We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vibe, Clean, Modern Rooms and Awesome Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestay Bali Starling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Homestay Bali Starling to your Saves list
Homestay Bali Starling
Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu, Bali 0000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 56 Canggu B&B and Inns
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Vibe, Clean, Modern Rooms and Awesome Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My Son and I stayed @ The Bali Starling for 4 nights. Mike arranged for swift airport pick up for us. We arrived to a nice clean modern room with good internet WIFI service and spacious Bathroom. Centrally located in Canggu, close to the beach, great places to eat and the Canggu Club. Mike cooks up a great breakfast everyday included in the stay and will happily sort you out with a rental motorbike, maps and any local travel advice you might need. When I return to Bali, I will certainly be staying at the Bali Starling Homestay!..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Jason,

It was an absolute pleasure having you and Kona at our place. Glad you also enjoyed it!
Hope everything worked out with the harvest. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
35
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have never been good at following through and writing reviews of the numerous places I have stayed in the past but I make an exception now. Moving to Bali knowing it was going to be my home for the next few years and the uncertainty that comes from such a big change was quashed by Mike and Marcella and their gorgeous homestay. They are fantastic hosts who have mastered the fine balance of good conversation and knowing when to give you privacy. The breakfasts are phenomenal, I did not have a favourite and wished I stayed longer to go through all the choices twice over. The homestay is a perfect combination of hotel quality but with the comforts of home. Large, bright and extremely clean rooms. While I walked everywhere, Mike did offer to help arrange transport alternatives even assisting me himself after checking out and heading to my next destination. Mike also gave me some tips on great places to eat that were delicious and reasonably priced. Marcella gave me the privilege of seeing their gorgeous two month old baby daughter everyday. A wonderful family, a fantastic homestay and I wish you guys well for the next phase of the business. Semoga sukses selalu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Corie,

Thank you for staying with us. And thank you for writing this review. We hope that you and your family found a nice place to live and that your enjoying your live & work here on Bali.

Take care,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Our days at Balis Homestay Starling were great, unbelievable, nice, comfortable and unforgettable.
It was the best start in Bali we could imagine! ... and of course the best breakfast we had on our tour (it started 6 weeks ago)!
The rooms are big, with a cosy bed, TV, some DVDs, a small fridge, (and all the time fresh, cold water). The bathroom is also quiet big and the rooms were all the time extremely clean!
Every evening we could choose one out of 7 different breakfasts for the next day. In the morning Mike prepared the breakfast for us additionally with fresh juice, selfmade great cappucino and a fruit salad. He and his girlfriend were all the time so helpfull, friendly and never to tired to answer our question or giving good advices.
If we have the chance to come again to Bali this would be the first adress we like to stay!
Thank you for the great time Mike and Marcella!

All the best - Elly and Luise

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hallo Elly und Luise,

Vielen dank für ihren schönes review. It's really appreciated. We wish you all the best.

Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

It was a very pleasant stay. The rooms are absolutely newly fitted out, very comfortable beds and nice bathrooms, everything was neat and clean, and very well planned. The property is very well located, 2 min by bike to the beach. The surrounding area features many nice restaurants, owned be expats and offering high quality delicious food. The surrounding area is not so dusty and crowned as Seminyak or Kuta, also much cleaner. Breakfasts were fantastically delicious, made personally by the owner Mike at your choice. Believe us this was not a continental breakfast, this was a very nutritious and homy breakfast that will give you energy for the whole day. Fresh granola done by Mike in professional oven with fruits and real yogurt were our favorite (you should see , how big were the portions) and fantastic BLT sandwiches (everything roasted just a second before serving) and pancakes and much more!!! These breakfasts could be successfully sold to neighbor hotels, all our friends were jealous! And what's more, Mike assisted us with bike rentals and taxis and car rentals, places to see and to eat at, helped us with many other personal questions (what delicious to bring home back etc). You feel like staying in a very comfortable hotel, but being independent from the crowd and guided by locals, feels like you came to visit friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Olga,

How's that 'inburgeringscursus' going? Already moved to Amsterdam or still in Moscow?
Many thanks for your extensive review. Hope you're happy & healthy.

All the best,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Modern, cool home stay with wonderful hosts Mike and Marcella. The building is beautifully designed and furnished. Mike cannot do enough for you. I left my passport at the airport (don't ask!) and he even went to pick it up for me.

Breakfasts were unbelievably good. A lot of love and effort goes into the making of them and it shows.

And then you get access to the Canggu Club which is soooo relaxing.

We ended up staying here twice and for about 10 nights in total and cannot recomend this home stay highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Mark,

Hope you're all settled and enjoying New Zealand. What an amazing trip the two of you are on!
Thanks for your kind review. We really appreciate that.

Warm regards,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a great find, perfect location as a base to explore Seminak, Legian,Kuta and Echo Beach by bicycle.I did also enjoy coming back to a fresh and clean abode with crisp sheets and a generously sized modern bathroom.
Mike and Marcella were a great source for info re places to shop, eat and general Bali gossip.
Canggu Club ( walking distance) is like stepping into Somerset Maugham novel, thank you Mike and Marcella.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Martina,

Thanks for staying with us. Hopefully next time your son will clean his room in time so he can join you. ;) Looking forward to having you over again. Good luck with your business in beautiful Sydney harbor.

Kind regards,
Marcella & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission beach australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This homestay has small private hotel qualities added to the big hotel style experiemce of 'Canggu club membership' and the proximity to Echo beach and many good restaurants.
The 4 guest rooms are well appointed and almost new.
Breakfast is certainly well above average- not your average bali pancake deal.
The neighbouring barking dogs were my only complaint. as they did wake us during the nights as we sleep with windows open as we are unaccustomed to sleeping in 'quieter' sealed airconditioned rooms.

Room Tip: pay the little extra for one of the delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliStarling, Manager at Homestay Bali Starling, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi guys,

Thank you for your friendly words. We're really glad that you liked our breakfast. We've put a lot of afford in that.

Kind regards,
Mike & Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestay Bali Starling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Bali Starling

Address: Jalan Raya Semat | Gang Bekul 8, Canggu, Bali 0000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Bali Starling is a brand new, boutique bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the peace and tranquility while still being located at the heart of one of the most bustling and exiting areas in Bali. Homestay Bali Starling is just a short stroll away from world famous Echo Beach, but within 10 minutes you can also reach Seminyak, where you can enjoy great restaurants, shopping and the best nightclubs and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Homestay Bali Starling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay Bali Starling Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestay Bali Starling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.