We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for the acupuncture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Seni, A Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Desa Seni, A Village Resort to your Saves list
Desa Seni, A Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Kayu Putih #13, Pantai Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Canggu
Luang Prabang, Laos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Went for the acupuncture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've never actually stayed at Desa Seni, although I would if I didn't live in Bali; the staff is incredibly friendly and the place is beautiful. Included in the villa is an office with an Austrian doctor who used to be a GP in the UK but now practices acupuncture here. It is no exaggeration to say that his treatments were life-changing. A debilitating injury in my neck and an unrelated injury to my lower back were preventing me from living life to the fullest. Thanks to Dr. Thomas' treatments, I have fully returned to the active lifestyle I enjoy. I am extremely grateful to Dr.Thomas for his help and to Desa Seni for including this on their property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are super thrilled to hear that you have had such an amazing experience and that Dr. Thomas and Desa Seni were able to facilitate your recovery. Stories like yours make us all smile wider and make it all worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    30
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
97
90
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Desa Seni is a stunningly beautiful, palpably spiritual, fairytale-whimsical and romantic place. It's like the Garden of Eden with tropical plants nestled between organic veggie gardens; an evening toad croaking here and there while you walk stone pathways illuminated by gumdrop colored lanterns and moonlight. The yoga classes and teachers are phenomenal, the food is delicious and organic, the staff is professionally attentive yet casually familial, and I am still dreaming about the lemongrass ginger tea. I travelled halfway around the world to visit Bali... and I'd do it again just for Desa Seni. This is an excellent destination for a solo introspective journey (which is what I did), a wonderfully romantic place for a couple, and an oasis for a small family. You can make it your own and you should. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Each Rumah (or village house) is unique, homey, and gorgeous. I believe there are a total of 13 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and your appreciation makes it all worthwhile. Thanks for sharing and if you are ever on this side of the world again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Terima Kasih and Namaste!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

It was my second time there after 4 years. Always is perfect as I remember, despect from the area around that is's grow too much! It's like a oasis of wellness with superb yoga classes, and peaceful back in contact with the essential of nature. In one word when you are inside the Community you feel like in heaven!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your second visit - it is always a pleasure to have return guests as they have become part of the Desa Seni family! Thanks too for taking the time to post a review - your kind words mean a lot! Terima Kasih banyak!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Thank you to all the work at Desa Seni for an amazing trip. My stay was nothing short of an incredible experience. Organic food, beautifully decorated huts from Java, a luscious tropical garden that never seems to end, relaxing spa treatments, amazing service & smiling attentive staff and the best Yoga teachers & school on the island. The trip was like a dream, I never wanted to wake from.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Your kind words of appreciation mean so much to the Desa Seni family. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed yourself and the yoga teachers also really appreciate the acknowledgement. We hope to see you back on your next visit to Bali. Namaste and Terima Kasih!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We wanted somewhere special to end our 30 day visit to Bali. Somewhere to stop moving, relax, get a little pampering before heading home. We found a most tranquil stay at Desa Seni. They think of everything. Very well organized to make you feel special - from the staff remembering our names, to a birthday song and cake when we arrived, delicious huge breakfasts delivered to our porch and little sayings on our beds. All of our expectations were exceeded, and with such grace and smiles from the whole team. All of your kindness was truly appreciated. And the yoga was great too (but very popular, so arrive early to class!)

I do want to mention that the only way to the beach is along a busy narrow road. About 10 minutes on bikes that the hotel provides for free, but I found the ride a little hectic with the traffic. It's a really inexpensive cab ride, so that's probably the best option. Maybe the hotel could offer a shuttle to and from the beach for guests. If you do take the bikes, make sure your brakes work well.

Great job to the entire staff and owners for providing a slice of paradise. The thought and care put into every design decision really shows. It is artfully decorated with artifacts and pieces of Indonesian history. It's a feast for the eyes and soul.

Thank you!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for posting a review - our staff really appreciate the feedback and it makes them smile even wider! We're are pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Terima Kasih banyak!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Fantastic yoga, wholesome food, and brilliant housing—in a native style, but with all the amenites that you would expect of a modern hotel. The yoga teachers are brilliant; the setting for the classes, the tea-house and the spa are ideal. The one downside is the building and the neighbouring properties that are beginning to impinge over the site. But this is the jewel in the crown of holidaying in Bali—not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks for posting a review - we're very glad that you enjoyed it all. The area around us has definitely developed quite a bit over the past few years but we are still an oasis of calm within a charming neighbourhood very close to the sea. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Terima Kasih
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am for sure coming back here to enjoy my peace and tranquility. Loved everything about it- from the spa. to the green organic food, the village styled rooms and the yoga in the open and lush green view- simply breathtaking.
Staffs were really awesome with their service. They made me feel very special.

Room Tip: I stayed in Rumah Gambuh which is a house with 2 rooms sharing. It's a beautiful house but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks for posting a review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself. Our staff always like to read the reviews - it makes them feel very appreciated, thank you!! We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon. Terima Kasih!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desa Seni, A Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Seni, A Village Resort

Address: Jl. Kayu Putih #13, Pantai Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Seni, A Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Desa Seni, A Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Seni, a Village Hotel Canggu
Desa Seni, A Village Resort Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Seni, A Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.