We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and enticing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Bali to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canggu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Welcoming and enticing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at Tugu Bali as a family (2 adults and a three-year-old) for 3 nights in August 2014. We were upgraded to the Walter Spies Pavillion for the first night, which was very spacious, private and beautifully appointed. We then moved to a Dedari suite, which was very comfortable and stunning in every detail. The plunge pool was a little too cold for our taste (it's winter after all) so we didn't use it - but it was a pleasure to look at the pool through the floor to ceiling glass doors and it gave a real sense of openness to the room. We absolutely loved the outdoor bath - our daughter spent some delightful times bathing while observing the fish swimming in our own little pond. The staff were always warm, welcoming and accommodating. They were very caring of our daughter and made her feel as if Tugu was a home for her. The proximity to the beach is a plus, though it is not a particularly clean beach to visit with small children. The only issue with the hotel is the location of the swimming pool: while the pool is beautiful it is often in the shade and doesn't get much sun, so the water is a bit too cool. I expect it would be more comfortable in the Balinese summer rather than in winter. The grounds were otherwise exquisite (we all enjoyed exploring), and I would imagine it is a very romantic location for couples. It is private and quiet, with beautiful vistas and a stunning atrium. The food is delicious and all needs are well catered for.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear StefAndQ

Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to learn that you had a wonderful and an enjoyable family holiday with us and that we contributed in some small way in making your stay a pleasant and memorable one.

We also thank you for posting constructive feedback and comments about our beach. Beach cleanliness is issue all over Bali. It mainly depends on weather conditions and other factors that we can’t control 100%. However, our gardeners clean our beach twice a day and we have security staff from sunrise to sunset to ensure that our beach is safe.

Regarding the pool temperature, it is true that we are currently experiencing a real 'winter' here in Bali and although temperatures are extremely pleasant under these conditions it is true that the pool may occasionally not be as hot as desired.

We do hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our resort in the near future on your next visit to Bali.

Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.

Best wishes ,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    54
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
61
268
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My boyfriend wanted a little more upscale lodging scenario than I am used to- but I wanted a more authentic Bali experience. Hotel Tugu is a perfect blend of both. Beautiful gardens, Indonesian antiques decorate the grounds, the menu is expansive with lots of new things to try, but good old standbys for those who want their western comfort foods. Our room had a view of the sea over the exquisite gardens, and we had a lovely hammered metal bath big enough for two which was our evening ritual after dinner. And the staff! Soooo lovely!!! In true Bali fashion, they make you feel so welcome- as if they wanted you personally to have the best experience ever. Not as if you are one of many guests but as if you are THE guest. Be warned- their English isn't amazing and they will say yes to everything. That's typical of Bali and humor and acceptance will give you the best possible experience here. We loved room 205 the best- we looked at quite a few rooms. Only one downside is the club music from the outdoor bar next to the hotel- it stops at around 11 but until then- not very peaceful. Definitely stay here if you get the chance!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear AuntOswald

Thank you so much for posting a great review on TripAdvisor . I have already conveyed your beautiful comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed Tugu in your own words. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.

Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the resort. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for those good reasons. Our service mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and serve from the heart.

We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Tugu for 3 nights. This is a wonderful hotel, the staff can not be more helpful 24 hours a day. Great location away from hustle and bustle of Seminyak, but a little journey to get into shops and restaurants. If you can find a regular driver its a cheap trip in so no problem. Our room which was elevated had glimpses of the ocean, but you are not right on the ocean.

Food - We found it a little expensive to have breakfast in the hotel, so we ventured just out the front door and down to the beach to Canggu Cafe - a surfer's hangout/haven but never too crowded. They did a good. breakfast and fresh juiices for just a few dollars.

The hotel is full of artifacts..you can never stand still without having to check something out that is on display. We were planning on having the guided tour but never got around to ithis, but I'm sure it would be a fascinating story. I must say though the statue in the little room at the end of the shower in our room, was a little bit off-putting initially. It was beauitful though once I got used to it.

Our room was beautiful. However we do like to have more of an outdoor space when we are on holiday and if you want this, possibly the downstairs villas would be more suitable. but to be elevated and look over the tree tops to the ocean made up for it.

