We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot pot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Dao House Restaurant

Red Dao House Restaurant
04B Thac bac St, Sapa 1999, Vietnam
0084203872927
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 94 Restaurants in Sapa
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Are you looking for your private Sapa? It’s all in Red Dao House Restaurant.Located in the heart of the town of Sapa. The Red Dao House restaurant is a fascinating traditional wooden house on stilts of the Red Dao hill briber in the North West mountain of Vietnam. It is much more than a restaurant; it’s a wonderful dining experience.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hot pot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We decided we needed to try the local "Sapa salmon" (it's actually trout) that we'd heard so much about. Decided to kill two birds with one stone and have the Sapa salmon hot pot. What a great idea! Hot pot is always a fun experience, and the staff were very helpful in showing us how to get the best out of it. The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. The prices were reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    67
    27
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had a try here for dinner as recommended by a travel book.

We ordered a mixed hotpot, it taste good especially having warm dinner with cold weather outside. But the portion was a bit little for 2 pax.

Staffs were very friendly, but poor in English.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapa, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very disappointed to see Vietnamese dressed up pretending to be Red Dao people.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

As a restaurant, this place is ok. The food is good and the design of the building is great.

As a business model, it's shameful. All of the staff who pose as Red Dao people are in fact Vietnamese. To pose as a different ethnicity in order to profit from their identity is quite simply immoral.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
2,103 helpful votes 2,103 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was selected for us by our tour guide for lunch during our stay in Sapa. The food was lovely and the staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Make sure you have a Sapa hot pot which is traditional. We went there on recommendation from our guide and am glad we did. The girl serving us showed us how to do the hot,pot. And I know it is not traditional but their chocolate mouse is to die for, the best I ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dao House Restaurant also viewed

 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Red Dao House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Dao House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.