We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate .. embrace Canggu life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Echo Padi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Echo Padi
Save
You added Villa Echo Padi to your Saves list
Jalan Nelayan, Gg. SI Putih, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate .. embrace Canggu life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As Bali veterans our experiences of Bali have evolved with us, as we moved from a young carefree couple to a young family with two kids (4yrs & 18 mths). We're now scratching our heads as to why we didn't try Canggu earlier ... It has all the benefits of the southern part of the island (beaches, proximity to shops & restaurants etc) including that lovely island feel without being in the guts of the suffocating madness that is kuta / legian.

We were attracted to VEP as being typical paranoid parents we were looking for the refuge of a villa whilst being safe enough to make the stay relaxing. At Villa Echo Padi we got everything we were after and more. We've stayed at many Seminyak villas in the past but if you have kids this is a perfect choice. It is spacious, well appointed, well cared for and ideally located. Of course, if you've never been to Canggu before you need to understand that it's traditional farming land that is now quickly becoming the Seminyak of 10 years ago. If you want to walk out the door and be assaulted by hawkers and traders selling 'genuine' sunglasses and watches then this won't be for you. At night despite being 150 odd metres from the beach it is quiet enough to hear the waves crashing.

You do need to plan ahead with your activities and embrace the inclusion of the daily driver to get the most out of the area. Our driver was Ary and he was great. He's working on his English but was super patient with us and our kids despite a few mid traffic meltdowns. I can't really fault VEP as from booking (thanks Caroline) to arrival and throughout our stay (thanks to villa manager Ketut and the villa staff) nothing was too much trouble. They fitted baby gates, provided cot, high chair and car seat at no extra cost. Try getting that level of service somewhere else...

The in-villa meals were exceptional and massively cheaper than we've experienced anywhere else. Having a driver and vehicle included in the price also takes a lot of the angst out of a trip, as there is no need to find a driver, haggle on price and get diverted to random villages. We took the kids to Bali Zoo and the waterbom (both a must-do) and it was great to know that Ary (our driver) not only knew where to go but was always very happy to wait. Ary was exceptional with our kids and they still talk about him.

We only used the two upstairs bedrooms of villa 1 as friends dropped out late in the piece but it was still great value compared to legian/Seminyak hotels. I'd suggest taking a baby monitor or renting one from Bali baby hire to maximise your nighttime relaxation.

Anyone who stays here should also ensure they get to the Echo Beach House bar and grill, Cafe Dian and also Om a little closer to home. Echo beach house is quite frankly the best beer garden in the world set right on the beach.

Our advice to people thinking of heading to Bali is to ensure they have the right expectations. Book this place if you want peace of mind, a refuge from the chaos and a great Bali experience. We'll definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Echo Padi. My husband, one year old, and I stayed at several different places and visited numerous more (including hotel and villas) in Canggu, and Villa Echo Padi was by far the best. The place itself is beautiful, well maintained, very child friendly (high chair, baby crib, stair gate, fenced pool/safety glass that allowed for an unobstructed view of the pool and maintained aesthetic while keeping our very active one-year old safe), and very comfortable, but even more importantly, the service was outstanding. Caroline/owner went out of her way to help us get situated, and her staff is just amazing -- friendly, attentive, helpful. The food prepared by staff was some of the best we had in Bali. Our driver, Jay, was also a great resource -- having a driver on call when we needed, plus access to his knowledge of the area was a huge plus. The location was perfect for us -- especially because we had a driver -- close to the beach, and you can walk to warungs if you are willing to walk a bit. We also had a motorcycle and used that frequently. We were totally spoiled during our extended stay and we will most certainly go back again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A nice surprise, we have stay in Canggu before but had not stayed at this villa and we were pleasantly surprised at how Modern and Traditional Bali come together so well, with all the mod con that we are all use to it has not compromised on this new beautiful villa. We felt like we had our own little piece of Bali just wished we could have taken it home with us :) The staff are so efficient and pleasant, Ketut the manager is friendly, helpful and professional. This Villa is located in a quiet part of Canggu and yet acessiable to local places to eat and chill. We have been to Bali many times so being in the heart of Ketut was/is not for us but as this villa has a driver in the package (for 8hrs) we could go anywhere, any day, even if we needed to go to Kuta, that was a bonus, breakfast was included too(Yummo). We enjoyed our RR in this hidden jewel and look forward to our next "booked" trip in a few months. The owner (Australian)made it so easy to book with quick and efficient e-mails, it made it so easy for us to book again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our first experience staying in a villa. We were a little unsure, as in the past we've always stayed in hotels. This certainly was alleviated from the minute we arrived at the villa.

