We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenshore Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenshore Apartments
Save
You added Greenshore Apartments to your Saves list
Lighthouse Road, Kovalam 695521, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

From picking us up at 5am to great location and quiet room, The Greenshore ticks all our boxes. Furnishings are simple but rooms are spacious. Second floor recommended for views. Friendly, helpful staff. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    38
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
89
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

As I came to India by myself and wanted to spend some relaxing time on my own before my onward travelling, this place really was a very good choice for me: I felt comfortable and safe in my nice and absolute clean room; I could have a good privacy there, but at the same time I could be sure, someone is there if there is any need (for example, there was an appointment arranged with an extraordinary good, nice and cheap dentist, as a problem occurred ...). Especially I liked the staff working there, they were really friendly from their heart at any time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We booked the Green Shore apartments afer reading the many positive comments on Trip Advisor, and it certainly lived up to expectations.

The rooms were clean, well furnished (bags of storage, a fridge and A/C) and the bedding was changed every day!

Ian, Lyn and the staff are so helpful in every aspect. It is clear they love the area and their local knowledge is invaluable for travellers. While we there, a german lady who was travelling alone had a problem with one of her crowns. Ian advised her that a local dentist was not just excellent but also great value compared with Europe. He then arranged an appointment for the lady and by the end of the day her problem was perfectly resolved. This sort of touch goes above and beyond the normal standard of service you get.

Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the beach, watching the Brahminy Kites swoop around the lighthouse and palm trees is about as relaxed a start to the day as you could want.

The apartments are near to the beaches and restaurants, just a few minutes walk, but far enough away so that any late night noise is eradicated. I would stick to the main beach where most of the tourists are. There is a very secluded beach very close to the appartments but we found that this was not very well taken care of and nobdy wants to put their towel down next to medical waste that has been washed ashore! The main beach is cleaned every day and you can often get a good view in the morning of the fishermen pulling their enormous nets up from the sea directly onto the beach.

If you are heading to Kovalam, I would not hesitate in recommneding that you stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

i was lucky that the owner, ian and lynne was back in town. marvellous couple. good WIFI in the room, breakfast not inclusive but it is cheaper than most shops in the area. they arranged for a taxi to greet me at the airport at 11pm with their host and also the staff woke up at 5am to wake me up for the auto to pick me up to the train station.

just that i find the transportation in kovalam is a little more expensive than the usual i get in India, perhaps it is because it is kovalam :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

.....is the best way to describe Greenshore. This is all down to Ian and his wife Lynne together with their cheerful and helpful staff who go the extra mile to make it feel that way.

The rooms are spacious and kept beautifully clean; plenty of hot water for your shower; a fridge to keep your drinks nice and cold and a TV should you wish to keep up with the news or whatever takes your fancy. All this for a very reasonable rate.

A very enjoyable stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I choose the Greenshore due to all the good reviews, and the reviewers were right. The Greenshore ticked all the right boxes and had reasonable WiFi which made communication back home very easy using Skype video calling.

The rooms were cleaned daily and to a high stand. The staff were excellent and very helpful organising taxi's, laundry and especailly meeting me at the airport at 4:00am.

Excellent restuarants are just a short stroll down the hill. This couldn't have been an easier holiday.

Scott from London UK

Room Tip: Room 302 has the best view and sea breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Considering the town itself during my drive from the airport. The rooms were exceptionally clean and neat. Bathroom had hot water always. The staff are very helpful always willing to assist. Safe and quiet environment also, went to bed every night feeling secure. Ian's prompt and detailed responses to all my emails during my enquiries equals to the customer service of any 5star hotel in America.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenshore Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenshore Apartments

Address: Lighthouse Road, Kovalam 695521, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kovalam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#7 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-run hotel near to two of India's world-renowned beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenshore Apartments Kovalam, Kerala
Greenshore Apartments Hotel Kovalam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenshore Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.