We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Sapa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boutique Sapa Hotel to your Saves list
Boutique Sapa Hotel
041, Fansipan St., Sapa 08, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Sapa
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Overall this hotel was great. The staff are very welcoming and efficient.
The rooms are spacious, with nice big beds and a balcony with amazing views of the valley below and the mountains in the distance. Good value for money; included a nice breakfast and some of the finest views around.

Room Tip: one with valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    99
    55
    12
    9
See reviews for
47
181
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After arriving in Sapa in the wee hours of the morning after a horrendous trip on the overnight train it was a welcome relief to be able to sit down and enjoy the view whilst partaking in a delicous breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable & clean. The Hotel Spa & massage was excellent and reasonably priced as was all the other hotel amenties.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main road can be noisy, rooms on the valleyside with views more expensive but if clou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'll start with few positive things: rooms facing the valley are with great views, provided that no fog is exist .... The rooms themselves are spacious and cozy with two bottles of drinking water which are supplied.

Negative things here, unfortunately, are far more significant, in my opinion, because they are concerning the lack of understanding of the place of a good and efficient service, and beyond that, the town of Sapa is rich in hotels where you can find spacious rooms with great views.

Disordering: I came across a complete mess when it comes to booking a room. Upon arrival to the hotel, I was told to sit aside and wait, and every time I was approached by a different receptionist, who provided other information about availability of hotel rooms. Having already booked a room for two nights and settled, I was told later that the room available on the second day is not sure yet. If I knew about it before, I would look for another hotel immediately.

Reliability: On the second day, a few minutes before taking an organized trip in the area, I was offered to go to another room in a different building across the street, using the excuse that it is the same hotel, which later turned out as completely lie. I was offered a new room which was located on the seventh level, and luckily, that moment was a power cut in the village, so I conceded the privilege to climb seven floors ...

"Modesty": Breakfast was from a set menu. It was modest and consisted of two fried eggs, two slices of bread, half a croissant, two thin slices of tomato and cucumber, some butter and jam and cup of hot drink. No more, no less.

Rudeness: This hotel, as many other hotels in Vietnam, likes to draw your passport. I avoid leaving the original passport to save future potential troubles, and instead, I leave a copy, with a request to return it to me (for the next hotel) when checking-out. Usually it is accepted and I don't find any problems, also since I'm willing to pay in advance. I did the same this time, but when I checked-out and asked for the photo I left, it turned out that it is not found. After the receptionist looked for it in the trash can and didn't found it there, she came up with an excuse that photos are not saved. Since this is only a copy, I decided to move on (insisting would not have helped anyway), but I found it appropriate to comment that, courtesy, to the person in charge. To my surprise, he raised his voice, and aggressively and very impatiently invited me to contact the local police. I decided instead to contact Trip Advisor....

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having arrived on the night train and feeling very jaded, we were ushered to our top floor room. Amazing views, with every request dealt with quickly and efficiently. We loved every moment of staying there and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Top floor all the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The rooms on the hillside have a beautiful view on the valley (if there is no mist). Nicely decorated. No airco but there are mosquito-nets above the beds. The staff is very helpful. Great breakfast: choice of four possible combinations (which could also be mixed on request).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel only 1 night, but this was nevertheless plenty of time for us to be treated awfully.

We arrived off fthe night train about 8am and were told our room would not be available until noon. Having gone for a morning walk, we returned to be informed our room would now not be ready until 2pm. When we asked for a reason, the reception staff became very defensive, even aggressive about us even daring to ask questions. Their English is very poor, and they made absolutely no effort to make us feel welcomed after a long trip - we were given no suggestions at all on what to visit in Sapa, and the only advice given (in a slightly threatening tone) was that Sapa was dangerous for theft and we should watch our belongings. This hardly puts you at ease when you first arrive at a new destination!

When we chose to sit on front terrace for 5 mins, we were duly asked to move so that they could hose down the floor. When I enquired into the free bicycles advertised, I was informed it was only a single bike, and it was broken!

The rooms are generally OK, reasonably clean but the walls are paper thin. We were in room 403 and I could not only hear individual conversations from the neighbouring rooms, but all the diners downstairs and the coffee making machine well into the night.

Believe me, if you are taking the night train, the last thing you need when you get to Sapa is rude, unsympathetic staff. There are so many good alternatives in Sapa - I cannot advise strongly enough to avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a very good hotel with warm staff greeting you enthusiastically at check-in, large comfortable rooms and toilets. The winning point is they have probably the best balcony views in Sapa overlooking the valley and the hills beyond. We had our whiskies here one memorable cool evening.
But there are areas which it loses its position. Firstly, the food served in its restaurant is just average and rather pricey! Secondly, the maintenance and cleanliness is below par. There were cockroaches on our cups in the room, even early in the night! And the carpet is not well fixed, tripping us several times. These are things that can easily be improved upon if the management chooses to get its hotel to the Top ranks.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Valley facing balconies, otherwise the balcony faces the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Sapa Hotel

Address: 041, Fansipan St., Sapa 08, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival at our hotel, customers will be enchanted by one of the best views in all of Northeastern Vietnam. In addition to unadulterated views of the surrounding mountains, including the highest mountain in all Southeast Asia (Mt. Fansipan: 1343 meters), visitors can see the entire Muong Hoa valley and the skyline of Sapa Town. The majority of our rooms face either the Muong Hoa Valley and Mt. Fansipan, or the scenic and colorful Fansipan Lane, twisting down towards Cat Cat village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Sapa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.