We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice centrally located place with helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapa Queen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sapa Queen Hotel to your Saves list
Sapa Queen Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   09, Muong Hoa Street, Sapa 33000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Flowerdale, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice centrally located place with helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights while in Sapa, the room was simple and clean, the hot water worked and the staff were really helpful when organising tours and were not at all pushy. Was a nice room for the price of $15.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
17
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights, it was pretty cheap and the rooms were pretty nice. Clean and simple but cheap.

The food is also quite good and you can get free wifi in the lobby.

Staff were really helpful, booked a two day tour with them for one of the cheaper prices we saw advertised in sapa. be warned, even if you are in a small group you will be on the walk with hundreds of other people - at least on the first day.

the staff also gave us loads of advice on how to do some of the walks by ourselves which was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

should have been staying at other hotel but they were full for the first night of my 7 night stay so i booked into Queen and was glad i did.Staff very helpful and friendly rooms very good value for $15.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as it was recommended in the lonely planet. We were disappointed that at $18 a night the rooms were grubby, the bathroom dirty and there is no daily maid service, which all other hotels in Vietnam at the price provide. The service was ok if a little disinterested. The saving grace is the location, right in the centre although be prepared for buildings works to start next door at 7am with a jack hammer! If I came back to sapa I would give a different hotel a go.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We booked the hotel (upon friends' recommendation) 1 night before arrival. We asked for a transport to/from the train station (40.000 dong per person/1 way) - everything went smoothly. The room was in the fifth floor (no elevator) but worth the climb as the views were stunning. Bed linen were clean and so was the room (don't look under the bed or in the corners:).

It was a pleasant stay but the fried eggs I ordered for breakfast were so small it wouldn't be enough even for a kid!

All in all we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and was totally worth the money (10 $ per room per night).

Room Tip: Rooms in 5th floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapaQueenHotel, Manager at Sapa Queen Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear Our Value Customers,

We would like to announce that since early of this year 2011 we had bought this hotel that mean the onwership has changed.

By this way we had a change to do alot of renovation at the hotel and train the staff as well to bring the better and better services to our customers.

Any contribution here is very much appriciated

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Unfortunately we have to agree with a previous reviews of this hotel and we have to suscribe that you can not trust the staff of this place. We had a reservation which included a pick up in the train station of lao cai. They never showed up although we were waiting for half an hour (not the most pleasant thing to do after 9 hours in the train). We obviously did not go to this hotel when we got to Sapa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalat, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We arrived in Sapa in the early morning of the weekend. Hotels are almost full booked and Queen was the great choice of us at that time. Surprised to find such a big hotel at such a central location and with such reasonable rates once we enter. Staffs helped us book the tour to the minority village (four-star tour) and to Bac Ha (this one isn't that good, two stars or less). We got the traffic jam back to Sapa and the location of the hotel really helped as we can walk quite easily.

Ah the room goes with bathtub but think of it as for decoration only, it's such the worst bathtub ever.

The only drawback is that the water supply in the morning, we got up quite early and no water. Have to wait for the staffs manage it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapa Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Queen Hotel

Address: 09, Muong Hoa Street, Sapa 33000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sapa Queen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapa Queen Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sapa Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapa Queen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.