We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Bali

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tugu Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Canggu
Hong Kong, null, hong kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We found Hotel Tugu through the global Boutique Hotel portal Mr&Mrs Smith four years ago and can't help making Hotel Tugu at Canggu Beach an annual experience (e.g., this past trip has been our fourth). The staff are fantastic and the property has a great blend of authentic old world charm with the conveniences for modern needs. The views are breathtaking, while being close enough to the ocean to hear the crashing of the surf if you keep your windows open, makes for a magical experience. The food on the property is also top-notch, with several locations all around the property to enjoy meals in a different place each time. The service & rooms have been so exceptional, we've seen (and toured) other properties in Bali, but can't help coming back home to Hotel Tugu.

Room Tip: Hard not to get a great room. The villas basically have four units each, two on the top and two on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Jon P,
Thank you for the time you took to post a great comment of your experience at our resort. We are very happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay for the forth time and have had "Tugu touch experience”. Jon P, please consider our home as your home in Bali. Our little Tugu is geared to give such an experience as we are always committed to give best of hospitality to all our dear guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our hotel. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime. Thank you again for your nice sentiments mentioned in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    38
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
206
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Old-world Bali is harder and harder to find these days. What I value are places with a historical sensibility, cultural integrity, architecture that relates to the geography, smart use of materials, a commitment to sustainability, and an indication that the staff and guests also share these values. Happily, I discovered all this at Tugu.

The design is stunning, from the entrance leading to an immense wooden garuda figure, to lovely little lily ponds and spectacular garden features, cobbled pathways, spacious rooms brimming with local flavor, all sorts of Balinese antiques and handicrafts, and a location far removed from the party-hardy crowd. The staff are kind and generous. The vibe is totally mellow and cheerful. The beach is quietly nestled between areas shared by surfers and locals. Above all, Tugu is a quiet, dreamy, soothing place.

Obviously, it's a pricier place. But it's a world apart from—and far superior than—the industrial-strength resorts in Seminyak. The funniest thing that happened was that the hotel provided us a complimentary ride to nearby Seminyak. We thought an adventure might be fun. But yikes! Trading Tugu for noisy Seminyak was a terrible idea. Fortunately, we realized we could walk the beach right back to Tugu in a fraction of the time a taxi would take. And thus, we returned to paradise. The end.

Room Tip: We stayed on a ground-level room with a private pool. A koi pond wrapped around our bath tub. Very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Travel store,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Bali will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts. You have described our resort as an "Authentic, artful, magical, Balinese escape" .
You have also open your heart out explain each section of the hotel & for its natural surroundings , architecture, collection of rare antiques & many more, for which we will be ever grateful & appreciative. This is what the Tugu hotels stand for. It is our mission to convey the art, history & romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to all our guests.
Thank you once again for well written review of Hotel Tugu Bali.
Our best wishes ,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Tugu Bali for 6 Nights in the last week of Nov 13 and must confess that this is an absolutely fantastic resort. Was here for a beach wedding ....the best that we've been to in ages.
Fantastic rooms, open air bathrooms , plunge pool, the works. And The hospitality was out of this world . Thank u Maggie . Our six yr old refused to leave the place. U can surf at the beach or just lounge around the pool area or peruse thru the artwork spread across the resort - mini museum of sorts

