We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat- even for a non-surfer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
Save
You added The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats to your Saves list
Jl. Kubu Manyar 22, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
YOGA SHALA OPEN NOW
Ranked #14 of 56 Canggu B&B and Inns
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat- even for a non-surfer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Chillhouse for four nights over the New Year and we could not have been happier with our stay. On planning out trip to Bali my friend really wanted to learn how to surf and I really just wanted to chill out. I did a bit of research and found the Chillhouse and thought it sounded like the perfect place for us. And it was!

From check-in to check-out the staff was extremely friendly, warm, and helpful in every possible way. They were ever ready to help with anything and everything we needed from booking transport and tours to helping us find a fun spot to spend the new year.

We stayed in the ChillaVilla, a short walk from the main house. Our room was very spacious and had two twin beds and a day bed(which helped GREATLY when packing). The patio was great for lounging and reading a book. One of my favorite parts of the house was the beautiful outdoor bathroom.

The amenities at the main Chillhouse complex were great. The have two pools on the grounds, both with great places to layout and relax. The bar was very inviting and was always ready to remind us that it was Bintang time! The yoga shala was also a great place to take in a yoga class. Yoga is definitely much better when practiced in an open shala with a view of a Balinese neighborhood as opposed to a cramped city studio! The communal dining room was also great. The meals were delicious and varied- we never ate the same thing twice. And the communal dining setting made it really easy to meet fellow guests.

Speaking of the guests, they may have been my favorite part of staying at the Chillhouse. I met such a varied group of amazing people. It was sad to leave the Chillhouse but when we did, we came away with the best souvenirs ever- new friends from around the world!

Room Tip: The Chilla Villa was a decent place to stay but being in the main complex would've been much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review, I am stoked that you had a great Bintang time!
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    23
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
37
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Amazing place, the most polite and helful staff who learn your name, fantastic food, lovely clean and well kept rooms and awesome outdoor bathrooms, and great surf lessons and massages. Would definitely go back and would recommend to any one.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be excellent. The Chillavilla has shared bathrooms but not really a problem as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review, i am happy that we could make your stay a great one and i will certainly pass on the good words to our team!
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had my best vacation ever at The Chillhouse in late 2009 . Stayed at the Chillhouse for 4 weeks and enjoyed every second of it. The atmosphere is the best, very welcoming (thanks Putu!), friendly staff, awesome food and incredible surf coaching with mostly one to one teaching or two students per surf guide. As a beginner, surfing all the great spots nearby, this gave me a very close follow up and made my surfing skills grow fast.

Had some great day trips surfing on the north-western side of Bali, and a few boat trips over to Lembongan for surfing. I'm really looking forward to go back this spring. I will warmly recommend this great retreat to everyone wanting a relaxing surfing holiday including great food and friendly people.

Room Tip: Gery Lopez treetoploft. Its possible to sleep outside on the third floor where you can have a break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review!
Yeah, Norten, that's the way to go, sleep on the 3rd floor of the Gerry Lopez Treetop Loft yewww!
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked for a week in November and ended up staying an extra 3 days as I enjoyed it so much. As a total beginner surfer I was very impressed with the surf coaching from how the daily surfing is organised to my surf coach ( we were all 1:1 the week I was there) who was very attentive but also encouraged/pushed me in the water to keep going to get the best out of each session.

The Chillhouse itself is a perfect set up for relaxing after surfing with great massages and 2 lovely pool areas. I loved the long brunches and in general found the food excellent (the best dinners were the Friday BBQ and the buffets with wonderful fresh salads, fish etc). The communal dining really encourages guests to interact and I made some great friends whilst I was there.

The staff are excellent and clearly well trained, on the first day they all seem to know your name which lends a very personal touch to any interaction with them, plus they are so very friendly and helpful.

Only drawback was the very intermittent wifi and I stayed in the Chilla villa which is good value but no way near as nice as the main Chillhouse.

I will be back very soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review!
I am so happy that The Chillhouse Team could make your holiday so memorable and that you'll be back!
yew!
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Chillhouse is relaxed and an awesome spot to stay. The surf coaching is one on one and the guides are really great.. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the food is fabulous. Everyone eats together so as a solo traveller it is really great to socialise. I would definitely go back there! The Massage Prices are a little high, but if you can afford it the masseuse are really good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Megan!
Thanks heaps for that great review!
I trained the massage therapists myself, so a lot of energy from my side is in the massages we offer. If you compare the price of one massage at The Chillhouse for EUR 15,- with the standard back home (EUR 55,- or around US$ 60 in the States), i think it not that overprized! But you are right, one can get a regular Balinese massage at the beach for way less - one can also call that an "oiling" ...
ride on,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The ambiance can't be beat -- staff is friendly and helpful, very family atmosphere. Not a formal hotel experience but more like a camp -- the guides are truly looking for the best local breaks for the surfers and the anxiety is all from whether or not there are waves available. the lack of formal service lowers the tipping anxiety during the stay and creates a more egalitarian mood. the newer cabins are top end with air conditioning, tv and wifi so not as rustic as a typical surf camp although its in a real country setting -- chickens scratching in the dirt road in front with rice out to be threshed further down the lane which is what sold me on the place. Nice change from overbuilt and flash tourist hotels and condos further south in the island.

Room Tip: If you're older and able to afford it, take a cabin for 2, the bunk rooms are for youngsters and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks David for your awesome review! Yeah, it's those little Balinese specialties like chicken and rice on the street that make you realize that you are , well, on Bali! See you again, ride on, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My son (10 years old) and I stay for 1 weeks surfing retreat. We had a fantastic time. The accommodation was really comfortable and clean. The food was excellent and very generous. The staff absolutely fantastic. The facilities were really good. Surfing was great - really good instructors. Overall I could not recommend it highly enough. We are going again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Yew Michelle I am so happy that you had an incredible time with your son! See yous next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats

Address: Jl. Kubu Manyar 22, Canggu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chillhouse is a surf and bike retreat situated in Canggu amongst the rice fields on the southern shores of Bali. Our Bali Surf Retreats offer guest's quality accommodation and delicious organic meals, along with surf guiding, massage treatments and yoga sessions. It is a place where you can indulge in an unforgettable surfing holiday, filled with endless waves and maximum comfort.The emphasis of course, is on surfing but our retreats aren't just about chasing waves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chillhouse Hotel Canggu
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf And Bike Retreats Canggu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.