We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali

Save Saved
You added Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali
300 Jalan Nelayan, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Canggu B&B and Inns
Fremantle
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent 3 very tranquil days at Voyager, lazing by the pool and exploring Canggu by scooter. Justin and his staff were really helpful, and we enjoyed the slower pace of life and took time to relax and zone out poolside. Great location for chilling out, but less than ten minute scooter ride into the heart of Seminyak. Canggu is a very cool little surfing spot, hidden gem warungs, and boutique shops. Recommend Beetlenut Cafe, Canteen and Deus within walking distance. Rooms are compact but quirky, comfortable and pristine. Would recommend Voyager if you are looking for a hideaway which still has the option of getting involved in Seminyak, and a refreshing change from most Bali resorts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We're happy to hear that you found Voyager a refreshing change from the norms of other resorts and would love to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
57
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent the last 3 nights of our vacation to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat and it was a perfect choice to end our trip to Bali.
The room was clean and very well designed.
Justin, Don and Ida were really helpful and provided us good recommendations of places to go nearby (restaurants, beaches, spa, etc).
We ended our 3 days retreat and vacation in high spirits.
We highly recommend Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank-you for your great review and we are happy that your Bali holiday ended on a high note at the Voyager!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

second time round at this place and as i wanted R&R, this place was perfect. Their staff, Ida, was a gem and she brought me to market, shopped and even taught me how to cook balinese meals. Would go back again when I have the time...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It's always a pleasure to have you staying with us PJ. You have become somewhat of a legend around here with the staff and we're pleased that the Voyager is your place of respite from an otherwise crazy and complicated world "out there". We look forward to your return, with Bintangs chilled and sunscreen ready. Kind Regards, Justin & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I would recommend Voyager Retreats to any traveler to Bali. Beautifully laid out and decorated. The rooms are cool and luxurious. We loved the outdoor bath and shower. The staff are very helpful and the brekkies delicious! This was my first time to Bali, and I intend on visiting again and Voyager Retreats is definitely where I'll stay . I'm also very keen to see the new restaurant attached. It was being build while I was there and promises to be worth a second trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We're excited to hear that your stay at the Voyager was nothing short than spectacular. It is a wonderful place, and Bali is a wonderful island - and we're happy that we could share it with you. Kind Regards, Justin & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have visited Bali 4 times from back packing to the Aman Resort. On the 5th visit my friend booked Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat. We were keen to stay in area that was a little less hustle and bustle and close to a wedding to where we were attending.

The minute I entered the grounds I knew we had the right place to spend our 4 days. Justin (the owner), cool chilled out guy who lives on the premises was happy to gives us the run down when we arrived.

There are a couple of villas on the premises that have been interior designed by the owners in a very funky, chic, romantic manner. Although the villas are all on the same premises we still felt a sense of privacy.

Walking distance from the beach, walking distance from the restaurant and spas. Its quite and unique.

Breakfast in the morning was presented to us in our court yard (we had the back villa space). Super fresh fruit salad and yogurt and eggs on toast. Service with a smile

I loved my stay at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat and would for SURE come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank-you for the great review - it's amazing to be compared on par with the likes of Aman. That's our ethos here at the Voyager - provide an unforgettable experience for our guests, cater to their individual needs and number one: ensure that they have the best experience possible! I'm glad we could do this for you and look forward to welcoming you back. With the Kindest Regards, Justin & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Justin gave us just the right amount of service during our 5 nights at VBCR. The Coconut Room was the perfect retreat, creative and felt very boutique. Would definitely recommend for groups and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
And the perfect guest! We loved having you stay with us and look forward to your return in the future. Best Regards, Justin & Don.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Full of personality, style and comfort, Voyager was a seriously great place to stay in Canggu. It's perfectly positioned for stuff in Canggu, walking distance to shops, quality restaurants and the beach. But it's a good option for those looking to head to Seminyak without being too amongst it.

Quality rooms, super clean, great outdoor shower, delicious breakfasts, lovely staff and best of all a vibe that really started our trip on a high.

Whilst it's walking distance from lots of great eateries and shops, I'd recommend talking to Justin or Don about a scooter to see it all without breaking a sweat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Darragh. Thank-you for the wonderful review and we're more than happy to hear that your stay at the Voyager was awesome and a great start to your Bali trip! Our service is only our pleasure and making you feel like number one is our priority. We look forward to having you back when you next visit Bali. Best Regards, Justin & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali

Address: 300 Jalan Nelayan, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic island living in the beautiful area of Canggu - Bali's surf mecca. The Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat is situated in the heart of a peaceful fishing village, surrounded by rice padi and close to the ocean. Only 10 minutes to buzzing hotspots of Seminyak and Kuta. Come relax in our charming garden bungalows with private terraces, swimming pool and friendly atmosphere. We now offer Yoga (Hatha, Vinyasa, Yin, Partner and Jivamukti) on site, and our new recording studio is finally up and riding. The brand new Cafe Voyager now offers a delightful range of health foods to naughty-but-nice flame grilled fare finished off with sumptuous deserts and our own home roasted coffee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.