachother in town. The two main clerks speak fantastic English and were ready to assist us in any way they could. When we planned to leave Sapa early in the AM by minibus, they insisted on waking up early to prepare us a farewell breakfast.
Breakfast, included in the room charge, includes options of pho, pancake varieties, or assorted egg options with baguette.
Rooms were very clean. Beds are on the firmer side. Upper floors have a beautiful view. Rooms include electric blankets for cold nights.

Room Tip: Upper floors with views are a bit pricier, lower floors lack views but are up to US$5 cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Mr. Tom is undoubtedly the friendliest man in the world. We arrived early from the night train and were offered free breakfast, early check-in (7.00am) and an invitation to dinner with his extended family, which was a wonderful evening. The staff could not have been more helpful, and Eddie, who accompanied us on our treks to the villages, was a mine of information with excellent English. The rooms are simple but clean and the food delicious. We felt like part of the family, and it is the only hotel where I have hugged the staff on departure. A truly magical experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed one night here but arrived early (7am) and left late, due to the overnight trains from Hanoi. On arrival, the guy running the show told he considered us friends more than customers. It sounded really corny but sure enough, he offered us a complimentary breakfast while we waited for our room (breakfast is included, but not on the morning of check in) and had us in our room by around 8:30am. We were on the top floor and the views of the surrounding mountains were breathtaking. The bathroom was a low-light and from memory the bed was a bit uncomfortable, but in this price-range that is nit-picking a little bit.

The manager went out of his way to offer us showers on the afternoon of check out, before our train back to Hanoi. This is the perfect spot for a self-serve 3-night/2-day trip to Sapa. Look around if you're staying for longer, but this place is alright. Will probably stay here again next time in Sapa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but I cannot say enough good things about Mr. Tom and his tour crew. We were recommended him after frustrating experiences trying to arrange things other places. I wish I could take him on the rest of my trip through Vietnam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel from feedback on this site. Very welcoming staff eager to provide good service to travelers, only had two nights arriving from overnight train. My requests for early check in and pick up from station were not passed on by Agoda so in future email direct is the way to go. Mr Tom is doing a renovation of the hotel but had time to offer breakfast on arrival and room was soon ready. All the young staff were friendly and keen to assist and chat, received invite to nearby karaoke bar with them which was different. Room spacious and clean with great view and small balcony, not up to Hanoi standards but this is a small hill town not a city so I had no complaints. Tours organized with ease and Tim provided excellent trip. Next time I will stay longer and trek.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I actually didn´t stay in the hostel but i booked my busticket there because they were so nice helping me finding the way during the day. i was amazed by the people. they really cared about their guests. after booking my ticket they asked to join them and a group of guests in a bar closeby. the next morning they picked me up in time from my hotel to wait for the bus at their place. as soon as i entered i got a hot tea and they even offered me a free breakfast whilst waiting for the bus. i can not say much about the rooms but i guess they´re nice as well. next time i´m going to sapa i will definately stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casablanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel

Address: 026 - Dong loi, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wild beauty is seen, not only in the land and the sky, but also in the tapestry of colors seen throughout the spectacular rich region and in its lovely people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.