We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but no charm whatsoever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Legong Keraton Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, North Kuta, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Canggu
marseille
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice location but no charm whatsoever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed with my family (2 kids) in February 2013. We booked a double room and a twin room next to eachother on the ground floor. We stayed there for 3 nights before returning back home.
The location of the hotel is excellent : on the beach in Brawa, not too far from the famous echo beach break and near the Deus Ex Machina shop in Canggu with a nice pool. But those are the only positive points I could find.
From the roadside, the hotel looks kinda nice but once you get to the rooms, you can really tell the hotel's on the decline. Nothing looks as if it has been replaced since 1980. The furniture is in good condition but looks decades old (horrible outdoor furniture), the paint is peeling off the sun loungers by the pool. In the rooms, the A/C has that bizarre "old" smell that you expect in shabby hotels. The staff didn't make us feel welcome and obviously not doing their jobs properly. For example, by the pool there were supposed to be complimentary pool towels. All we could find was a heap of used smelly towels and next to it a heap of plastic covered lounger bed mattresses. Where was the staff?
Having come from a villa rental (for the same price) with superb balinese elegance, coming to this hotel was a huge disappointment considering the price per room.
I would not have posted this review which doesn't do the hotel's image much good if we hadn't paid so much for the rooms : we came out having spent 180$ / night for 2 bedrooms. I wouldn't be complaining if it was 50$ / night. For the last day, as our flight was leaving at 9 pm we asked the hotel if they had a complimentary shower room for us to use before we left. The only solution they found was to charge us half a night's rate in order to keep our room after checkout time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    75
    34
    10
    0
See reviews for
26
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I lived in Canggu, Bali for 2 years and had gone to the Legong Keraton for breakfast and drinks a few times but had not realised how truly lovely it was until my partner and I stayed at the resort for a week last November!

The room we had was gorgeous, had Balinese touches yet very modern. It was cleaned daily and to a very good standard. The pool area is great, very relaxing and you could also have your sun bed on the garden moved closer to the beach for a better view of the surf and sea. My partner is an avid surfer, so he enjoyed just being right by the waves. The breakfast was good too. We had an amazing time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is exactly on the beach. They have good restaurant, good breakfast and very good services (cleaning, swimming pool, beach towels, bikes for rent, spa).
If you wanna go to Kuta Beach, you really need a taxi, or you can rent a scooter and a driver.
For familly with kids it is an extraordinary place.
They are having also a spa, but it is a bit more expensive than in Kuta or Legian.
The help desk is very friendly and they can arange for you a lot of day trips, or taxi.

Room Tip: perfect for surfers, familys and group of friends :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Checked in for 3 nights after a 12 hour flight. The moment we saw the room we knew we made the right decision. The staff was friendly, helpful and as Balinese, very pleasant and ever smiling. The beach is amazing and the food was excellent. The rooms were, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms very clean as well.

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are pricey, but the ones a little further back are quieter. Hotel will arrange a dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Most of the good hotels in Seminyak area on the beach start from $150 upwards. Legong Keraton was a good value for money choice, right o the beach that is not full of people, beginner surfers, and lots and lots of clean white sand. The Hotel is on a choice beach for surfers (many come on their bikes and park at the hotel to use the beach) but not like Kuta or Legian.
Good breakfast, super nice and helpful staff.
We had a maintenance issue with no hot water and rusty water, they took care of it pronto and offered us alternatives.
Just the internet is a bit of a hassle - you can only buy 2 hour packages and only 1 computer/phone at a time, and you have to physically go each time to the reception to get it - for the lazy folk FYI!
Overall we were satisfied with the hotel, and if we want beachside hotel again in same area we would probably go there.
Our room heard the waves crashing into the beach, it was a amazing sound to sleep and wake up to... you should get a room facing the sea...

Room Tip: Get top floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I was in Bali for a wedding in Canggu. I didn't want to pay for a top dollar villa or resort, and wanted a good hotel on the beach, and near to where the wedding was taking place. The Legong Keraton Beach Hotel fulfilled all of this - good room overlooking the pool and beach - good surf - very friendly and obliging staff - and quiet! Maybe not for everyone - but I would certainly come back.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is neatly situated right on the beach with a great view of surfers in the sunset, surfers in the day... all the time. Neat to be able to look out and see this.

The pool is a great place to unwind, and there are yoga sessions available I saw though did not participate.

About a 5-10 minute drive to town (it was about 45,000-50,000 IDR during my visit... always sought a taxi service with a meter)... so it's private but easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legong Keraton Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Address: Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, North Kuta, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#5 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legong Keraton Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legong Keraton Beach Hotel offers beach front tranquility with a Balinese ambiance. It boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a beachfront restaurant and bar.FACILITIES: With a children’s pool and babysitting facilities young visitors are well catered for. For adults a large pool and massage service provide an opportunity to relax after trawling the streets of north Kuta. An on call Doctor and laundry are amongst the services offered. Traditional Balinese massages and herbal treatments are on offer at Pasir the Spa. The hotel also offers bike rental, tour bookings and childcare services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Legong Keraton Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legong Keraton Beach Canggu
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legong Keraton Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.