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Zubyzub,
Thank you for the valuable comments upon our resort rating as a " a great place" and for your precious time to share it on TripAdviser.
We were pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience at the resort also a big thanks and appreciation of your compliments on the facilities of the resort, staff, room, beach wedding etc.
We do hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our hotel in the near future on your next visit to Bali.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With best regards,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley,Ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Everywhere you look there is old world Balinese beauty and charm.
Our room was stunning. We were upstairs and had a view of the ocean, sunset and surfers. We had a large enclosed porch with a beautiful hand hewn metal soaking tub. I felt as if we had been transferred back to a different time.
The location was perfect as it sits on one of the nicest surfing beaches with miles of beautiful sandy beach to walk on and walk off all the great food we ate at the hotel.
We loved the cooking class. Daisy took us to the market and answered all of our questions regarding the crazy market. She stayed cooking with us through out the morning and then served us our lunch in the most beautiful Walter Spies suite . Sri was our person for the Private Balinese Dance and Dinner service. They both were amazing, kind and sharing about their culture and lives. We were
treated like royalty and were happy to have met these lovely people.
The entire staff seem to bend over backwards to accommodate our needs.
We look forward to recommending this hotel to our friends and family for an incredibly special experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Anna,
Thank you so much for posting a great review at the TripAdviser . I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed the little Tugu in your own words. The words like “treated like royalty” during your stay; we are truly honored to have served you with that special “Tugu touch”. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.
Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the resort. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for those good reasons. Our service mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and serve from the heart.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Bali. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley,california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I just returned from a week stay at Tugu.
The property main areas including several dining rooms which are outfitted with rare museum quality art and sculpture
This is highlighted by the docent quality tour that's given by Maggie the food and beverage manager
She is familiar with every artifact ,down to the last detail. So if you enjoy a one of a kind property experience , then this hotel should be on your to do list.
I travel extensively and enjoy great food and art and this hotel has both in abundance.
The kitchen was consistently preparing Javanese and Balinese favorites as well as some more obscure offerings. No request to the waitstaff was too unimportant .
Also the cooking class was a positive plus for a lot of the guest. The chef (from Java I believe) along with Maggie and her staff made you feel that your experience was to be savored.
I rarely write a review , because one likes to keep "gems" to themselves . But this was an unexpected and exception fine.
My only drawback was the lighting in the rooms bath area.Especially if shaving is part of a daily routine
Other than that this property gets very high marks from me.

Room Tip: There was no "fitness center" but swimming in the surf as well as the pool was plenty of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear bebop,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our colorful antiques, ambiance, cuisine,cooking class , staff & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We also thank you for posting constructive feedback and comments about lighting in the room/ bath area; we do take your observations seriously , we shall make changes to improve lighting effects specially in the bath area.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Bali.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Tugu Bali is the best hotel we've ever stayed in ... and we travel a lot. The staff are warm, friendly and are highly skilled. They have worked hard at maintaining a very high level of professionalism. Arhcitectually the wooden building is stunning, well maintained with an amazing level of detail and luxury. The location is fantastic - right on Canggu Beach with breathtaking sunsets! I loved the surfing and the cooking lessons were a highlight. Everything about Tugu is exceptional and I sincerely hope to be back there soon. It really is old world charm and an experience I will always remember fondly.

Room Tip: Choose a room with beach view on the upper floor rather than a plunge pool room. The veiws and sea b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Voula,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your description about the view and our team members, the concept of the hotel, cooking class & many more .
Who else better than our guests can describe their experience with their real and honest comments and with their own words....
It makes all of us, the family of Tugu, so happy to hear that you had loved your stay,
Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime soon.
With best wishes ,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A true 5 star experience - service which all goes on behind the scenes to create the perfect stay & unique design.

We stayed in a Rejang suite. In your room you'll find a huge, very comfortable bed, separate shower & toilet, along with a private spa area, with windows that open fully & a cool sunken copper bath tub. All of the above is made from an eclectic & stylish local furnishings. The hotel itself is also incredibly interesting & is home to many antiques which the owner has collected from around Asia.

The food is amazing. Breakfast is a feast each morning, with more food than you'll be able to eat. Afternoon tea is also served each day. If you have dinner in the restaurant, as with breakfast, you can choose your location - dinner on the beach makes for a truly romantic experience. On Thursday evening there's also a Balinese dance, which you can watch over dinner.

Close by, within metres is the beach, which isn't the most amazing beach that you may have ever seen, but is still incredible for sunsets. If you surf, that's also available right in front of the hotel. Scooters can be rented either at Tugu or just up the road (for a little cheaper) & there are also some great food opportunities nearby.

The staff here are incredibly well trained, being noticed where needed & otherwise taking care of you without you ever seeing them.

Tugu Bali really provides the perfect romantic get away & we truly hope we'll have a chance to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoshanFernando, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Bali, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Karen,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review under the caption of "Exquisite attention to detail". All of us at Tugu Bali will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food & the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Bali.
Karen, thank you once again for well written & the experience expressed in your recent visit to our resort.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tugu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Bali

Address: Jl Pantai Batu Bolong | Canggu Beach, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canggu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Bali 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a beautiful pristine sunset beach, Tugu is almost an experience too surreally beautiful to be true. Built upon a passion for the romantic art, history and culture of Bali, a vast collection of Indonesian antiques adorned the hotel, blending pure tropical luxury with an out-of-the-ordinary ambience. 30 minutes from the airport, 15 minutes from Seminyak, Tanah Lot Temple and one of Southeast Asia's best golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tugu Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugu Bali Hotel
Tugu Bali Canggu
Hotel Tugu Bali Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.