We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond even the highest expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Bali to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canggu
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beyond even the highest expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our arrival in Bali on the 16th August didn't bode well. I had booked a villa online after having trawled through a hundred of them. It looked good on the screen but the reality was something else. I was heartbroken. We were in Bali to celebrate my husband, Mike's, birthday. And then a good friend in Bali took us to Hotel Tugu and that was it. I had wept out of sheer disappointment when I saw the first villa and then I cried again when we walked through the imposing Balinese portals and entered the Hotel Tugu, Canggu - but this time out of sheer joy. We had wasted two nights at the grotty villa (we got our money back for the rest of the time we had booked) but we made up for it by spending eight glorious days and nights at Hotel Tugu. I had been warned that Bali had changed dramatically since we last visited 15 years ago. And it has. More shops, more bars, more motorbikes, traffic jams like you wouldn't believe. Still fin though. Hotel Tugu became our Balinese sanctuary when we didn't feel like shopping, drinking and eating out. Filled with precious Balinese antiques, and even more precious staff, we couldn't have asked for more. Sumptuous breakfasts, a sunken beaten metal bathtub in our villa we could have hosted a party in, attention to detail that went beyond anything in our extensive travel experience. A personalised birthday cake, followed by a bouquet of tropical flowers were delivered for Mike in our villa. Every day was a joy filled with surprises. I cried one more time on this holiday - when we had to leave. Tugu had become our home.

Room Tip: All the villas are amazing. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Annie

Thank you so much for posting such a beautiful review on TripAdvisor!

I cannot describe in words the way your review has moved us, thank you from the bottom of our hearts. It was an absolute pleasure having you and Mike for such an important date at our Tugu and I can say from all of us that you are both truly missed here.

Your comments push us to continue doing what we enjoy doing the most, serving guests with true feelings...

We are anxiously awaiting your return.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    55
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
67
291
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
札幌
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I have a family night to Tugu bali long-sought.
Service of modern became family memories to the hotel that was full of antiques.
Tugu was comfortable than a modern hotel.
The rooms I stayed in Rejang Suite. Bathtub circular can relax very much.
I had a romantic dinner at the Bale Sutra. It was cooking in a modern style,but there was a claim
to a traditional taaste. It ie recommended course dinner if you stayed at Tugu Bali.

念願のトゥグバリに家族で一泊しました。目的は古き良きバリを堪能する事。
古民家の様な館内に妖艶にも高貴な紅が映える・・そんな趣にちょっと酔い気味でした。
お部屋は2階のラジャ・スィート。巨大な洗面器状のバスタブは想像以上に寛げました。
お湯の出も上々!!もちろんシャワーブースも有ります。
トイレは微弱なウォシュレット!?
アメニティはレモングラスで統一されています。

最大の目的はディナーで、部屋もアンティークの凝縮版「バレ・スタ」を予約しました。
伝統的な料理を期待していたのですが、モダンなスタイルで登場・・
洗練された料理が苦手な質ですが今回は別格です。
ちゃんと濃厚なバリティストの主張が有りました。

好評のアフタヌーンティは、雰囲気を楽しむレベル。
素朴な地元菓子は和みです。
朝食のも雰囲気ですかね(笑) 悪くはありませんよ。
従業員は思いのほかしっかりしています。

ホテルの周りには飲食店や商店は在りますが、さほど期待しない事です。
おこもり派やサーファーでは無いので、一泊で~連泊でも二泊ですね。
バリ島のフィナーレに相応しいホテルでした。

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear ドク金魚

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at Tugu and in our Bale Sutra private room. Although I cannot address your message due to the language barrier, we still truly appreciate your review and its scoring.

We hope we can welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at Tugu Bali as a family (2 adults and a three-year-old) for 3 nights in August 2014. We were upgraded to the Walter Spies Pavillion for the first night, which was very spacious, private and beautifully appointed. We then moved to a Dedari suite, which was very comfortable and stunning in every detail. The plunge pool was a little too cold for our taste (it's winter after all) so we didn't use it - but it was a pleasure to look at the pool through the floor to ceiling glass doors and it gave a real sense of openness to the room. We absolutely loved the outdoor bath - our daughter spent some delightful times bathing while observing the fish swimming in our own little pond. The staff were always warm, welcoming and accommodating. They were very caring of our daughter and made her feel as if Tugu was a home for her. The proximity to the beach is a plus, though it is not a particularly clean beach to visit with small children. The only issue with the hotel is the location of the swimming pool: while the pool is beautiful it is often in the shade and doesn't get much sun, so the water is a bit too cool. I expect it would be more comfortable in the Balinese summer rather than in winter. The grounds were otherwise exquisite (we all enjoyed exploring), and I would imagine it is a very romantic location for couples. It is private and quiet, with beautiful vistas and a stunning atrium. The food is delicious and all needs are well catered for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear StefAndQ

Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to learn that you had a wonderful and an enjoyable family holiday with us and that we contributed in some small way in making your stay a pleasant and memorable one.

We also thank you for posting constructive feedback and comments about our beach. Beach cleanliness is issue all over Bali. It mainly depends on weather conditions and other factors that we can’t control 100%. However, our gardeners clean our beach twice a day and we have security staff from sunrise to sunset to ensure that our beach is safe.

