We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canggu Beach

Canggu Beach
Jalan Batu Bolong, Canggu, Bali, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$155*
and up
Ranked #4 of 8 Attractions in Canggu
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canggu Beach is North of Seminyak. It's mostly famous as a place for surfing with 2 famous beaches : Echo Beach, world class wave and Batu Bolong also known as Old Man which is the ideal spot for beginners, longboards and funboards.Those 2 beaches are reef breaks.The sand is black on the 2 beaches, but it's also a nice place to rest and watch the surfers. In the past year Batu Bolong has became a super trendy place with many young European hanging out in the evening. The new athmosphere reminds a bit of Ubud, but with the surf as a background.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

There ARE places to get a drink - be that soft drinks, beer, milkshakes and fruit juices, great food too. Service is friendly and great.
You can go right from a great surf, to relax and eat and drink, then get back out for another surf.
Beginner-Intermediate through to advance waves.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    47
    31
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fun waves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

the waves were good in the mornings and evenings, im from Hawaii and had a blast surfing the right down on the north end.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T_diddy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Quiet area with some nice restaurants. Black/grey sand. Lots of stray dogs (that are harmless). Horse riding is available and the surfers seemed to be enjoying the huge waves.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Although we do not surf this beach is fab and lovely surrounding restaurants and a lot quieter than Kuta and Seminyak.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet beach, lovely for walking on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I agree with Alex U below. I found this beach lovely and peaceful for walking along in both directions - up northwards to Echo Beach and southwards past Berawa, etc.

I never actually swam right at the main Canggu beach, as the flags were rarely up at the times I was walking and I didn't really fancy swimming so near a river anyway. It is not a bright white beach, as the sand is a mix of volcanic rock and other matter, but I didn't spot any rubbish or other signs of dirt.

The second photo was taken shortly after all the fishing boats had come in and they were just putting up the swimming flags just north of the creek. But mostly there were few people on the beach most times I walked down there from my villa.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canggu Beach also viewed

 

Been to Canggu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canggu Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.