We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Awesome Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Cat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cat Cat Hotel to your Saves list
Cat Cat Hotel
042 Cat Cat Road | Phan Xi Pang St, Sapa 19999, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Sapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place Awesome Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a super friendly place with the owner Mr Ha very helpful. They go that extra mile to make you feel welcome. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the valley. The room is a good size with open fire place and big bathroom. We love it here and good value. They can organise bus & train tickets and treks. Well done Mr Ha.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

An absolutely wonderful hotel in a quiet location in lovely Sapa town. My wife and I spent a week in March, 2012 in one of the upper level, spacious, clean, quiet and beautifully decorated rooms with a wide terrace to sit out on and enjoy the fine views. Ha and his lovely family and staff really made us feel at home, starting with a nice breakfast and all kinds of great advice on things to do and see. Travelers seeking a nice comfortable and relaxing place to stay in Sapa will be happy and well cared for staying here. A big "thank you" to Ha and his family and staff from Jeffrey and Susan from San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Take a room with a big terrace upstairs ! Nice view, very friendly and helpful people + rather big room, very pleased !

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the cat cat twice - a one night stay on each occasion. The first room was on the second level ( the hotel rooms are off a terrace that has 4 levels) and it was cold as it had alot of windows. At the time we stayed in was cold and misty so instead of having greet views we had a cold room. The second visit we had a room on the 4th terrace - a much cosier room and a terrace to sit on with good views. For a 2 star hotel I think that all rooms were ensuite, and they were clean. There was not much choice for breakfast - but we had was fine - omlette and baguette. There is a nice little bar (the color bar ) just down the hill from the hotel which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed in Cat Cat for one night and experienced the most helpful and friendly service in Vietnam. The value of the rooms is excellent and the features are very good, and what stood out for me was the owner, Ha, who did everything he could to make my stay enjoyable. It was freezing when I stayed and very wet, so Ha provided gumboots and an umbrella for the Sapa hills trek which saved me out there. When I had any troubles in my room I asked Ha and he helped me straight away. And when I returned to Hanoi (an 8 hr train ride away) I realized I left my camera at a restaurant near the hotel and emailed Ha about it... And he helped me get it back to Hanoi without hesitation. Ha and his family are truly wonderful and warm people to meet and I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Lovely room over looking Sapa. Electric blanket, heater and fire place (a must in winter). Friendly staff who made us the best hotpot in town, all fresh from the markets (best to order in the morning as they go to the markets during the day). He even supplied us with his delicious home made plum wine. Very helpful with trekking bookings and advice on things to do.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Our Sierra Club group stayed here in March, as a friend had stayed there before and recommended it. Yes it has great views, but it is not all steps. There is an elevator that takes you 3/4 to 7/8 of the way up the hillside. Rooms are clean and comfortable. It was a special occassion when we were there, the first snowfall in 10 years. People were driving from Hanoi to see the rarely seen snow! The cafe is very good. I ordered a hamburger and the cook took out a piece of meat and minced it with a cleaver for about ten minutes. It was very tasty, I tried others in Vietnam but this was the best. When our group of 30 decided to use the small cafe for dinner because of the snow, the two working there called in their relatives and soon eight people were preparing the meals in the tiny kitchen. I was impressed with their service!

Room Tip: Get a room close to the indoor/outdoor cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cat Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Cat Hotel

Address: 042 Cat Cat Road | Phan Xi Pang St, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cat Cat hotel is built on the terrace of a hill. Beautiful views overlooking Sapa valleys and mountain. It is one of those great finds, located in the heart of Sapa town and two minutes walk from Sapa daily market. All rooms are designed with your comfort in mind, fitted with hot showers, real open fireplaces for winter nights, TV with satellite channels, telephone and (some rooms) computers. Rooms are cleaned every day with sheet and towel change. All rooms have Wi-Fi and cabling for internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Cat Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Cat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.