My only criticism would be the grading of the hotel - I think to be in the luxury 5 star category they need to replace a few bits and pieces. The cover on our lounge in sitting area in the room was quite stained. That could do with replacing as well as the cushions. The foyer of the hotel is majestic when you first enter. There are long long billowing panels of fabric blowing in the breeze that is a beautiful effect, but, in the daylight these are quite faded and a little tattered, and I would think its time to replace those as well.

Other than these very small things, I struggle justifying the per night rate as it is on the high side for what it is, but, this is a beautiful quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Aussie09Sydney

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such an impressive review on TripAdvisor.

We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about Tugu, particularly about our very helpful staff, our great location and the interesting selection of antiques. Your kind words truly motivate us.

We also thank you for posting constructive feedback and comments about our fabrics; we do take your observations seriously, and have already made substantial changes to these curtains, sofas and cushions.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Love this place, quite, elegant, wonderful staff, great location near by the beach.
Bedrooms are very well decorated with local furniture. Opportunity to do cooking class, shopping at an antique.
Very helpful and thoughtful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear liloupoulette

Thank you so much for posting a great review on TripAdvisor . I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed the little Tugu in your own words.

We truly look forward to your next trip to Bali, we would be delighted to welcome you back at our Tugu. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Tugu Bali is so beautiful I felt sorry every time I had to leave the hotel grounds to visit the island. Bali is crowded, noisy and touristic, but in this hotel you can definitely rest from it all and find the most beautiful architecture and interior design – everything hand-carved by the local artisans. The hotel is not very large, but the buildings are so cleverly set in the lush tropical gardens, all the time we felt complete privacy. We stayed probably in one of the smallest rooms, Rejang Suite, but it was gigantic (see the photo – all 1st floor is one room)! We absolutely loved a bathroom with the huge round bathtub. The restaurant is just amazingly beautiful, only 3 tables with a sea view, set in a gorgeous , airy hall, the food is delicious, service absolutely spotless. There was some Hindu celebration in the nearby temple with a lot of singing and recitations, but it did not bother us at all, on the contrary it added a lot of climate and magic to our stay.

The beach is very small, but sufficient for hotel guests (if more people arrive, they adds more beds and umbrellas) and there is a romantic four posters bed on it (see the photo). Indeed, as other reviews say, there is a road between the hotel and the beach, but it is a local road (as we’ve understood it only leads to the nearby temple), so the traffic during the day there is very small – something like 2 motorbikes per hour.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully set and completely private. The Rejang Suite we stayed in is very romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear UlaO

Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate the valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.

We are touched by the beauty of the words used to describe our Tugu: the secluded & private feeling, the oversized bathtub in your room, the quietness of our beach... this gives us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaunay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

a real musum everything is perfect service quality of the rooms away from the Noisy and ugly kuta,the spa is very pleasant,the gardens are handome ,it is close to the beach which is not overcrowded. a keetle wiyh tea and instant coffee will be the only thing to improve

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for posting such a great comment of your experience with us at Tugu!

I will pass on your kind words about our collection of antiques, the heavenly atmosphere and the perfection of our service to my team... Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Bali in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch" experience once again.

With all our good wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Hotel Tugu is located away from the crowd of Kuta beach and it's a perfect retreat to relax and unwind. You immediately feel the laid back spirit of Bali. Really nice bungalows and an absolutely beautiful garden with lots of nice flowers and plants. All rooms are furnished very tasteful with new and antique furnitures. The service is outstanding, the staff is extremly friendly and attentive. My personal hightlights were the spa treatments and the Yoga session and not to Forget the room decoration with my preferred flowers/blossoms of Frangipani.
I travelled in May 2012 to attend a wedding of Australian friends. And the Hotel offered me a free transfer to the 3 different Locations of the wedding.Thank you very much again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Barbara

Thank you so much for posting a great review on TripAdvisor even after a couple of years! We are deeply touched by your beautiful memories of your time here with us at our Tugu.

I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed Tugu in your own words. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.

We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach, Tugu is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.