We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best service and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Dao House Restaurant

Red Dao House Restaurant
04B Thac bac St, Sapa 1999, Vietnam
0084203872927
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 94 Restaurants in Sapa
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Are you looking for your private Sapa? It’s all in Red Dao House Restaurant.Located in the heart of the town of Sapa. The Red Dao House restaurant is a fascinating traditional wooden house on stilts of the Red Dao hill briber in the North West mountain of Vietnam. It is much more than a restaurant; it’s a wonderful dining experience.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

great place recommended by our friends visited the town months ago. best choice is hot pots and vet-stir fry with meat.

Friendly staff with smart uniform to present culture of hilltribe.

Good place for family travel

New Zealand traveler

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    67
    27
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Average but better than others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've been to 2 more restaurants in Sapa other than this, Nature grill and bar and Red camellia, this one was better, but like the other restaurants in Sapa, the Vietnamese food is not really authentic just trying to fit the western taste.
Fresh spring rolls are a safe choice.
Skip the noodles and the fruit juice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the menu, it's good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We must agree with the previous review. We took their recommendation and asked the waiter to advise us of dishes that were their best Vietnamese. The eggplant in garlic sauce was our favourite. We thoroughly enjoyed all dishes which included a pork, duck and beef. We also had a Chilean red recommended by the restaurant which was also very good. Service, atmosphere and food were all good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our local guide in Sapa. The first glance of the menu had me concerned as the English description of the dishes did not sound at all good. However, we decided to give it a try and we were pleasantly surprised. Many of the dishes had been "modified" to Western tastes, but when we explained we wanted the dishes cooked in the traditional Vietnamese method the chef was happy and even sent out some extra dishes for us to try. As you can imagine, the wine list is limited but there were a couple of good South American reds. The outdoor seating area is delightful if the weather is fine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Must try the grilled honey duck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had lunch here on recommendations of our guide. She specifically recommended the grilled honey duck in hot plate. It was delicious. We had the grilled beef, Sapa vegetables, fried mixed spring rolls and fresh prawn spring rolls. All the food was quite nice, but the duck was the best. This is a decent place to try simple Vietnamese dishes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dao House Restaurant also viewed

 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Red Dao House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Dao House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.