We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Legong Keraton Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, North Kuta, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Canggu
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surf holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the Legong from 06-13 May 2013. Perfect for surfers with direct access to beach. On arrival my wife and I had a problem with the cleanliness of the deluxe room. Blood stains on mosquito-net and wall. Shower curtain filthy,fridge wasn't cleaned and had a foul odor. Internet is not free and very slow. Breakfast is poor to average. Overall surfing was the highlight. Very peaceful surrounding. Gardeners do an amazing job and should be applauded. If only the staff would pay more attention to guests like the groundsman attend to the gardens.

Room Tip: If you going to stay here. Get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    76
    34
    10
    1
See reviews for
27
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you get a good deal on the room price, Legong can be great value. Beachfront location is unbeatable, surf break right in front, the rooms are nice, clean and spacious (even the basic ones have a balcony where you can see the ocean) with good a/c, pool is decent, the area is generally quiet. Beds are on the hard side of firm, though.

If you have a scooter (necessary to get anywhere locally in Bali, and you can rent at reception), there are really great restaurants and cafes in the Berawa and Batu Bolong neighborhoods, only a few minutes away. Walking the beach takes you to Petitenget in 15 mins south, or Echo Beach in 15 mins north.

On the downside, the hotel food is mediocre. The breakfast buffet is okay, a better spread than the very limited options other places I stayed, but lunch/dinner plus coffee/drinks options are poor.

What really pulls this place down is the service. The supervisor in reception, Made, is very helpful and gets things done, but the rest of the oversized staff is useless even by Bali standards. Sure, you get friendly smiles but largely, they just stand around inattentively, nobody is in charge, and they screwed up even basic orders.

Generally, this hotel is not quite big enough to offer resort accommodation and yet too big to offer charm. I stayed here for ten nights and still felt like the place was impersonal. But if you're here for surfing and beachfront holiday, Legong may be hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights last week in the deluxe suits. The rooms were huge and clean and the pool area and gardens were nice. The location is right on the beach and going for walks in the morning and around the rice paddies is lovely. It is super quiet and you dont get hassled at all. Good hotel if you want do nothing and sit by the pool.

Unfortunately the hotel is really out of the way there are no restaurants, shops or a convienience store anywhere close and you basically have to taxi everwhere. If you want to eat out or go shopping it might not be the hotel for you as we ended up getting at least 3 taxis a day to go eat, shop or get massages as the hotel one seemed to book out.

The staff don't speak very good english and arn't all that helpful and we really had to chase them to get anything. The Breakfast is basically just toast, in the end we ended up catching a taxi to bungalow living for breakfasts as the hotel brekky was dismal.

I would stay in the area again as it is quite peacefull and relaxing but would probably stay at a different place.

I would say the hotel is more 2.5 star than 3.

Room Tip: Deluse rooms are worth the upgrade from superior, way bigger and better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach plus has a lovely pool overlooking beach, but its very far from anything else and roads in Bali are bumper to bumper. Recommend if you are happy to stay put and enjoy the setting. Major drawback: no tea/coffee facilities in the room and no coffee shops etc close by. Staff are very friendly and helpful; food not great and service in the evenings slow. Would return if kettle is guaranteed!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at their beachfront deluxe rooms, and it was an enjoyable experience! Their deluxe room was big enough for 2-3 persons, clean, and well-maintained. Their balcony had a very nice view of the pool below and the shore out front. You can hear the waves from these rooms all day and it added to the very nice experience. Wifi is not free however, it cost 35,000 Rp for 3hrs. Sockets are the circular ones with rounded forks so either you bring your own adaptors or you can borrow at the front desk for free. The food is not extraordinary, although they have a nice selection. Breakfast buffet is so-so. The beach is more for surfers, although they have a very huge and wide shore. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, they speak good English. We had a personal driver from the hotel (ask for Katut or Made, if you'll ever need one) who was very accommodating and drove us to Seminyak, Kuta, Nusa Dua etc. All in all, if I visit Bali again, I would go back to this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed here from 19.04.2013 to 29.04.2013.
Overall it was a nice experience, with pros and cons.

Pros:
- hotel situated on the beach, with nice view, nice clean pool, nice garden
- the food is OK, not too good, not too bad
- rooms are OK for a 3 star hotel, with AC, TV, minibar, safe,
- the room is cleaned every day, I would rate the cleaning process as a 6/10 (what should be white is sometimes yellow, in the room only the bed is touched, nothing else......)
- perfect or surfers

Cons:
- NOISY: at 6.45 the staff starts to clean the yard and they always talk very lowed, I was always waked up a 7.00 AM
- FAR: there are only 2 or 3 restaurants at less than 10 minutes walk; for everything else, you must take a cab or a scooter;
- CAN NOT SWIM in the ocean: the waves on the beach are always very big, you can not swim in the ocean if you are not a good swimmer;

As a conclusion, the hotel is nice but I think there are nicer hotels that can be booked at similar price (I would not choose again the hotel due to the fact that it is isolated and my wife couldn't swim at all in the ocean).

If you are a surfer this is the perfect place for a vacation.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 27, the cleaning staff is gathering in the morning at the door for starting the y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel alone, as part of a program. Perhaps I should have opted for a more expensive room, because this one was very basic. The room I was in seemed old and just not very comfortable. Imagine an old motel 6 in the states...basic. The bathroom was small. The bedside table shelf was loose. I was on the ground floor with a window facing the courtyard, so due to the lack of privacy kept the curtains closed.

The hotel is in a nice location right on the beach, a popular spot for surfing, but there also seems to be sewage line into the sea just a few meters away.

I really enjoyed a long walk on this beach.

The breakfast buffet is ok with a good variety. I did enjoy dinner at the restaurant.

The pool is on the small side.

Underwhelming hotel, was happy to check-out.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legong Keraton Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Address: Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, North Kuta, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#4 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legong Keraton Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legong Keraton Beach Hotel offers beach front tranquility with a Balinese ambiance. It boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a beachfront restaurant and bar.FACILITIES: With a children’s pool and babysitting facilities young visitors are well catered for. For adults a large pool and massage service provide an opportunity to relax after trawling the streets of north Kuta. An on call Doctor and laundry are amongst the services offered. Traditional Balinese massages and herbal treatments are on offer at Pasir the Spa. The hotel also offers bike rental, tour bookings and childcare services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Legong Keraton Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legong Keraton Beach Canggu
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legong Keraton Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.