We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, nice people and amazing ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mexicana

La Mexicana
Jl. Raya Canggu, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 8450597
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 58 restaurants in Canggu
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Only 10 Minutes From Seminyak, The Restaurant Is on the Right Hand Side on Jalan Raya Canggu , Next to the Newly Opened "Pepito" Supermarket TEX- MEX RESTAURANT "LA MEXICANA", DINE-IN and TAKE AWAY. We are open from Tuesday - Sunday, 4pm - 10pm. FREE FAST WIFI. We use as much as possible organic fruit and vegetables and wash them in purified water. Ice cubes are made of mineral water. We fry our gluten free Tacos and Corn Chips several times daily in extra virgin cholesterol free Coconut Oil ! Until 6 pm MARGARITA & MOJITO HAPPY HOUR . Enjoy your dinner ( we also have Vegetarian options) with great cocktails and sub-zero cooled beers served in a ice-bucket, in our unique and amazing Mexican cactus garden. Unlike many other restaurants, most of our food ingredients are imported from Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe and the United States and therefore subject to high import taxes and transportation costs. But we are still able to prepare large, delicious meals for a very moderate price. Our team hopes to welcome you soon in " LA MEXICANA "
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, nice people and amazing ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I would really recommend to have a dinner at La Mexicana, it is a super nice restaurant with delicious mexican plates nicely served. The ambiance is amazing.. Especially in the garden at the back! The faijitas are great, and don't forget to order a mango cocktail!!
We were told that La Mexicana is the best mexican restaurant in Bali and that certainly is!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    89
    24
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations, best ever mexican. Wow....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

All tripadvisor reviews of this place are spot on, this really is the best mexican restaurant we have ever been to. We were staying in Semyniak, took a taxi and within 15 minutes we were seated in the restaurants amazing garden. Got addicted to their tortillas al pastor. Also a large range of margaritas and mojitos, excellent and cheap, but bit tipsy after a few of these.... Wonderfull staff. Overall best restaurant experience during our stay in bali.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE TEX-MEX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We came here three times during our holiday and loved the ambiance. The food was delicious and plentiful , especially the enchiladas and chimichangas. Very attentive service ( especially wayan , very good english) and awesome cactus garden with some cactus over 5 meters tall. Looks like a botanic garden. Cannot recommend more highly and we will be back for sure next year and will tell my friends about it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but could be great with little effort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

La Mexicana

No jalapinos for jalapino poppers
Jalapino slices disappointing that a Mexican restaurant runs out at 6pm on a Tuesday but the food was great so we would be keen to be come back & try what was missing.

Our order:
Fajitas chicken 2 to share - 3 fajitas each and plenty of filling to share for two. I personally wanted more guacamole as there was not enough for 2 to share. Also some jalapino or chilli on the side would have given me the extra spice kick I was looking for.

Enchiladas beef was good with flavours and tasty as described by my daughters.

Burritos Supreme chilli - came out before the other meals had to start while others waited but the owner of this dish was very satisfied with flavour and struggled to eat the whole dish which shows the serving sizes were ample.

Staff were friendly there was only half a dozen tables full so they weren't rushed off feet but happy to assist and their English was pretty good.

Food came out quickly as did drinks after the order so apart from our initial concern about one meal coming out before the others it was pretty good.

Make sure you sit out back near cacti garden if you sit at front it's too close to traffic and therefore lots of noises - Bali road traffic very very busy which means noisy in peak hour it's seems every hour is peak hour so it's always noisy. But you would know that by making the trip to this restaurant. Well worth a taxi ride from Canggu we got jilted on way there 80rp for taxi from Echo Beach negotiated price and metered taxi back less than half that at 32rp round it up people it's only $4. The food the cacti garden & the service make this worth the small adventure from Echo Beach or Canggu but I probably wouldn't venture from Kuta in the traffic!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_0388, Owner at La Mexicana, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear mrs Jules,

“Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not comply to meet all your expectations.”

Regarding the jalapeños , our waiter tried to explain that our supplier ran out of stock . We cannot do anything about that , we regret it also very much and I will explain you why.....

We only use top ingredients for our food , so a lot of our ingredients like jalapeños, mozzarella and cheddar cheese, sour and whipping cream, exotic spices etc is imported from Mexico , Australia, New Zealand and the US , through our suppliers in Java and Bali.
We NEVER EVER can rely completely on our suppliers for availability. We have over 20 suppliers for our restaurant , but if one imported product is not in stock at one of those , for sure that it's also sold out at the others.
This is Indonesia and not Australia, Europe or the US . When our suppliers are out of stock , we just have to wait sometimes for 1 or 2 months until their sea-containers arrive and get cleared by customs in Jakarta.
The government is nowadays putting quota and restrictions on many imported food products and beef from Australia and other western countries , because they want the restaurants to be more self sufficient and use local products. This is ok , because in this way we also support the local community and farmers , but many restaurants in Bali do also rely on imported products.

We always have to buy enough imported products to overcome more then 2 months of empty stock at our suppliers.
Most of the time we can manage this , except in your case and in the next few days , because it didn't arrive yet at our supplier after 2 months waiting !
It's very stressful and gives us a lot of headaches, especially because we can't do anything about this.
We have been in the restaurant business for over 25 years in the Netherlands and we never encountered problems like the above and i'm sure you won't face this in Australia or other western countries.
Hopefully you will understand the problems that we are constantly facing with our suppliers (kosong , habis, tidak ada - empty stock) and the on-going new import regulations from the government .
I also wrote this manager's response for other Tripadvisor reader's to have more understanding when having a meal in one of Bali's restaurants.
When a waiter tells you "habis" or "empty stock", please don't blame the restaurant always ,
( except when it's local produce) , but remember what i wrote above about the restaurant suppliers.

The response from you and other guests on the Fajitas are excellent and most of the time the side dishes coming with it , are enough to share.
Please don't hesitate to ask for extra's like , chili's, jalapeño slices or tortilla's.
We will provide it free of charge to all our guests, besides the already
3 complimentary Hot Salsa's.

We really hope to see you , your husband and daughters again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very delicious food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

La Mexicana has very delicious food. Definitely one of the best Mexican restaurants I have been to! The service was great and the portions of food were really large and absolutely delicious! It wasn't expensive at all. Very reasonable for the size of the portions. It didn't take long at all for the food to arrive.
The ambiance was terrific as it had a beautiful Mexican garden outside. I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone especially when your very hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to La Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.