We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real bali spirit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Seni, A Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Desa Seni, A Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desa Seni, A Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Kayu Putih #13, Pantai Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canggu
bologna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the real bali spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

exellent place, excellent yoga course! really closer to seminyak and life and so far from the crazy Bali, here you can find what on bali is lost! this island is too much change with a crazy tourism but here you can find the peacefull and the real spirit of this incredible island!
the price is also excellent, the best we've found in the island (quality/price)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    30
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
96
90
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is a great oasis from the increasing craziness that is Bali. The Desa Seni advertises itself as a village and this is exactly what it is rather than a souless resort or villa. Surrounded by its own rice paddies and vegetable gardens, you stay in fully restored antique teak houses, each unique in its own way. You are greeted by the Desa Seni dogs Sally, Sunny and Desa and of course the staff!

The included breakfast is amazing using ingredients sourced from its own gardens and freshly cooked. You can have it served in your house at no extra charge...in fact any food can be served to you any where on the property which is really lovely. We organised a full moon picnic by the pool and it was no problem or extra charge at all. Food standard is very high and often,we felt no need often to go anywhere else and why would you at these reasonable prices and the green surroundings?

The standard of yoga is very high (lots of places in Bali claim to have good yoga but don't) and the teachers like Tara and Susan are experts in their respective traditions.The yoga pavillion (sala) is beautiful and a tranquil place to practise.People outside the resort attend the classes and this makes for a friendly, vibey atmosphere.

Only small negatives,and I am being picky, there is the usual miscommunication of requests service-wise that may result in slow service or a housekeeping request not addressed, but I am sure these would be worked through by the dedicated owner. Also, if you are a beach goer you will have to hire a scooter to get to a surfing beach as it isnt that close. We did this and my husband surfed at Echo Beach every morning no issues.

We will be back- we think it's a gem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Every so often you come across a hotel which takes your breath away not just because of the magical setting and the beauty of the buildings, but because of the care, time and attention that went into creating it. Just visible among the padi fields is the Desa Seni. It is almost like walking into a film set of a tropical utopian paradise.

The rooms are all antique Javanese cabins, some with outdoor baths, some indoor (we stayed in several rooms as we ended up using this as our base in Bali, thats how much we liked it). They are dotted around several fields with immaculate, but sufficiently wild gardens around them. The pool is the salty, not over chlorinated kind (big plus). Breakfast is abundant, American style portions with plenty of choice. The welcome was warm and came with delicious crushed blueberry drinks and homemade potato chips. The beds were soft, and the rooms are filled with lovely curios and local art work which you can read about in the room guides in each room. There is aircon, cable TV, good wifi and an amazing spa with all sorts of services on offer, from strightforward massage to crystal healing, and I am pretty sure that there was alos some kind of hypnotherapy available too.

As this is also a yoga centre, there is a real soul to the place. People clearly use this as a place to come, join in on the yoga classes and then relax afterwards.

I saw a post that says this is too far from the beach, there are however bikes which you can borrow and ride down to the beach, probably about 5-10 mins depending which beach entrance you use. You can also rent scooters. This is a lot more than just a hotel near the beach however, and you will get much better service here, as well as a better experience overall. Quite frankly its a lot more than just a hotel, the owners and the staff who work there really have a passion for the place which goes beyond the usual boring high end hotel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed 6 days and 5 nights at this resort. From the moment we were greeted at the airport until the end of our stay, everything was first class! I spent a lot of time relaxing - something I needed to do. The beds were comfortable, the ammenties were fab, the massage (s) were excellent, the pool was wonderful, the cabana's were great, the cuisine was first class (although I did have a small panic attack when they didn't have bacon one morning but the next day they doubled my serving without me even asking lol) and the gift shop had so many wonderful things. Tom, Howard and staff were WONDERFUL and made sure everything was to our liking! I plan to bring another group of friends to this resort next year on our vacation and I definately recommend Desa Seni this for all types of travelers (singles, families, couples, girls get away).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My partner and I stayed here in August, and had an amazing time. Lonely Planet calls it "Four Seasons for hippies" which isn't far off the mark, but Desa Seni is truly unique - and I was very sad to leave.

The owners, Howard and Tom, create a wonderful experience for their guests. They along with the rest of the staff are warm, friendly and attentive and the service is absolutely impeccable - without being stuffy or overbearing. Though the care and attention to detail was obvious, the place itself was very relaxed. The little guest cottages which they've relocated from around Indonesia are a charming mix of traditional (daily prayer offerings are delivered to your door and the guest book explains the stories and origins behind all of the furniture and fixtures) and modern (air con, flatscreen TV, DVD player and wifi).

I was a bit worried about not being close to the beach, but in the end I hardly wanted to leave the resort! If you do want to venture to the beach, its about a pleasant 7 min bike ride and they have free bikes for guest use or can arrange a taxi. The pool area is beautiful and the yoga classes were great (the privates were also excellent for a novice like me, and Tara was a fabulous teacher). The staff were helpful in arranging surf lessons, day trips and other activities.

The grounds are gorgeous, but the attitude was what really made our vacation. We felt more like guests in a village than customers at a hotel. And this sense of care extended well beyond the guests: the owners' relationship and engagement with the surrounding community through support for a local orphanage and free yoga classes was inspiring.

All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Desa Seni is one of the most beautiful and amazing places you could imagine. I just kept saying, "It's so cool, it's so cool..." as my girlfriend and I entered the village resort, and things just got better and better. The staff are friendly, attentive and helpful, and the owners really let their passion for Desa Seni shine through. The little cottages are amazing and magical, and the attention to detail is incredible. The food is simply delicious, and 80% of it comes from the gardens around the resort. There were so many wonderful little touches that helped make the whole experience utterly exceptional. Also, the yoga classes were excellent, and the setting of the yoga area is beautiful. Oh, and the salt water pool is superb, plus you don't end up smelling of chlorine after a dip. We will definitely stay again. I cannot recommend Desa Seni highly enough - if you stay here, I'm sure you will feel the same. It's amazing!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Eternally grateful to Tom and Howard for having the vision to create and maintain this incredible space. As my mother said on a day visit 'this is how I imagined Bali to be.' If all of Bali were like this, it would be a real pearl of Asia - fantastic gardens with organic vegetables in neat rows, heavenly yoga studio with classes throughout the day, gentle staff who think of things before you do, and original antique Indonesian architecture and furniture throughout. A true gem; everyone I have brought here falls in love with it instantly and remembers it forever.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desa Seni, A Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Seni, A Village Resort

Address: Jl. Kayu Putih #13, Pantai Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Seni, A Village Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Desa Seni, A Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Seni, a Village Hotel Canggu
Desa Seni, A Village Resort Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Seni, A Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.