We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow your Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bliss Sanctuary for Women

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bliss Sanctuary for Women
Save
You added Bliss Sanctuary for Women to your Saves list
Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Follow your Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

What a lovely place to stay!!! It was a comfortable, wonderful place with an amazing environment with lovely staff and host. I don’t have words to describe how great was my experience at Bliss Sanctuary was. In my 10 days at Bliss I felt surround by love, peace and good vibrations. I just arrived back home today and I am already missing Bali and Bliss Sanctuary.
I had a massage every day for 1½ hours with adorable Wayan and her magic hands. Beautiful and yummy food from chef Alit.
While at the Villa the lovely Koemong always greeted me with a great smile and provided excellent personal service.
The lovely Putu was most happy to drive me to any local destination and helped me with whatever I needed.
All 4 staff always greeted me with beautiful smiles and were happy to attend to my needs. Furthermore Bliss provided me with a local handset mobile so that when I went exploring I could contact Putu or Courtney and ask for advice and or pick me up when I was finished my adventure.
Courtney is the most beautiful and nicest host inside and out that I have met. She is amazing with a heart of gold. Thank you Courtney for all your assistance, help, beautiful words, laughs and nice conversations.
A big thanks to Zoe and to the angels that inspired her to create Bliss Sanctuary. Zoe is a spiritual and clever woman and without her incredible energy it wouldn’t have be possible open such wonderful place. Thanks Zoe for our insightful conversations and your good advice.
Bliss is a sanctuary and you are free to do whatever you want. Some days I wanted to explore beautiful Bali and Bliss organized this for me. Some days I just wanted to relax and gather my thoughts and I relaxed by the pool, watch movies, had a massage and had a yoga class. I ate, prayed and loved myself 
I met women of all ages, everyone had their own story and respected mine. I followed my bliss and didn’t expect people fix my problems. I became more aware and listened to the wisdom around me. I opened my eyes and the world smiled at me every day. I learnt a lot of lessons at Bliss that I wrote in my diary and have brought back home to reflect upon.
I am feeling great after my experience and can’t wait to go back to Bali in the future and of course to Bliss. I felt my energy recharge, feel much more confident, passionate and understanding of those in my life and about what’s going on in my world.
Zoe and Courtney you’re the best. Thankyou.
Love and Peace to everyone
Fabiana

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
150
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you truly desire to wake up and start your life on a positive path, then Bliss Santuary for women is an excellent place to start your journey.
While having chemotherapy treatment for cancer early in 2011 I contacted owner Zoe about staying at Bliss once I was well enough, over these months her continous contact and caring nature on my well being was the start of my wonderful journey that I experienced.
In Novemebr 2011 a friend and I stayed at Bliss for 6 days after being recently told I was in remission....Bliss was everything I imagined, and more... wonderful, amazing, enriching staff that cared and nurtured us with their smiles and respectful of our peace and quiet times . Getting to know each of them I now have a special bond with all of them at Bliss .... I find the Balinese culture and people magical and fascinating and loved listening to them about thier lives and families.
Allit's dishes were delicious and plentiful, the food deserves a whole review of its own - just yummy every time, special diets well catered for paticually calamari lovers. Wayans massages were something I looked forward too everyday. Putu our driver always laughing and smiling and has expert knowledge of where everything is in Bali . The ever so busy Koemong always busy keeping the grounds and Bliss just perfect.
My experinece was so great I was fortunite enough to plan a trip to Bali again in January 2012 f to pursue custom made items for my retail shop and cafe I'm soon to open.
This time at Bliss was at a whole new level not only was I able to have one of most closest and dearest friends with me but was lucky enough to share my time the new hostess of Bliss Courtney..... her warmth, nourishing , peaceful and inspiring personality continued this amamzing experience . I warmed to Courtney straight away ,her enthusaism to get to know you is one of the many beautiful qualities she holds . I cannot recommened highly enough this beautiful place...... where ever your life may be treat yourself to this amazing experience!!!! Zoe I wish you all the very best one can have in this wonderful Sanctuary you have created.
I miss all of you so much already XXXX

