We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinocchio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pinocchio Hotel to your Saves list
Pinocchio Hotel
15 Muong Hoa (Pho Cau May), Sapa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had high expectatives on this hotel after reading comments on the Lonely Planet and Tripadivsor.
The hotel itself is nice, and the best part is the views from every floor (like many other hotels in this location). Breakfast was also very good.
But the rooms leave a lot to be desired...our room was very big, spacious, that's a good thing, but it was dirty. The bedclothes had some stains, was broken and had some patches. The towels had also some holes on it. The wooden floor was broken, and we found some rest of pacakges on the floor, which means it wasn't very well cleaned after the previous guests left.
But it was very cheap, has a good location, internet, and the staff was helpful, even though one of them wasn't very happy after we decided not to book a tour with them because was out of our budget...
It's definitely a place for budget travelers, and we did have a good rest and enjoyed Sa Pa.

Room Tip: Top roof have better views, and you can relax sitting on the terrace with good views to the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    17
    9
    9
See reviews for
1
32
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We didn't stay at the Pinocchio Hotel but found the tour desk to be very helpful. Mr. Manh was kind and helpful when we were debating whether to take a tour or go by private car to the Bac Ha Sunday market. We went by private car for flexibility as the cost was reasonable for Sapa-Bac Ha-Lao Cai at $80.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinocchio H, Manager at Pinocchio Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Live2EatAndTravel,
Thank you very much for your good review for the Bac Ha trip, I'm so happy that it brings you the memorable journey when traveling in my region. Hope to serve you again the next time.

Nguyen Van Manh - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We took the over-night train from Ha Noi and arrived at Lao Cai at about 5 AM to be warmly greeted by our pick-up arranged through Pinocchio Hotel at a competitive price of USD 5 for two people. The ride through Lao Cai to Sapa was about 45 minutes and it was still dark when we reached Sapa. Mr. Huey over at the hotel with whom we had been coordinating had made arrangements for us to make an early check-in. With the cold-weather, it was an extremely pleasant experience to check-in to our room by 6 AM. A hot shower later, we went to the first floor restaurant to be greeted by friendly staff (Ms. Ti Man - hope I got the spelling right) at 7 AM. Before taking note of our breakfast preferences, she lit up the fireplace to make us warm. 30 minutes later other guests started to come in for breakfast too. The restaurant with the fireplace proved to be an ideal hangout to meet people over the next 4 days. We made friends with other guests and did some tours together.

The friendly staff and the restaurant were really the highlight of our incredibly enjoyable experience at Pinocchio. On one of the evenings, the staff allowed us to borrow the kitchen and we cooked red wine. On a foggy, freezing wintry evening, it was quite an experience to chat up with fellow travelers while sipping on hot wine by the fireplace. Breakfasts were served extra-large portions and we loved every bit of it - baguettes, eggs made to order, french toast, ham toastier, pancakes, Pinocchio special masala tea (cinnamon, etc.), coffee, fruit juice, etc. What better way to kick-start your day than a mini food festival chatting with friends! We found the restaurant-prices competitive and also had couple of lunch and dinner meals.

We hired a double standard deluxe room and were allotted one on the 4th floor. It is quite a climb up and, worth it - with the view of the valley. We had a terrace, with a coffee table and four chairs, that we shared with another double-room on the same floor. the room was big and equipped with heater which we found very useful in the cold December month. The bed (with clean linen) was comfortable to sleep on. The room had a small-wardrobe, a clothes-hanger, a coffee table and two glasses. Though we could have done with a kettle in the room, the staff was very friendly to provide us with large flasks of hot drinking water for us to make our own tea or coffee. The bathroom was ventilated, clean and stocked with toiletries (soaps, shampoos, toothbrushes, etc.), flip-flops, towels and equipped with a hot shower.

We used the hotel's travel-desk services to rent a motorbike to drive to the waterfalls about 12 KMs away. We paid USD 4 for half-a-day and 2 liters of petrol. The bikes were made available at a relatively short notice and we did not have any trouble on the way with them. We also used some advise from Pinocchio to hike to the Cat-cat village by ourselves. In general, we found the staff helpful and not always business-minded.

