We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large room great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Legong Keraton Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, North Kuta, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Canggu
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“large room great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

our room was nice with a lovely large bathroom,located on the beach with a good surf break just in front of the hotel.staff were friendly.quiet area,we called the beach" two dogs running" as their were lots of people walking their dogs.only complaint was the linen could have been better 2nds quality, the mattress protector was old and stained,and why would you need a douvet in bali?also ply board bed must have been broken as every time you rolled over very loud creeking. a small electric kettle and tea /coffee/ creamer would make this place more acceptable as the jug of water we asked for was luke warm. Eco beach about half hour walk up the beach, overall ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    72
    31
    9
    0
See reviews for
25
56
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends wedding, and a beautiful one at that! Our room was large and clean. Room service cleaned daily, and did a good job compared to other hotels. Our room was ready on arrival with baby crib and bed for other child.

If you are looking to relax then this is the place to come, clean pool, beautiful view ( literally on the beach) manicured gardens well maintained. Take a book from the lobby and relax on one of the many sun loungers. Perfect for surfers.

If you are after a shopping experience then it would be better staying somewhere more central however it's about 30min taxi ride into kuta and taxis are not expensive. I also believe they have a free shuttle service.

I really enjoyed my stay here, only downfall would be the food, nothing to exciting and it's not consistent. There is a breakfast Buffett but very dismal. Some improvement is needed there.
There are also dogs that roam around the area, although not feral i would still be cautious of them. One barked at my 6 year old daughter as she was eating her dinner. This is Bali so dogs etc are to be expected.

Plenty of space for the kids to play. I would return if the food was improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pick up from the airport was great and not too expensive, our rooms and facilities great too. The food in the place was a bit rank - however we found a great little restaurant/cafe around the corner where we ate most of the time.

The pool was lovely and you were guaranteed a lounger and could drag them anywhere you want. The beach was fab too, however the area on a whole isn't quite there yet. It's nice and quiet but nothing is really in walking distance and the roads can be a bit dangerous to walk around.

Well worth a visit though as it was the perfect introduction to Indonesia for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel has so much untapped potential, the location is superb and grounds neat and tidy. Our room was clean but smelt of mildew (fairly common in Bali). We had a pleasant room on the ground floor that faced the ocean and pool; it was beautiful listening to the wave’s crash on Canguu beach. While it is quite out of the way, walking up and around the area with rice paddies, chickens and cows to look at was fun. I'll say generally speaking it was a pleasant two night stay.
I will not however not be booking another stay here. Firstly, I really don’t appreciate being stared at by a gaggle of stray dogs while I’m eating breakfast, nor that they seem to have complete free reign of the place. They wonder in and out of the hotel from the beach, they sleep on the dining room floor, follow you from the breakfast counter to your table, they drink from the pool and defecate on the lawns. We also had a pregnant cat take up residence on our porch, she slept on the chairs and even left a rat on the door step - she meowed constantly too. While she was lounging on our chair one morning a dog wandered over and would obviously not leave, the cat was hissing and spitting while the dog danced around barking. We watched from inside, several staff walked passed while this was taking place and barely gave them a second glance. The hotel staff are clearly very accustomed to having the animals around and dodge dogs to get food to tables.
It was all a bit too much for us, we explained to staff that we didn’t feel relaxed staying and requested to leave early, after some negotiation we had to pay 50% on the 3rd night’s rate, instead of the entire amount. While the staff were generally pleasant I really did not feel at anytime they went out of their way to make our stay more comfortable.
It was such a shame, this hotel could be amazing with a little more effort put in by management and staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huskisson, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here to surf. Nice big clean rooms. Friendly service. Good breakfast included & other meals in the restaurant were good & not too badly priced for a hotel that is located away from any other eating options. Lounging around on the front lawn on deck chairs between surfs was fantastic. Perfect view over a number of beach break options. Canggu 'proper' about a km north up the beach, just visible enough to determine the crowd level.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are in 2 storey building at rear of property & are still nice & have views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great spot on the beach if you want to chill out. Food was good and the pool lovely. The sheets smelt heavily of bleach and I had a terrible nights sleep there. I probably wouldn't stay there again even though it was a nice enough hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our four night stay at Legong Keraton was a pleasant surprise after reading some of the reviews.
All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is right on the beachfront with a wide expanse of manicured lawn and the beach out front has a wide stretch of clean sand.
Our garden room, no 9, was very clean and spacious and it had a big private verandah. Good, big shower. Comfortable bed.
Although there was no kettle in the room, there was a thermos that the staff willingly filled for us so we could have our morning cuppa in our room or on our verandah before fronting up for breakfast.
Beautiful clean pool, great for swimming laps.
Locally there are warungs to shop and eat at and a good massage can be had up the street and all within walking distance.
No large shops or night life without taking a taxi ride, but then that is why we chose to stay at
Changgu.
My only complaint was that wi fi was charged for and reception in our room was unreliable, but it
was OK in restaurant and lobby.
Legong Keraton is in a superb quiet location overlooking the surf beach, ideal if you are a surfer or if you just want a relaxing break away.

Room Tip: Room 9, a garden room with large private verandah. Close to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legong Keraton Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Address: Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, North Kuta, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#3 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legong Keraton Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legong Keraton Beach Hotel offers beach front tranquility with a Balinese ambiance. It boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a beachfront restaurant and bar.FACILITIES: With a children’s pool and babysitting facilities young visitors are well catered for. For adults a large pool and massage service provide an opportunity to relax after trawling the streets of north Kuta. An on call Doctor and laundry are amongst the services offered. Traditional Balinese massages and herbal treatments are on offer at Pasir the Spa. The hotel also offers bike rental, tour bookings and childcare services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Legong Keraton Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legong Keraton Beach Canggu
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legong Keraton Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.