Regarding the pool temperature, it is true that we are currently experiencing a real 'winter' here in Bali and although temperatures are extremely pleasant under these conditions it is true that the pool may occasionally not be as hot as desired.

We do hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our resort in the near future on your next visit to Bali.

Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.

Best wishes ,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My boyfriend wanted a little more upscale lodging scenario than I am used to- but I wanted a more authentic Bali experience. Hotel Tugu is a perfect blend of both. Beautiful gardens, Indonesian antiques decorate the grounds, the menu is expansive with lots of new things to try, but good old standbys for those who want their western comfort foods. Our room had a view of the sea over the exquisite gardens, and we had a lovely hammered metal bath big enough for two which was our evening ritual after dinner. And the staff! Soooo lovely!!! In true Bali fashion, they make you feel so welcome- as if they wanted you personally to have the best experience ever. Not as if you are one of many guests but as if you are THE guest. Be warned- their English isn't amazing and they will say yes to everything. That's typical of Bali and humor and acceptance will give you the best possible experience here. We loved room 205 the best- we looked at quite a few rooms. Only one downside is the club music from the outdoor bar next to the hotel- it stops at around 11 but until then- not very peaceful. Definitely stay here if you get the chance!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear AuntOswald

Thank you so much for posting a great review on TripAdvisor . I have already conveyed your beautiful comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed Tugu in your own words. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.

Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the resort. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for those good reasons. Our service mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and serve from the heart.

We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Tugu for 3 nights. This is a wonderful hotel, the staff can not be more helpful 24 hours a day. Great location away from hustle and bustle of Seminyak, but a little journey to get into shops and restaurants. If you can find a regular driver its a cheap trip in so no problem. Our room which was elevated had glimpses of the ocean, but you are not right on the ocean.

Food - We found it a little expensive to have breakfast in the hotel, so we ventured just out the front door and down to the beach to Canggu Cafe - a surfer's hangout/haven but never too crowded. They did a good. breakfast and fresh juiices for just a few dollars.

The hotel is full of artifacts..you can never stand still without having to check something out that is on display. We were planning on having the guided tour but never got around to ithis, but I'm sure it would be a fascinating story. I must say though the statue in the little room at the end of the shower in our room, was a little bit off-putting initially. It was beauitful though once I got used to it.

Our room was beautiful. However we do like to have more of an outdoor space when we are on holiday and if you want this, possibly the downstairs villas would be more suitable. but to be elevated and look over the tree tops to the ocean made up for it.

My only criticism would be the grading of the hotel - I think to be in the luxury 5 star category they need to replace a few bits and pieces. The cover on our lounge in sitting area in the room was quite stained. That could do with replacing as well as the cushions. The foyer of the hotel is majestic when you first enter. There are long long billowing panels of fabric blowing in the breeze that is a beautiful effect, but, in the daylight these are quite faded and a little tattered, and I would think its time to replace those as well.

Other than these very small things, I struggle justifying the per night rate as it is on the high side for what it is, but, this is a beautiful quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Aussie09Sydney

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such an impressive review on TripAdvisor.

We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about Tugu, particularly about our very helpful staff, our great location and the interesting selection of antiques. Your kind words truly motivate us.

We also thank you for posting constructive feedback and comments about our fabrics; we do take your observations seriously, and have already made substantial changes to these curtains, sofas and cushions.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Love this place, quite, elegant, wonderful staff, great location near by the beach.
Bedrooms are very well decorated with local furniture. Opportunity to do cooking class, shopping at an antique.
Very helpful and thoughtful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear liloupoulette

Thank you so much for posting a great review on TripAdvisor . I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed the little Tugu in your own words.

We truly look forward to your next trip to Bali, we would be delighted to welcome you back at our Tugu. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Tugu Bali is so beautiful I felt sorry every time I had to leave the hotel grounds to visit the island. Bali is crowded, noisy and touristic, but in this hotel you can definitely rest from it all and find the most beautiful architecture and interior design – everything hand-carved by the local artisans. The hotel is not very large, but the buildings are so cleverly set in the lush tropical gardens, all the time we felt complete privacy. We stayed probably in one of the smallest rooms, Rejang Suite, but it was gigantic (see the photo – all 1st floor is one room)! We absolutely loved a bathroom with the huge round bathtub. The restaurant is just amazingly beautiful, only 3 tables with a sea view, set in a gorgeous , airy hall, the food is delicious, service absolutely spotless. There was some Hindu celebration in the nearby temple with a lot of singing and recitations, but it did not bother us at all, on the contrary it added a lot of climate and magic to our stay.

The beach is very small, but sufficient for hotel guests (if more people arrive, they adds more beds and umbrellas) and there is a romantic four posters bed on it (see the photo). Indeed, as other reviews say, there is a road between the hotel and the beach, but it is a local road (as we’ve understood it only leads to the nearby temple), so the traffic during the day there is very small – something like 2 motorbikes per hour.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully set and completely private. The Rejang Suite we stayed in is very romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear UlaO

Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate the valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.

We are touched by the beauty of the words used to describe our Tugu: the secluded & private feeling, the oversized bathtub in your room, the quietness of our beach... this gives us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach Hotel Tugu Bali is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 Minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.