Overall, we are happy with our experience at the Pinocchio Hotel [http://pinocchiohotel.com/] and happily recommend it to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on far right (above the kitchen) may get draft of food aroma !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinocchio H, Manager at Pinocchio Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Abhijeet48,
Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your helpful review. We will try our best more and more to bring the next clients the best services when coming to our hotel.
Best wishes,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Maybe as I get older I am not so tolerant of putting up with poor quality just to get a cheap room. Yes it was $9 USD for a huge room, and it was clean, but the room was cold and damp, and the smell of mould from the rising damp was quite strong. I was there in Sept and it had been raining for a week. Maybe later in winter portable heaters may be put into the rooms to warm them or even get them dry - you would hope so.
The plumbing reverberated quite loudly anytime anyone in the hotel flushed their toilets; the sounds echoing through the pipes in the bathroom.
The hotel may be okay in summer as the room may be warm and dry and not smell so strongly of mould, but I would probably still pay extra money and stay elsewhere.

Ok for people short of dong

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinocchio H, Manager at Pinocchio Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear DragonPrincess,
Thank you for your valuable review, we will pay much more attention for the inconveniences that was encountered and fix it in order to bring the better quality for our next clients.

Best wish,
Management - Pinocchio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Cheap hotel with good views. Its simply but has all you need to stay there. Good choice if you want to spend couple of nights.

The rooms are clean.WC its ok.

If you want to go to the center, walking is about 10min or less

We cant ask more for that price!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinocchio H, Manager at Pinocchio Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Javi,
Your feedback helps us to have chance to bring to our next clients more infos about our hotel. Yes we have the different kinds of rooms which are convenient for different travelers with reasonable price.

Thank you,
Management - Pinocchio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugge/Milano
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the perfect hotel/hostel for down to earth travellers. It has exactly what you need, cheap rooms, good beds and blankets and they're there to help you. I probably never had a dorm before with such a good view. People that complain about the humidity should get their Cinderella buns to a five star resort with indoor climate control because this is a town in the valley, and weather changes every hour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinocchio H, Manager at Pinocchio Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hi Elbecque,
Late but better than nothing, thank your so much for your valuable reviews about our hotel. This give us more motivations and help the future guests to have the best choice for their holiday in our hotel. We are not dare to boast about the luxury but we are proud of the location and view of our hotel, of our friendly staff and the flexible room rates with large choice from private rooms to dorm rooms.

Best regards,
Management - Pinocchio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The rooms very very big, I think bigger than it is necessary. Clean on the first spot but dust could be noticed behing the bed and next to the wardrobe. The room was very cold due to rainy weather outside and the bed linen gave the impression of being wet. The bathroom quite dark but clean. I liked the old wooden furniture and floor - it created original llok for the rooms. The balcony was spacious and just in front of the entrance to the room but was rather neglected. The view from it spoiled by the buliding site just in front of the hotel. The staff quite friendly but in comparison to other places in Vietnam it could have been better. I did not see anybody eating there so I guess the food is not of good quality in the hotel and is a mix of everything.

Room Tip: Check the room before you take it, i.e. if everything is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinocchio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinocchio Hotel

Address: 15 Muong Hoa (Pho Cau May), Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since ten years, Pinocchio Hotel is proud to be the friendly and safe stay of travelers when coming to Sapa. In parallel with the development of the tourism in the region, our hotel has receipt thousands tourists and kept in their mind the good feeling about the friendly people of Sapa.The hotel has an ideal location, lying at the foot of Ham Rong Mountain and looking to Violet Valley, giving the eye to the villages of the ethnic minority people alternating in the terraced rice fields made by generations and generations at the foot of Fansipan Mountain. The stay in our hotel will bring to you the peaceful moments, closer to the nature of the Northwest region of Vietnam.The hotel is now owned and managed by Nguyen Van Manh, an English and French Speaking man, who is working for Sapa Tourist Information Center.With friendly and hospitable mind, we are happy to welcome you to our Pinocchio Hotel.We wish you the memorable visit in Sapa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Pinocchio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinocchio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.