To say the villa was amazing is an understatement. The Australian standard pool fence gave us total peace of mind. The kids swam at their leisure, yet we knew they could not gain access without our permission.

The meals cooked at the villa were beautiful. Thank you Koman! Ketut (villa manager) even arranged Indonesian cooking lessons in our own western kitchen.

The villas are in Canggu. A rice field/surf beach setting. The area is nothing like the rat-race of Seminyak, Legian etc. the area is a tranquil offering for what we could only assume was the Bali of yesteryear.

Having the two living areas gave us the opportunity to spread out and relax. The villas are huge!

The super king size beds were to die for. Every luxury has been considerably thought of for he total guest experience.

Drinks on the balcony every afternoon was a total treat.

The daily transport allowed us explorer at our own pace. This was included in the package.

The family was sad to leave. We have vowed to return when time (and money) permits.

Villa Echo Padi you are a true Gem!

Thank you.

Davies Family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wish I was back there now.
Beautiful villa accommodation out of the way in Canggu. Amazing pool. Lovely rooms. The builder Ketut is rightly proud of the place, especially the bathrooms. He drops in most mornings to make sure you're getting the most out of your stay. The staff are probably their biggest asset really cool young crew who cook, clean and generally make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Above all they make you feel welcome.
The villa is close to the funnest surfing beaches in Bali and a few nice restaurants. On the beach you can rent a couple of deck chairs under an umbrella for $5, we usually arrived as they were setting up for the morning and everyone was in high spirits hoping for a good day.
Loved the excellent driver who knows everywhere you might like to go. Great for us as my wife wanted to shop in Denpasar for textiles. We found some great Indian run fabric stores with stuff from around the world. He also, introduced us to a local toy store and a locals pool for swim supplies - amazing bargains compared with Australia. He was also happy to drive us down to the beach for a few hours each morning and in the evening it is walking distance, but with a toddler and pregnant wife this was the best option.
During the booking process the Australian owner made sure everything was organised for our arrival and made concessions for us as we had a few difficulties in the lead-up to our stay. Even hooked up a babysitter for us so my pregnant wife could relax or while we went shopping - we had a slight personality clash with the babysitter, but she was really good with our daughter and even helped to teach her how to swim after advising us to pick up some floaties.
If you want to surf a bit and chill in quality surrounds with good vibes all round this is the place.
The only things I would do differently next time is try to get another family/couple to come with us as the villa is huge and stay for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had the most fantastic holiday at Villa Echo Padi. The villa was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there and raved about it, so our expectations were high...and happily were met! Villa Echo Padi is almost brand new, and the stylish and luxurious but also practical furniture and layout was perfect for our family of 4.
One of the best features was the Australian standards glass fence around the swimming pool - which is so so difficult to find in villas in Asia. It gave us so much peace of mind and a chance to not be constantly watching the girls.
The staff were amazing - wonderful with our 3 and 5 year old, friendly, always willing to offer advice on places to eat and shops to visit....and cooked brilliant meals when we ate in (which was often with the age of the children). My husband and I asked the staff to cook Balinese food which was delicious, but the staff were also great at cooking western meals for the girls - meaning we were all more than full after every breakfast lunch and dinner.
My husband and I had a few meals out at night without the girls and we felt very comfortable and confident leaving the girls in the care of the staff at the villa, knowing that they would call us if we were needed.
We have already booked for next year - and have booked the villa next door for the friends who made the recommendation. The villas are separate but the fence can be pushed back so next year we will have 2 pools, 2 villas and 2 lots of staff to help us - we are counting down the days already!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiveCanggu, Owner at Villa Echo Padi, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Nicky T,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experiences with other TA visitors. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your time at Villa Echo Padi. I am sure the Australian Standards Pool Fence gave you piece of mind with your 2 beautiful girls. We look forward to welcoming you all to Villa Echo Padi next year.

All the best, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Echo Padi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Echo Padi

Address: Jalan Nelayan, Gg. SI Putih, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Echo Padi is 150m from Nelayan Beach in Canggu, and only an 11km drive from Seminyak. The 3 brand new, luxurious villas are all fitted with Australian Standard glass pool fencing. Each villa contains 3 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, 2 living rooms, a dining area and full western kitchen, private pool and garden area, upper sun deck and private balconies. Each villa can sleep up to 6 adults, plus 2 children. Opened in December 2011, these villas offer a luxurious Balinese escape at the most competitive market rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Echo Padi Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Echo Padi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.