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at Bliss Sanchuary after spending some time in Legian. As soon as I entered the property I was greated with absolute warmth and serenity. In my line of work in the Mental Health and AOD industry I deal with a lot of people of different personalities, so it was a great getaway from the stresses of normal everyday life. I also have to say the our hostess Courtney was absolutely amazing. She has an amazing insight to people and really focused on each individual persons needs. Her sense of humor, knowledge of Bali, contacts in Bali and her ability to make you feel like you are the only guest there was what made my experience. I loved jumping on the bike and riding past the beautiful rice fields on my way to meditation and Yoga. It was my own Eat, Love, Pray experience. My bike even had a little basket on the front!!!!! The other staff to were so friendly and kind and I feel a special bond with all of them. The only negative thing I would have to say about Bliss is that when you come home it's a bit of a shell shock. Where's Alit to make my meals, where's Wayan to massage me for 1/12 hours, where's Keomon to clean my room, where's Putu to drive me where I want to go and where is Courtney to indulge my every whim????? No just a husband and three children wanting me to be all of the above!!!!! Thank you Bliss and Courtney I will miss you more than you will know. Xxxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Bliss Sanctuary came highly recommended by a work colleague (thanks Karen!). It was exactly the type of holiday I was looking for - relaxing, catching up on sleep, turning off the phone and computer and not thinking about work and study commitments back home. It was my first trip to Bali and also a treat for myself as I turn 40 soon :) Courtney and all of the Bliss staff - Putu, Wayan, Alit and Komang - made me feel extremely welcome and pampered like a princess for a week. Daily massages, freshly cooked Balinese meals, a driver to cater to our every whim.. how was I ever going to cope without these when I got home?! There was plenty of opportunity to do as much or as little as you liked. I chose to do yoga one day, two visits with Sami the healer (pain is gain!), a cooking class in Canggu which included a trip to the local markets, and I also spent some time shopping in Seminyak. The only downside was that it was wet season, which literally put a dampener on plans to get outside more - the visit to the temple will just have to wait until my next trip to Bali!

Finally, I also have to commend Zoe's attention to detail in setting up Bliss Sanctuary. It's just amazing, I don't think you would possibly want for anything during your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be of similar standard and quality. Room 1 where I stayed had two beds and overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Paula from Melbourne Australia


After a very stressful year I was looking for some pampering, sunshine, healthy food and relaxation.
This was my third trip to Bali and I spent the first 9 days up at Ubud which is very different from Canngu. The staff at "Bliss"were amazing....Putu, Allit, Wayan and Koemong each there to make meet my every need wherever possible. The high point for me was Sammy who is a Balinese healer with whom I had two sessions with and was nothing short of amazed at the results that were achieved.
Unfortunately we had some consistent rains and I felt the villa became quite cramped with all of us trying to stay indoors. The age difference between myself and the other women made me feel like I was in a share house with young girls, texting and DVD's not quite my idea of "Bliss".
Our host was not Zoe but the lovely Courtney who I felt was way out of her depth to handle the different emotions and psycholgical needs of women of all ages. I for some reason believed that Yoga and Meditation were held on the premises however this was not the case and I was disappointed with that as they are my "Bliss".
All I can say is that we are all different and have different needs and those needs should be met if that is what is being promoted. Perhaps it will be your "Bliss" try and see. Bali calls me back every couple of years and I certainly will return to this most spiritual island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Paula,

I want to thankyou with the deepest sincerity for taking the time to write about your personal experience at Bliss Sanctuary For Women.
It is through your truth as from all our guests that we can learn and grow and continue to create sanctuaries around the world for all different women of all different backgrounds, age and emotional needs.

The biggest gift for me as the owner in reading your review is the very important difference you have experienced which may be more suited to the expectations of a retreat rather than what we have created as a sanctuary.
A retreat gives you specific activities and generally a regimented schedule based around the intent of the retreat from spiritual workshops to weight loss to physical challenges.
As the first and only dedicated sanctuary of our kind (that we know of) we are immensely proud to say that we are none of these things. We do our best continually to create an environment where you follow your own bliss with our hostess facilitation of whatever activities you choose and who lives on site so that you always have somebody on hand that can be there to help try and understand your needs. Of course there are many different activities to choose from if you wish to partake, or you can choose your bliss to be total relaxation.

