We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Bakery

German Bakery
Kovalam, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 42 restaurants in Kovalam
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery, German, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A lovely relaxing cafe and dinner restaurant. Great view of the sea. Go for cake and coffee after a day in the beach. Found it hard to read the menu at night. Bit frustrating. Nice fresh food. Great size portions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    50
    97
    36
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“slow but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

service slow but food ok and well priced - was having a pleasant time overlooking the beach until we saw a dead mouse on the floor so made a quick escape!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My first and last visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had plans to have dinner at bait in taj vivanta and thought to grab a few bites and a beer at this place.

First of all..the restaurant is located on the first floor so the location is not as good as the other ones have which are located right in front of the beach. We decided to go for a pasta but it wasn't available so had to settle for a margarita pizza instead (you should be ready with your backup order since there can be few things which are unavailable). Apart from the pizza we also ordered a calamari fry to see how good in the restaurant in handling two entirely different kind of cuisines.

The food took a realllllyyyy long time to be served. We almost waited for 15 mins for our beers, 30 mins for the calamari and another 30-45 mins for the pizza. And when the food came to our tables we were extremely disappointed. The portions were tiny for the kind of wait and price. The calamari tasted different than the ones I had tasted before at other places and was good in a way but the margarita pizza was hopelessly hopeless.

So the idea of trying different cuisines worked..and now we can safely say that this place might be good for the local food but not for the other cuisines. Infact for the price these guys quote for their food I suggest that you better go to a local shack to try the local cuisine rather than eating here.

Totally not worth it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sea Food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

First of all the view is too good to have dinner with family or with friends. We ordered the couple of Sea food items and the preparation was good all of us like it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

food is decent. portion is a lot. cakes were a let down given their exhorbitant price. we ordered for grilled seer fish in garlic sauce which was average. again, i think the rates were too high for the quality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Bakery also viewed

 
Kovalam, Kerala
Kovalam, Kerala
 

Been to German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.