We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desa Seni, A Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Desa Seni, A Village Resort to your Saves list
Desa Seni, A Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Kayu Putih #13, Pantai Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am for sure coming back here to enjoy my peace and tranquility. Loved everything about it- from the spa. to the green organic food, the village styled rooms and the yoga in the open and lush green view- simply breathtaking.
Staffs were really awesome with their service. They made me feel very special.

Room Tip: I stayed in Rumah Gambuh which is a house with 2 rooms sharing. It's a beautiful house but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks for posting a review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself. Our staff always like to read the reviews - it makes them feel very appreciated, thank you!! We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon. Terima Kasih!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    34
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
102
111
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here and were highly impressed with the staff - friendly, knowledgeable and polite. The gardens - which are stunning - with vegetable gardens scattered amongst the property - 80% of the food you eat there is grown organically on site.

Its a fantastic offering of relaxation, yoga and a spa that delivers Chinese medicine and all the usual ways to chill out. In the busy and intense South Bali this is an oasis of beauty and calm.

You are staying in traditional old Javanese houses that have a modern touch, with every detail thought of.

Don't miss out.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you back again sometime in the future. Terima Kasih from all our smiling staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The worst part about Desa Seni was leaving. Everything about the village supported feelings of gratitude and tranquility. The yoga classes were fantastic with a broad range of techniques and levels. The accommodation was divine housing all the residents in traditional Javanese Joglas with exquisite indonesian decor and comfy beds. The food was so fresh and delicious with a diverse choice of Balinese and western foods. The massages were extremely good and a great way to recover from daily yoga practice, all the therapists were highly skilled and generous with their treatments. The staff were vibrant and helpful and their smiles were infectious. The pool was heavenly. I highly recommend the 7 day "Package" which includes all the daily yoga classes one 90min massage and one 45min reflexology treatment, 3x3 course lunches and 3x3 course dinners, an 8 hr day trip of your choice and collection from the airport. How do you fit it all in? Miraculously you can and still maintain a sense of calm.
A big THANKYOU to everyone there who made my holiday the most relaxing, rejuvenating experience I have had in a very long time. I came home feeling twice the person I was when I left and so far I am managing to keep the essence of Desa Seni alive in my heart. Namaste

Room Tip: They're all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. You have made the staff smile even bigger. We are thrilled you enjoyed the yoga and all the other aspects of Desa Seni. We look forward to welcoming you back again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Where do I start? Desa Seni is incredible, unique, a once in a lifetime experience that we never wanted to end.
We felt virtuous and healthy: eating the organic food 80% grown on site and nurtured lovingly by the staff; taking daily yoga and meditation classes in the beautiful pagoda; mind blowing Balinese massages at the Spa; healthy but tasty wholesome food with a huge menu and delightful service - no Bali Bely here! and the Resort really gives back to the community - teaching orphans, women in prison, educating locals about the environment and pollution and much more.
At the same time it is totally decadent and we felt so lucky and spoilt by the wonderful staff and just being able to experience the amazingly beautiful surroundings. It's as if an Artist designed the Village and thought about every detail - a private nook here, a day bed there; every angle and exquisite view; daily fresh flowers lovingly placed around the grounds, on the steps to you villa; plants named and tended constantly; gorgeous lanterns and parasols at every step. Its like a cross between Wonderland, a hobbit village, an art installation, garden exhibit and eco yoga holiday resort!
I'd go back every quarter if could. It would be a wonderful gift for someone. They even do weddings. You leave feeling energised, rested, positive and your mind & body expanded.
Priceless.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart Team Desa Seni. Suksma.

Room Tip: All the Villas are divine with their own character. Some are tucked away, others by the Pool. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard K, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Wow- what a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write - your feedback and acknowledgment means so much to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back at any time and again we thank you as your appreciation makes all that we do worthwhile! Suksuma and Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here in April,it really was a very beautiful resort, so peaceful and lovely. I love to do yoga so I practise every morning and it was a very good class. The food was very good and they are growing organic vegetables in the garden, I love to see this! The room was very nice and beds very comfortable. The pool area is very nice, I can spend hours relaxing here or take some massage which is very excellent. I love most the garden and flowers and nature, it is very peaceful and I'm so happy I book it! Overall a really great place and the good value for money with a friendly staff too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas t, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the post! We are so grateful when people take the time to let us know. the staff so appreciate it! The smiles on everyones face, the confidence of good work, the pride in what they are doing, unmeasurable. Thank you and till next crossing! Matur Suksema!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stopped by this place for lunch. It's absolutely beautiful - gorgeous sparkling pool surrounded by cute thatch roofed treehouses and colorful huts. Hibiscus, marigolds, and violets everywhere. Feels super serene. The yoga pavilions are lovely too. The food however, leaves little to be desired. Had the chicken soup and the polenta fries. Both lacked flavor. The stomach soother smoothie was ok, but there are tastier smoothies in Bali. I think this would be a great place to stay for a yoga retreat, but if you are looking for easy access to the beach, should stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas t, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to come and visit and letting us know about your experience. This feedback is instrumental to us in order to know where we can improve. I will look into the Polenta Fries and the Soto Ayam (chicken Soup) and discuss and re train the kitchen on these dishes are they are favorites on the menu. My apologies! Again, thank you as with this we can strive to do better. Terima kasih atas informasinya!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I don't review everywhere I stay but I reviewed this property after my first stay in November 2013 because I was so impressed & couldn't fault it in any way. I went so far as to say I was so impressed I would return in May 2014. I did & again I have to say it was well worth the re visit. I loved the house Shiwa (last time it was Toer), the food is exceptional, the staff are so good at their jobs that the owner Tom must be very proud of them all & happy that they uphold his vision for such a peaceful sanctuary. If you want yoga this is the place, so many classes, choices & wonderful teachers.. I have to recommend the Spa & all treatments offered, the staff are amazing & highly qualified. Dr Thomas Sladek , a medical doctor specialising in acupuncture is there to provide wonderful treatments, I can especially recommend his acupuncture treatments as I've had several & they have helped me...... especially with my back. So the best way I could recommend Desa Seni.......I've just rebooked to return in November!

Room Tip: All houses are unique. I personally like closer to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomas t, Owner at Desa Seni, A Village Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
So nice to have you back home!!! Through the years as friends come and go, we grow, mature and enjoy the days when we meet again. Such a joy to see friendly, happy, faces come back and share a vision that is not possible with all of you! See you in November!! Terima Kasih Banyak!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Desa Seni, A Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Seni, A Village Resort

Address: Jl. Kayu Putih #13, Pantai Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desa Seni, A Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Desa Seni, a Village Hotel Canggu
Desa Seni, A Village Resort Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desa Seni, A Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.