We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Sanctuary - best villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa The Sanctuary Bali

Save Saved
You added Villa The Sanctuary Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Jalan Desa Cepaka, Canggu, Bali 82171, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #7 of 115 Specialty lodging in Canggu
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the Sanctuary - best villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the opportunity to stay at the Villa The Sanctuary Bali in Canggu Kuta, which houses up to 25 people it was truly amazing perfect place for a wedding, anniversary or birthday with a group of friends the views were Fantastic, staff were truely amazing nothing was too much for them and they went out of there way for us we were with my daughter and her two children 3 and 8 months . the food was great and service was very prompt thoroughly recommend this Villa if you are travelling with a group of say 20 people the accommodation was very clean and spacious and the bathrooms were amazing with indoor shower and out door shower

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I and our families were absolutely blown way by Villa, The Sanctuary. We spent 5 days here and got married on the 4th day and we could not have asked for a more spectacular venue. Nothing was too difficult for the staff (Thanks Putu and Salam!)- they picked relatives up from here, there and everywhere, the food they cooked was amazing, they were so accommodating with our wedding, they organised massages etc for great prices, and they were very patient with our constant requests for more booze and more food during the several parties we had in the lead up to our wedding. The photos on their website do not do the place justice - it is hard to describe how stunning it is and the rooms are breathtaking. It's the kind of place I would recommend to go to and just sit back and enjoy the facilities - while we went out in Seminyak a few times, the traffic is pretty nightmarish, and it is better to hang out at the James Bond style infinity pool. The food was better at the villa than a lot of restaurants - our guests are still talking about the Rendang Beef curry! We cannot wait to go back one day though it will be hard to decide who gets the master bedroom with private pool- we might have to draw straws for that one!

Room Tip: All are amazing - the master villa with private pool is obviously the best! There is one smaller roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed April 20th-27th
The Villa was truly amazing. Stayed with my family for my sons 18th Birthday for 16 people. We felt like Kings and Queens in our own private paradise. Highly recommended. Rooms super large and massive bathrooms. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Salem was a bundle of information and well organized. He was very attentive to our needs and nothing was too much trouble.Thank you Salem :) And then there was Gede, such a lovely soul and he was so good with our children. We did not want to leave. We miss you all and cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: All rooms were amazing so you cant go wrong which ever you choose :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Kelly,

warm regards from Villa The Sanctuary Bali.

It was great to have you as our guest and we would like to thank you to write this positive review on Tripadvisor. We look very much forward to welcome yo back in the future.

Kind regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We did a lot of the research in advance to book our holiday but nothing could prepare us for what this villa has on offer. It is simply mind blowing.

Only a walk around the massive grounds can make you understand how beautiful the villa really is. Thoughts will pop up the entire time and "WOW WOW WOW" will run non stop through your head.

The villa is set along a river in the jungle offering amazing views. There must have been great vision to build such amazing property. Everything fits perfectly together. When you see the pictures on the website it looks great but when you see and experience it for real, it gives it a total new dimension. Waking up in this piece of paradise was one of the most memorable experiences we ever had. It is true when they say: "the early morning has gold in its mouth". We felt magical vibes in this place.

Another reason to go is because of the spectacular staff. Ketut, the villa manager, is straight forward and punctual. His staff is extremely accommodating. We cannot complement the three butlers enough who gave our stay a 5-star service. Salam, Gede and Ayu attended to all our needs. Especially Salam is very knowledgable and a true hospitality professional.

A special thank you also to our two drivers, Nyoman and Marcel, who gave our holiday a little bit extra. They brought us anywhere we wanted at any time of the day. All was done with laughter and smile, a really good job done!

When we booked the villa we ordered a real Balinese buffet dinner to get right into the Balinese mood which bring me to my third reason to highlight this villa: the food is simply delicious! We had plan to go to some restaurants in Seminyak but ended up almost having all our meals here. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was a feast!

To sum up some highlights we really enjoyed the architecture and harmonious setting of the villa into nature, the amazing staff looking after it and the service, watching the rain forest and the river, the "WOW" feeling of this villa, the privacy and security in this huge property, and last but not least the food.

Villa The Sanctuary Bali is a true sanctuary. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Madam,

warm regards from Villa The Sanctuary Bali!

