We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience at Tugu Hotel Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Bali to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Canggu
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Amazing experience at Tugu Hotel Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you consider yourself more of a traveler than a tourist, this place is for you. It's more of an experience than a hotel. Art, culture, service and attention to detail. Wonderful staff. Highly rec'd.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Rick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your first review on TripAdvisor about our hotel!
It was an absolute pleasure having you at Tugu and we are delighted to hear you had an unforgettable time with us. Also thank you very much for posting such lovely pictures of our Tugu. You are are missed in our family.

We all hope to welcome you back in Canggu very soon,

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    54
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
62
282
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Tugu Bali is a custodian of significant artwork, antiques and sculptures of a forgotten era, much like a museum. Only you get to interact with the artefacts of history in a much more intimate way – you get to live in it. Read my in depth review of Tugu Bali and the spa package on http://www.inbali.org/hotel-tugu-review/

Room Tip: THE REJANG SUITES are on the upper floor of the Javanese style house above the Kampong suites, are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Eli

Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are touched by the beauty of your words and the very moving article on inbali.org. Who else to better describe the "Tugu touch" than our dearests guests with true feelings.

Thank you also for mentioning all other facilities & services of our property. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for those good reasons.

Eli, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali!

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Tugu Bali at the tail end of a 2 week trip to Indonesia. Aware of the crowds in Seminyak and Kuta, we hoped Canggu Beach would offer a good home base to explore while still providing access to the beach scene.

Tugu is definitely unique. It is a lush, built-up compound full of atmospheric pathways and bridges, koi ponds, mossy statues, artwork and Indonesian decor, all designed to feel like a small village. The public areas were a bit over the top with 'Balinese' accents stuffed in every possible space. The pool villa room was spacious but dated and a bit dingy with masses of dead flies trapped in picture frames and moderately clean bathrooms. The beach was dirty, even the private slice set on Tugu's property, where roving packs of dogs had made a home (and toilet) under the beach beds. The food menu was huge, and while okay and well priced it seemed more buffet style food than one might have expected. We were the only diners on two nights - how was there such a variety of 'fresh' food so quickly ready? Overall the property felt tired and stuck in the '80s.

Once there, you're stuck. 20 minutes from Seminyak in traffic (this is in off season) meant you are too far to shoot in for shopping, a meal or a drink. There are simply too many things to see closer to town that you miss out on being this far away and we regretted not staying closer.

Two redeeming factors for this resort: The staff, each of whom was warm and helpful, and the incredible James Bond style bath with a metal tub and a large window that opened from the shower into the private courtyard offering an audience of koi right there while you bathed.

Dining tip: Mamasan was a good experience, and KuTeDa was fun for a drink. LaLucciola was our best dining experience in Bali for food, service and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pool villa was okay but not necessary, we barely used the pool as we were shuttling back and forth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Orionblu,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your valuable feedback and thank you for your nice comments about the uniqueness of our property and our warm & helpful staff.

We are sad to hear that you felt our decor in the public areas was 'over the top'. We share a large collection of original Balinese & Javanese antiques with our guests to provide them with a once in a life time experience to live and breathe the beauty of this culture.

We take cleanliness extremely seriously and are investigating into the room matters as we speak. All frames have now been triple checked and bathrooms are spotless.

Beach cleanliness & strait dogs are an issue all over Bali. For the beach it mainly depends on weather conditions and other factors that we can’t control 100%. However, our gardeners clean our beach twice a day and we have security staff from sunrise to sunset to ensure that our beach is safe and to keep away any dogs on our property. We are terribly sorry to hear the dogs were under the beds during your stay and will highlight this isolated issue to our security team.

In regards of its location, Hotel Tugu Bali is located in Canggu which is indeed a more tranquil neigborhood famous for its relaxed vibe, Balinese village life, famous surf waves and laid back setting. The perfect place to enjoy the beauty of nature as far less touristic than Seminyak and Kuta. Saying this, we have a large selection on restaurants and bars in the very close to our hotel including Kakilima Restaurant, just across from Tugu, and numerous boutiques and cafes.

Our menu is varied and caters for local as well as western food. We are praised to be one of the best Indonesian restaurants in Bali and offer a truly local yet sophisticated dining experience. Our Balinese and Javanese selection in true to it's roots and is served on a large platter with an assortment of different delicacies called 'campur' style which just stands for mixed platter. This is far from being a buffet like presentation but a traditional way of serving Indonesian food, plated individually and prepared by our local chefs. Most of these dishes require hours of maceration to infuse all the flavours and spices and can therefore be finished very quickly on request which would explain why you may have felt our service as being too quick.

