We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and ok value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Queen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sapa Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sapa Queen Hotel
09, Muong Hoa Street, Sapa 33000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Sapa
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location and ok value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed 2 nights and paid $18 for a double room. Great hot water and everything clean and in working order. Pretty chilly at night however and at the time of my stay there was no heater offered. I found the staff, and in particular the housekeeping staff, really sweet and helpful. Overall, the location was a winner and I felt safe as a solo traveller. I suspect there may be slightly nicer options at this price level though.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
15
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, NSW
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Located just at the bottom of the main drag in sapa The Queen is about as handy as it gets. We stayed for four nights and paid $12 per night. The staff were always available for trekking advice. There was no pressure to book anything and we walked by ourselves without guides every day. They gave us maps and good advice.
After a long walk a fresh pot of green tea was always available on return, free of charge. We used their restaurant sparingly as there are so many other places to eat in town.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Plenty of blankets for the cold evenings.
There are some problems with the wifi which was great at times and then intermitant.
The views from the balcony are being built out by developments across the road.
All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to the top rooms, but the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Can Tho, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel is in a good location for lots of restaurants and cafes, although Sapa is not particularly big so it's quite easy to walk around everywhere! The staff here weren't particularly helpful or friendly and when you leave your key with them, they just leave it on the counter where anyone could easily pick it up. The rooms are very basic (even though we had a deluxe room) and cold when we visited and they charge extra for wood for the fire. The rooms were quite spacious but sadly dirty and in need of an update. The bathroom was poor and shower wasn't great; it looked as if there had been a fire near the hot water boiler and all they had done was paint over it! It is a budget hotel so you coudl argue that you get what you pay for, however we have spent similar amounts on other hotels in Vietnam and got much better value for money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowerdale, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights while in Sapa, the room was simple and clean, the hot water worked and the staff were really helpful when organising tours and were not at all pushy. Was a nice room for the price of $15.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights, it was pretty cheap and the rooms were pretty nice. Clean and simple but cheap.

The food is also quite good and you can get free wifi in the lobby.

Staff were really helpful, booked a two day tour with them for one of the cheaper prices we saw advertised in sapa. be warned, even if you are in a small group you will be on the walk with hundreds of other people - at least on the first day.

the staff also gave us loads of advice on how to do some of the walks by ourselves which was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

should have been staying at other hotel but they were full for the first night of my 7 night stay so i booked into Queen and was glad i did.Staff very helpful and friendly rooms very good value for $15.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as it was recommended in the lonely planet. We were disappointed that at $18 a night the rooms were grubby, the bathroom dirty and there is no daily maid service, which all other hotels in Vietnam at the price provide. The service was ok if a little disinterested. The saving grace is the location, right in the centre although be prepared for buildings works to start next door at 7am with a jack hammer! If I came back to sapa I would give a different hotel a go.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Queen Hotel

Address: 09, Muong Hoa Street, Sapa 33000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapa Queen Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sapa Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.