We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tugu Bali to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Canggu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Tugu is a fantastic experience and extremely unique blend of traditional style and modern service levels. We (my, Malati and our 3 year old daughter) had a great time - the welcome massage, afternoon tea service, Balanese dance performance during dinner, private beach access were totally unexpected and delightful experiences.. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Vinay,

Thank you very much for posting a lovely review on TripAdvisor .

We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about Tugu, particularly about the blend of traditional style and moderns service levels. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your beautiful family back again for your next visit in Bali.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    49
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
245
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having planned a "one night's escape", we really got what we bargained for at Tugu Hotel Canggu: we totally escaped from reality, for just one night!
A totally private suite with plenty of space for two (three, four even...), the most practical room lay out, noise free (unless one would be disturbed by the serene sound of breaking sea waves...) and the Warmest Welcome by Manager Martha!

Our breakfast in one of the private dining rooms was so enjoyable.
Most memorable service: a customized welcome note in the room upon arrival and a poet's quote and "Good night and Sweet Dreams" on the bed before going to sleep.

We will so be back!

Room Tip: The Rejang Suites are highly recommended: right in the middle of the complex, yet totally private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Robin

Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us during your 'time off' in Canggu!

We are delighted to hear we truly offered you a relaxing journey while at Tugu, even though short. Thank you personally for your kind mention in your review. At Tugu we strive to give our guest a once in a life time experience and we hope we can welcome you back very soon for a longer period. It would bring us so much joy to welcome you back in our family!

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can help with anything from here!

With all our good wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel, but we had dinner at the restaurant a couple of times. Service is exceptional and the food again the best we had during our whole trip to Indonesia! Leave space some space for the chocolate cake!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sandra

Thank you for posting such a great comment about our restaurant!

I will pass on your kind words to our team. Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Bali in order for you to experience the full "Tugu touch".

With best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having substantial experience in accommodation around the world, I have to say the quality of the Tugu hotels in general, and particularly also that of the Tugu Hotel Bali was most astonishing. The suite my girlfriend and I had was just ideal, ultra-clean, well designed and equipped, warm, spacious and with a great view. In addition, I had booked some extra services for my girlfriend's birthday; private dinner on the beach on a spacious bed, with Balinese dancers - you can't possibly impress anyone more! Perfect service, extra attentive staff, and an overall property which is very pleasant to walk around in. Two thumbs for Tugu Hotel Bali.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaside view are marvelous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you for leaving such an amazing review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. Specially coming from someone as knowledgeable as you in the field! We were delighted to learn that you had a wonderful and an enjoyable experience with us and that we contributed in some small way in making your stay a pleasant and memorable one. Please never get your own yacht and keep coming to visit us! You are truly missed at Tugu...

We hope we can welcome you and your girlfriend back very soon. Our entire team will be very happy to see you in Canggu again.

Warm regards,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I had the absolute pleasure of getting married at Hotel Tugu, Canggu back in April 2014. Hotel Tugu had been recommended to us by friends. As soon as we stepped into the hotel we knew we had chosen the right venue. The authentic Balinese artifacts and ambiance of the hotel was astounding. We met with our wedding planner the day after our arrival for a month's stay on the island. She was wonderfully accommodating. We decided to complete some of the wedding aspects ourselves and not make use of the complete list of aspects the hotel could have provided us. We had a small group of 12 for our wedding. The attention to detail for our reception, ceremony(inside due to the torrential rain) and dinner was incredible The authentic Balinese dinner(feast) was amazing and to be seated in such an amazing dining room was a real treat. None of our guests had been to the hotel before the wedding and they were all amazed. We could not have asked for a better wedding experience.
Andrew Smee & Denita Wright

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Kiama,

Thank you so much for posting such a moving review of your wedding on TripAdvisor .

I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted about the way you describe Tugu in your own words. Words like “astounding ambience” & 'We could not have asked for a better wedding experience" really touches us...we are truly honored to have served you on this very special occasion. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.

Thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With our best wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Tugu Hotel is truly amazing! My two teenage daughters and I stayed at Tugu hotel for 8 days and had the most wonderful time. The staff is so nice , helpful and knowledgeable. Efficient and caring. The lobby, the garden, the fishponds everything was just as we had hoped for. We stayed in the Dedari suite with a very unique bathroom and our own private plunge pool. I loved the attention to detail in the room and throughout the hotel. From the minute you walk into Hotel Tugu you will experience the peaceful and serene beauty of Bali .
Loved the high tea in the afternoon and the food was truly amazing. We also enjoyed some of the spa treatments the hotel has to offer. We would go back in a heart beat . Thank you hotel Tugu for making our week so memorable .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Heike,

Thank you for the time you took to post such a great review of your experience with us!

I will pass on your positive comments about the food, the service, the atmosphere, etc. to my team...Your words really encourages us to continue providing our guests with the unique "Tugu Touch". Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Bali.

We all hope you welcome you and your daughters back in our family very soon,

With all our good wishes,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The moment the car pulls into Tugu you are transported into a peaceful oasis. The staff is kind, courtesy and professional. The surroundings are impeccable and excellently maintained. The menu was extensive and each meal was a delight on the tastebuds. The location could not have gotten any better; a stone throw from surf breaks BB Temple and Old Man's and just at the end of the road, one of the best viewing areas for sunsets with local outdoor restaurants serving up beach food and live music.
Winda at the front desk was wonderful, assisting us with seamless check-in and check-out, setting up spa treatments, day excursions and answering all of our questions.
Highly recommend Hotel Tugu for your Bali stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Elizabeth

Thank you for posting a great review on the TripAdvisor.

It is our privilege to learn that the time you spend with us at Tugu was one you will remember. Thank you also for describing in such beautiful words the surroundings of our hotel - the tranquil atmosphere and crushing sounds of waves, the laid back cafes and bars with one of the best sunsets in Bali and of course the world renowned surfing at our beach. I have also conveyed your kind words to Winda, which brought so much happiness to her! You are most welcome make Tugu as your own home in the future.

We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach, Tugu is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.