We hope we can welcome you back in Tugu to renew you experience with us and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at marta@tuguhotels.com if I can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our 4th time stay at this hotel. The service always perfect, staff all friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and well kept. We will surely come back very soon. Thank you guys for your great work, keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Moela

Thank you first and foremost for your loyalty towards Tugu and for posting such a great review on TripAdvisor.

We deeply appreciate your kind words and comments on our resort and are truly encouraged to continue working towards delivering unforgettable moments to our guests, that as you know, do become part of our family. Your support gives us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again and again on your next visit to Bali!

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My Girlfriend and I had one of the Best Trips, Experiences Ever at Hotel Tugu! Amazing Property but, the Staff and People made our Vacation one we will Never Forget! From our Outdoor Bathroom to my Private Swimming Pool to our Fabulous 6' X 9' Bed, everything was Excellent and I would only give Hotel Tugu my Highest Recommendation for anyone wanting to have a one of a Kind Experience! Close to a quiet Beach, Great Waves and some Black Sand Beaches, everything was the BEST!!

Room Tip: I Loved our Villa with the Private Swimming Pool in the Back and Open Bathroom to our Koi Pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for posting such a beautiful review on TripAdvisor.

I have already conveyed your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you expressed Tugu in your own words! The words like “one of the best trip experiences ever"...we are truly honored to have served you with that special “Tugu touch”. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.

We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We enjoyed a peaceful four day stay at this wonderful hotel. The service was extremely personal with staff addressing you by name and going the extra mile even to provide ear plugs when an annual religious event external to the hotel was creating a lot of noise. The food was delicious and food menu quite extensive. Rooms are well appointed and the grounds are filled with sculptures.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear CKMJ74,

Thank you so much for posting a great review on TripAdvisor! Your comments beautifully describe the peace you can experience at our Tugu in Canggu and we sincerely appreciate the positive comments about our food.

Thank you also for mentioning our attention to details in regards to the ceremony in the temple closest to us, it is a one time only ceremony and one of the biggest in the island, but it is not something that will be repeated again.

We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.

With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This place is absolutely stunning and the whole feeling is that you are staying in someones rambling home rather than a big modern resort. There is room after room of antiques (the giant Garuda in the foyer is the biggest in Bali) and the public areas are unusual in that you can choose to eat in almost any of them.

This is the perfect place if you like to surf and also you love good food. Love the idea that you can get breakfast served any time and any place. Sunsets are awesome and if you can ride, you can get a horseride on the beach right from the front.

It does however have a few disadvantages. Out of the seven nights we were there, we could go to bed only 2 nights without earplugs. Additional to this, a quiet sleep-in was impossible on two mornings because of the same reason.This was because of the temple being very close by and using loudspeakers for screaming prayers. Now having been to Bali over a dozen times I understand deeply how the spirituality of the people flows through everything and that is one of the key reasons one comes here...however, it is really hard to retain a feeling of peace and happiness when the same screeching voices replay for three hours at night and then again in the morning. Perhaps, ask ahead of time if special festivals are on because it really does impact. There is also another bar/lawn restuarant right next to this and on Fri-Sunday it again is pretty noisy til late. The bar itself is not a bad place to visit but if you don't want to hear the loud music and the people yelling til late, it's not exactly, again, the most peaceful place. (Oh and BTW - we arent old, just wanting a bit of sleep on our holiday after working hard!)

The best thing though about Tugu isn't the amazing food or the rooms, it's the people. The staff do their utmost to please and will answer any cultural questions you may ask. The cultural dance show is really high quality and had some of the best dancing I have seen in Bali. The spa services are ok, but the spa staff try really hard and the mantra massage was beautiful. Overall, Ill be back- even if it's just to see the koi in my suite garden!

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaEscribanoMartin, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Imaginelle

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our selection of legendary Balinese dances and a pleasure to hear that our staff really made a difference to your stay. I will of course pass this kind comments on to our teams.

Thank you as well for sharing a constructive feedback about the noise from our neighboring temple. They are having a special celebration in the month of May in addition to Galungan, since they are finalising a new temple withing their premises which should be done before the end of the month. The restaurant closest to us offers live acoustic music on Fridays until 10pm as you mention, but we will monitor the noise since this should never cause any nuisance to our Tugu guests. My most sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.

Our Tugu family will be very happy to welcome you again anytime for a more relaxing stay,

Warmest regards,

Marta Escribano Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#2 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach, Tugu is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.