We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, odd staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sapa Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Queen Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   09, Muong Hoa Street, Sapa 33000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Sapa
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place, odd staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Good cheap room at the top with a nice view. Staff varied between friendly and welcoming to distant and rude. Good breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
18
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night during a whirlwind trip to Sapa. The room was very cold (a heater would've cost $4 more on top of my $18 room charge) but I was fine with an extra blanket. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and organised with good English. No breakfast included but you can pay $2 if you want to eat this at the hotel. There was lots of hot water and my room would've had a nice view (partially obscured by rooftops) if it wasn't so misty! I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed 2 nights and paid $18 for a double room. Great hot water and everything clean and in working order. Pretty chilly at night however and at the time of my stay there was no heater offered. I found the staff, and in particular the housekeeping staff, really sweet and helpful. Overall, the location was a winner and I felt safe as a solo traveller. I suspect there may be slightly nicer options at this price level though.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Located just at the bottom of the main drag in sapa The Queen is about as handy as it gets. We stayed for four nights and paid $12 per night. The staff were always available for trekking advice. There was no pressure to book anything and we walked by ourselves without guides every day. They gave us maps and good advice.
After a long walk a fresh pot of green tea was always available on return, free of charge. We used their restaurant sparingly as there are so many other places to eat in town.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Plenty of blankets for the cold evenings.
There are some problems with the wifi which was great at times and then intermitant.
The views from the balcony are being built out by developments across the road.
All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to the top rooms, but the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Can Tho, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel is in a good location for lots of restaurants and cafes, although Sapa is not particularly big so it's quite easy to walk around everywhere! The staff here weren't particularly helpful or friendly and when you leave your key with them, they just leave it on the counter where anyone could easily pick it up. The rooms are very basic (even though we had a deluxe room) and cold when we visited and they charge extra for wood for the fire. The rooms were quite spacious but sadly dirty and in need of an update. The bathroom was poor and shower wasn't great; it looked as if there had been a fire near the hot water boiler and all they had done was paint over it! It is a budget hotel so you coudl argue that you get what you pay for, however we have spent similar amounts on other hotels in Vietnam and got much better value for money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowerdale, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights while in Sapa, the room was simple and clean, the hot water worked and the staff were really helpful when organising tours and were not at all pushy. Was a nice room for the price of $15.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights, it was pretty cheap and the rooms were pretty nice. Clean and simple but cheap.

The food is also quite good and you can get free wifi in the lobby.

Staff were really helpful, booked a two day tour with them for one of the cheaper prices we saw advertised in sapa. be warned, even if you are in a small group you will be on the walk with hundreds of other people - at least on the first day.

the staff also gave us loads of advice on how to do some of the walks by ourselves which was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Queen Hotel

Address: 09, Muong Hoa Street, Sapa 33000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sapa Queen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapa Queen Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Sapa Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.