We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbridled excellence at the river front” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bassac Restaurant

Bassac Restaurant
32 Le Loi St | 30 Thang 4 Park Area, Chau Doc, Vietnam
(076) 865 010
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Chau Doc
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
“Unbridled excellence at the river front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We ate here 1 night as a 'special' - we were seated in the open overlooking the Mekong. We had diet cokes plus lime/soda - were served a dim-sum appetizer plus tapinade and breads and had Pho Bo and Sweet and sour beef stir fry followed by banana fritters and deep-fried ice cream. Service was subtle yet attentive with mosquito coils provided. The food was outstanding - in particular the beef was tender medium/rare fillet - a rare treat! Total cost was $40 including tip - very reasonable for such quality. Highly Recommended

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
South Island
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Huge range of meals available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

There was a wide a varied menu available, including sandwich snacks which you may have to ask for in the evening. That menu wasn';t out during the early evening. A little pricey but there isn't mush else close by and the setting is superb.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed a few drinks and dinner on the patio overlooking the Mekong delta. Menu is tricky as it's very expensive for Vietnam and the food is so so.. staff are great and supplied mosquito spray during dinner service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel, equally great restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and had both lunch and dinner in the restaurant, not because there is not much else around but because it was just plain good. The menus has a wide and varied selection and the meal I had was very enjoyable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We ate at this hotel while staying en route to Cambodia. Seating was available inside or out, both with lovely views. We chose to sit inside to avoid insects although there didn't seem to be many around! We shared a starter (fresh spring rolls) which consisted of four pieces and then had a main course each. If we had realised we were going to be given an 'amuse bouche' (a pork wonton) and a basket of really nice bread, we would have shared a main course (they were certainly large enough) and maybe had room for dessert. With a large Tiger beer each (they appeared to be the best value) the meal, including service, was $37. Although this is at the top end of prices we have paid, we were in a fabulous hotel with excellent service and I think that this has to be taken into consideration!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bassac Restaurant also viewed

Chau Doc, An Giang Province
Chau Doc, An Giang Province
 
Chau Doc, An Giang Province
Chau Doc, An Giang Province
 

Been to Bassac Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassac Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.