We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm - Clean - Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Calm Tree Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Calm Tree Bungalow to your Saves list
The Calm Tree Bungalow
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Batu Bolong No. 60 | Canggu, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 61 Canggu B&B and Inns
Liechtenstein
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Calm - Clean - Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We liked this calm and friendly place a lot.
The bungalows are brand new, clean and charming.
Staff is helpful and friendly.
You can walk to the beach, but it's about 20 min. Most People hire a motorbike (what makes balis traffic a total desaster).
The Restaurant and breakfast is basic but OK.
There was a construction site nearby in June 2013, with some noise during the day. (Maybe done now).
All in all: I think one of the best places to stay around Canggu.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Calmtree bungalows were a very enjoyable stay for my wife and I. We have been to Bali many times before and it was so nice to stay in a relaxed, clean, friendly and affordable hotel in Canggu, Bali. It is only 10minutes walk to the beach with a nice cafe close by. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the arrangement of tall the rooms around the centre pool was also very enjoyable. The Manager Dede was very kind and helpful during our stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying at Calmtree for 6 nights. Into our 3rd day here. Everything has been awesome. Perfect location within 5 mins walk to Echo/canggu beach, 1 min on scooter (rent one at Calmtree reception!). Staff are so nice and friendly, good breakfast and bungalows are always clean and made-up every day. Taxi into seminyak for dinner is about 20 mins (sometimes 30mins cause of traffic) but on scooter about 15 mins. Almost didn't want to review. Quiet and small. Very nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The Calm Tree Bunglow lives up to its name. Relaxing, calm and rustic! The rooms are rustic yet clean and the novelty open air bathrooms are a great touch. Great location for the beach and surf and close to some good restaurants and bars - make sure you make it down/find Echo beach for some sundowners and fresh seafood, great atmosphere! The staff are so warm and welcoming and the breakfasts are very good too. Highly recommended for a rustic, relaxed experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked our first 3 nights in Bali at this hotel. The staff is very nice, the prices super cool and the breakfast very good. The place is calm far from the crowded Kuta and Seminyak. Some nice restaurants at walking distance. The only point is that the water in our bungalow wasn't very hot.
We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We love this place so much I almost don't want to review it! This is a real gem, everything about it just sings relax. Everything you need and nothing you don't. Great restaurants nearby. Close to beach. Amazing staff. Good surf. We have already booked to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Gede and his team are amazing. They are so friendly, helpful and just a delight to be around. The bungalows are a bit rustic, but very charming and just perfect for a place like Canggu with all the rice paddies.
I celebrated my birthday in Bali and Gede arranged beautiful flowers and even suprised me with a cake. It is just a notch above any other hospitality (which already is great in Bali in general).
We can only recommend the Calm Tree Bungalows: Very good value, personal, caring, clean rooms and helpful support in any matters (surf lessons, taxis, general questions).
Some might say it the rooms should have aircon, but I felt that if you air the room plenty before going you go to sleep it is just fine. We also loved the outdoor bathrooms.

We definitely will be back and keep on recommending this gem. Thank you Gede and team, you are amazing!

Our favourite restaurant in Canggu, the Betelnut, is just 15m away - very handy indeed, with that and it's close walking distance to the beach one couldn't find a better spot to be!

If you fancy the best surf lesson or guiding, ask Gede to put you in touch with Windu. We have had many surf instructors, but Windu is a level above anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Calm Tree Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calm Tree Bungalow

Address: Jalan Pantai Batu Bolong No. 60 | Canggu, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Calm Tree Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Calmtree Bungalows offers a tropical retreat steps away from Tugu Beach. It houses an outdoor pool and wooden bungalows with thatched roofs. Free Wifi is accessible in all areas and free on-site parking is provided.Echo Beach surf spot is just a 3-minute drive away, while Seminyak area is 30 minutes' drive from The Calm Tree Bungalows. It takes 40 minutes to drive to Ngurah Rai International Airport from the property.The charming bungalows feature mosquito nets and a private terrace overlooking the pool and greenery. Hot shower facilities are available in the colourful bathrooms.Area shuttles and vehicle rental are offered for those who wish to explore the area. Staff can provide laundry and room services at extra charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Calm Tree Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Calm Tree Bungalow Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Calm Tree Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.