It is great to read your excellent guest comment review and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary Villa in February 2014 with a few friends who invited us along, it was our first time at a villa this size but our friends frequented Bali and have stayed at some of the best places there. From the moment we set foot on the property, we were absolutely blown away and so were they! We all fell in love with the peaceful retreat this villa offered. Set away from the hustle and bustle, it was the perfect place to unwind and relax, it was much needed at the time! The staff are first class, super warm and friendly and arranged everything for us. Nothing was impossible for them. We are vegan/vegetarians and the chef was so good, he created a special menu for us down to the the fluffiest eggless pancakes we've had! Both kids and adults were impressed. When you come here, you really want to make the most of the villa facilities and enjoy a restful time amongst friends and family. Massages at the Bale overlooking the raging river was just bliss! The massive POOL! omg - heaven. The kids swam for hours until they were all shrivelled up. Movie nights in the spacious and airconditioned media room was another fave spot for all. Love the backlit glass wall behind the TV! The guys specially loved their day trips with the villa driver to the nearest surf beaches. We definitely had a memorable time here. There was something for everyone. We hope to return with an even bigger party of friends next time, watch out Ketut! We can't highly recommend the Sanctuary enough. Thanks Frank for all your help with our stay!

Room Tip: All rooms were good but we liked the rooms closest to the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Stephanie,

thank you very much to stay with us and to take your time to write this raving review on Tripadvisor. I can’t possibly think of adding any comment and will make sure all our staff reads your review as it only confirms what we try to achieve for our guest.

They work very hard and passionate to deliver the best possible service.

We look very much forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I decided to stay at The Sanctuary with a group of friends and family to celebrate my 40th birthday in March 2014. In total we stayed for 4 nights with the 'party' taking place on our 3rd night there. I have stayed in many places before, including private villas in Bali, Pacific Islands, Thailand, etc… but never have I seen a place with the quality of The Sanctuary. The sheer scale of the place is enormous and the design is impeccable. The staff were very helpful, attentive but also discreet. The meal situations were made very easy and at the end of the 4 days we received a bill that was ridiculously cheap considering the amount of food and liquids consumed. The party was a great success and The Sanctuary helped to facilitate the external caterers and DJ that I hired separately.

The only thing I would point out is the 'Romantic Bale' room is significantly smaller than the other villas and the people in that villa may be a little disappointed when they see the size and quality of the other rooms in comparison, so you may want to charge them a smaller rate than others in your group if you decide to book out the whole place like we did. We also had over 30 people so needed a villa nearby, and Villa Maya accommodated the extended group very well, although the quality was nowhere near the level of The Sanctuary (but price - appropriate).

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate recommending The Sanctuary to anyone. I just hope I can return one day to this stunning place !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Bill,

warm regards from Villa The Sanctuary Bali.

Thank you to stay with us for your 40th birthday party. It is heartwarming to read our service was excellent and our villa was impeccable.

I am very happy we could help you with the smaller details of your party. It was amazing!

Thank you to point out the “Romantic Bedroom” is significantly smaller than the other bedrooms. We refer to this particular bedroom on our website as bedroom number 8 under the accommodation section. It is mentioned here on our website this bedroom is smaller in size. Please allow me to clarify that if we have guest who prefer to split up the total cost of the villa over the amount of bedrooms, we provide a guideline of the value of these different bedrooms which makes it easy for each guest to pay their share. In this guideline you will find the value of bedroom number 8 significantly lower than the other bedrooms.

If there is anything else you feel we can help you with please don’t hesitate to email us on info@villathesanctuarybali.com

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you step into the grounds at Villa the Sanctuary you are treated with the warmest of hospitality in a truly stunning setting. I defy you to feel anything other than utterly spoilt and relaxed within the peaceful and elegant surrounds. Our party was a group of friends looking to relax and connect and Villa The Sanctuary provided the perfect environment. Frank is a generous and thoughtful host with a discreet and attentive team who do all they can to make your stay a truly special. I would recommend Villa The Sanctuary for anyone who is seeking an extraordinary experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBali, Owner at Villa The Sanctuary Bali, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Donna,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, and that our services and facilities met all your expectations.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us as it is only through such comments we are able to lay the foundation for the future.

On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank you once again for choosing Villa The Sanctuary Bali, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Bali.

Kindest regards,

Managing Director
Villa The Sanctuary Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa The Sanctuary Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa The Sanctuary Bali

Address: Jalan Desa Cepaka, Canggu, Bali 82171, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 115 Specialty lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa The Sanctuary Bali is a private boutique resort providing 5 star luxury with a spectacular location in the middle of the jungle along the impressive Ayung river. We offer unobstructed infinity views providing a lush backdrop to this exclusive oasis close to the beach highlighting its easygoing character and exclusive allure. It offers total privacy, yet is still very close to Seminyak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa The Sanctuary Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa The Sanctuary Bali Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa The Sanctuary Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.