Courtney has been hand selected for this role for many reasons including her open heart, worldly travel experiences, passion for Bali and trying out as many things as it has to offer to impart her local knowledge and her empathy and compassion as well as her ability to connect with a vast majority of women. I am extremely impressed by her open heart above all else and her caring towards other people in her life generally. She is truly a beautiful soul and very capable hostess.

As her first guest I know Courtney has learnt a lot from your time and the sharing of your truth as she has learnt from the other guests who have all impacted her life positively.

As you know we have addressed each and every one of your concerns about the things we can control and I take full responsibility for not having been available to address some of your issues as they arose. I have taken it upon myself to set a more structured training system that gives each of our hostesses the tools they need to create the best environment we can.
This is something both our hostesses and I will learn more about every day and I thank you for your contribution to our growth as I thank each and every woman who has contributed to the bliss community.

Much Love, Zoe xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Discovered Bliss while trolling the internet, dreaming of holidays. The clean sleek lines and ease of the website, as well as the tantilizing offer of daily pampering, morning yoga and meditation sessions, being cooked for and being able to create our own itinerary were nothing short of appealing. Our (beautiful) hostess Courtney went over and above to 'facilitate' not influence our 8 days and 7 nights at Bliss. We moved at our own pace, visited places that were on our list, ate the most delicious food (cooked by Alit), Wayan's daily beauty therapy sessions were nothing short of blissful and helped us wind down from our first massage down to our last. And Putu our driver, always willing to take us where we needed/wanted to go, and answering all my questions about Bali with such patience for my naivete.
You make your own bliss here, whether it's realizing poolside with a book in hand, or adventuring around Bliss can cater for what ever you need.
Almost as though it is a social experiment it's amazing to witness and be apart of collective female energy.
Come alone, or with a friend or in a group and you may be surprised to find things you weren't even looking for or expecting.
The only thing missing was a pooch or feline companion to stroke!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I would highly recommend Bliss Sanctuary For Women. As a solo traveller who in her previous life was quite the adventurous traveller, I found this little piece of heaven completely met all my expectations. I love my yoga and good healthy food and as a solo mum of a 4 year old boy, I was looking for some time out to relax, nurture myself but also have a little fun and connection with others. I loved that you could make it whatever you wanted. You didn't have to get up at awful hours to meditate but you could find a space to do so if you wanted. The Yoga Centre Desa Seni had a fabulous range of top classes and teachers and could go to as many classes as you wanted. I loved that it was all included.The food was amazing and I loved that I didn't go home feeling like I had over eaten. You got 1.5 hours of massage/treatment daily and a driver to take you anywhere you wanted. My hostess Courtney really made my experience to be honest. She is a dynamic, open and made me feel at ease immediately. She listened to me and tuned into my needs and made sure that she helped facilitate exactly the experience for me that I was looking for. I really felt cared for which is special in my eyes. Zoe has created a perfect haven for women like us!! It was a very easy place to be on your own as the place runs in a way that you all feel like family but they also allow you the time to be with yourself, read books, unwind from the busyness of our chaotic lives at home. I met some amazing women who I will stay in contact with. We laughed and shared stories and sometimes went off to yoga together. I am already telling my gorgeous girlfriends about this place and hope to return next time I can.

Room Tip: They're all good. Its a small place, all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bliss Sanctuary for Women? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Sanctuary for Women

Address: Berawa, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bliss Sanctuary for Women, welcomes women traveling on their own without being alone or with a friend. Come and stay with us in beautiful Bali Villa Accommodation where you will be nurtured to your heart's content. No kids, no couples, and only a handful of women at any one time. This is pure holiday bliss, a sanctuary for women traveling who want the ultimate relaxation hassle free travel experience in Bali. 5-7 Day Packages ALL inclusive: All Meals, 90 minutes of massage & spa treatments everyday, unlimited yoga, meditation, personal driver, onsite Australian hostess, Itinerary consultation... Hassle Free Bliss!Spa treatments include: Balinese Massage, Hot Stone Massage, Thai Massage, Facial, Body Scrub, Creme Bath (head & shoulders), Manicure & Pedicure, Reflexology ... All Included 90 minutes everyday in your package. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bliss Sanctuary For Women Bali/Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bliss Sanctuary for Women, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.