We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Great ambience and well priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Finca Bali

La Finca Bali
Jl. Subak Sari no. 77 | Batu Belig, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 2740088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 86 Restaurants in Canggu
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Finca is an authentic, rustic Ibizan/Spanish Mediterranean dining experience where everything is home-prepared with fresh, organic ingredients, using traditional, artisan methods and recipes.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Great ambience and well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Impressed with the food, really really nice tapas, sangria and salad. The best tapas I have, especially the patatas, it was divine. Really nice ambience. Well done to the owner who managed to turn around the exact same location from a dead place (couple of past operators there never make it in the past) to what La Finca is. Well Done.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review! We were really happy to have read it. See you back at La Finca soon we hope! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    64
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed to say the least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The look of the place is what enticed our visit. We didn't have a booking but the friendly staff quickly found us a table. We ordered the mushroom ( too oily) meatballs were undercooked and needed salt the croquettes where ok the brushetta was embarrassing and soggy I could go on with everything we ate being inadequate overall everything was caked in garlic and not much flavour. They need to replace the chef. I've been eating around amazing places in seminyak for 2 weeks and this by far was the worst experience of the trip which is a shame because it looks amazing from the outside I went with 2 other people and we all felt the same. Maybe it was an off night for them. But this was my experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are very disappointed that you did not have a pleasant experience that lived up to expectations at La Finca, especially since the response has been quite the opposite by so many visitors to Bali and the Seminyak area. Please accept our apologies for this. While we would like to attribute it to an off-night, we don't want to take the easy street and will seriously look into the quality control of the dishes you mentioned. Thank you for your helpful feedback. We hope you will give La Finca a 2nd chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Spanish Tapas in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very welcome addition to the Bali dining scene with great food and atmosphere. Opened with a red sangria, very tender octopus and potatoes, and wings. We shared a beautiful ribeye on a stone plate with all sorts of condiments for the main, and they let us substitute a simple salad for the fries. What wasn't so great were the crispy mushrooms (too oily) and the bruschetta (tomatoes too mushy). Also, making a reservation was quite strange, called in twice, both times I had to insist on giving my name and time before the girl hung up, yet when we arrived, there wasn't a table ready for us. Luckily we were happy to sit in the garden to start, and the drinks and starters arrived quickly, and we were eventually able to move to the main dining area for the main. Despite all this, I will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review as well as your honest feedback! We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you will be back! See you again very soon :) Regarding the crispy mushroom and pan con tomate (bruschetta), I will pass these comments on to the Chef... as well as your compliments on the dishes you enjoyed that evening. Also, we appreciate you letting us know about your trouble with making a reservation. We have since looked into the reservation system and process and believe to have fixed it, with your help. Our deepest apologies about the inconvenience caused that evening! I agree it is not a nice experience and we appreciated your easy-going patience. See you back at La Finca very soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Touch of Spain in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After a week of eating Indonesian food and not wanting pizza, we decided to check out La Finca. The restaurant was lively and fun, but we still felt very intimate at our table. The food was authentic - tapas were delicious and the sangria went down way too easily. The cocktails were also great and reasonably priced for Bali. You can tell the management are on top of things and the staff are friendly and efficient. Highly recommend the patatas bravas, crispy mushrooms and the steak on a stone plate. There were also good vegetarian options. Complementary chocolate truffles and herbal digestive at the end of the meal finished off a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! And also for giving La Finca a try :) We are glad to have been able to offer you some culinary variety and even more happy to know that you had a great time at La Finca and enjoyed your meal! With the ambiance we try to offer something fun, but also intimate and homey at the same time. We also try to offer value for both our food and drinks menu... we are glad to know that you agree on this point. Hopefully we will see you back at La Finca again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Always looking forward to come back for more!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The first time i went to La Finca with my boyfriend we were overwhelmed with the menu. We wanted to try everything, but there were only the two of us, so we asked the chef to recommend some dishes for us to try. He prepared salad, some tapas (which i forgot the names, but there were potatoes, chicken liver, prawns with garlic & truffle, some cold cuts) and recommended the carne a la piedra (i hope i got the name right). They were all so good!! I especially loved the caramelized almonds in the salad with the roasted pumpkin and how the meat/steak was prepared. my boyfriend likes his steak rare, i like mine medium well, and we had the freedom to have it done exactly to our liking. Desserts were also to die for! Since then we've been back once and La Finca is definitely a place we'll be coming back to whenever we're in Bali! Great job done by the chef & staff of La Finca!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFincaBali, General Manager at La Finca Bali, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review Sarah! We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at La Finca, more than once, and we look forward to having you back on your future visits to Bali! :) We tried to keep the menu concise but agree that it is ALL worth trying... so you may have to visit a few more times to be able to pick your absolute favorites ;) To keep it fun and interesting, we also have our regularly-changing black board specials to offer... so there will always be something new to try. See you back at La Finca soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Finca Bali also viewed

 

Been to La Finca Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Finca Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.