We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   G V Raja Vattappara Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is excellent. Rooms are absolutely great. The location is very good. Food was absolutely heavenly. The swimming pool is lovely and this place is a fantastic choice in Kovalam.

Service is a bit slow: if you request for something out of the ordinary and a bit special, it will take forever. If you have food outside the rush hour, be prepared for cold food and slow service!

The Chef was very accommodating: he prepared some special typical Kerala dishes for us like Puttu Kadalai, Idi Appam, etc.

Overall, a nice place to be in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    250
    51
    18
    17
See reviews for
299
437
33
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Brilliant property, Amazing staff, Superb view, Great food, Relaxing Stay... what else one wants!!

We have visited Taj during Nov 2013 for a stop over a weeken! We had the reservation and recieved a confirmation call a day in adavance to check on pickup from airport facility.. As we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the staff.. They took us thru the property making us familiar with what all they have to offer and they had it all - Spa, Gym, Shop, Amazing restraunts, Beach.. Interestingly they have daily an dedicated activity lined up, like Wed (Lady night), Thursday (cooking classes) Friday (DJ night) etc.. That was quite attractive, however due to short stay we couldnt try that out...

We were taken in a buggy to our room which was kind of our prvt cottage.. As we entered the room, it was nicely decorated and greeted warmly... They serve evening tea @ Bait (there beach facing restraunt) .. Wow! Enjoying evening tea in front of beach, with amazing munches and sun set view.. Brilliant, its a short cut to heaven..

The food is at a milder side as compared to routine Indian food, since most of the visitors are foreigners.. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the lavish buffet at the breakfast and dinner at Bait.. Its delicious and served with lots of love..

The pool is cool, with amazing view of the beach far, which gives an optical illusion of infinity pool..

"Sp. Word for the Staff" The staff is just amazingly warm, courteous, helpful!! On our second day, almost the entire staff knew our second name and also the hotel manager and their top chef sp came to our table to make us feel special... Truely they make you feel king and queen.. And I like what they said "Ask us for anything you want, there is nothing impossible for us"

The weather was just perfect as a Cherry on the Cake...

As we left we were gifted a small token of Kerela spices, Ohh i totally treasure it... Amazing stay completely...

Room Tip: Take beach facing room Get reservation in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights in December 2013.
When I planned this trip I wished to stay in Leela. But they had every rooms already booked. So I chose Vivanta by Taj and now, after my vacation is over, I think Vivanta is the best choice.
Actually it located not in the Kovalam exactly but in Samudra beach. It takes 8-10 minutes to get to Kovalam beach by tuk-tuk. But Samudra beach is much better - long, quiet, not so many people. The hotel has large territory including way to the beach and seaside restaurant. It was great to sit there in the evening observing sunset.
Room was very comfortable and well-equiped. Housekeeping - regular.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent staff: genuine, happy staff who serve with a smile. Special thanx to chef W Das who dished out special dishes for our 1 year old son everyday!
Big thanx to Aneesh who took the trouble to travel all the way to Trivandrum after our checkout to give back my son's favourite toy.
Neat & clean beach. Excellent all the way!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea from your room, request them for rooms numbered 300+
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Taj Kovalam is a very good property and we stayed in the month of Nov 2013. The experience was very good. right from check in to check out and also during the stay , there was a distinct mark of TAJ service.
Be it eating dinner at the Beach front restaurant or buffet breakfast the whole experience was superb

We were in the Presidential Suite and the rooms and the pool were well kept.

Room Tip: over all it is a good property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Recently been to dis property n had a gr8 joy n pleasant stay.
We stayed at Vivanta for 3 nites 11th to 14th Dec n must say that we had best of our tym here..
Fm our welcome on arrival to the time of departure...the hotel staff looked after us extremely well n graciously...sply my 2year old daughter. Everybdy was playing wth her n taking care of her...thanku guys :)
It was my bday on d 11th dec n the staff gv me a beautiful surprise by putting sum flwrs n candles in d room...aaaaahh I will alwys remember.
The location is beautiful n view frm d pool is breathtaking beautiful.
A big spl thanks to everybdy in d htl for making our stay memorable.
Will surely return soon n dis tym for 5 nites atleast.
Mrs n Mr. Kaushal...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We booked for a twin (2 bed) room we were surprised when put in a one bed room. Ofcourse the hotel did not even bother to change our room but after repeated requests brought a small extra bed. Just terrible !!!! We were hasseled for extra payment for wifi use when checking out and had to argue that it was paid with the room rate.
The food in the restaurant for dinner was awful and the breakfast was worse.
We liked the water boat ride tour provided for guests free with tea afterwards in the gardens
The gardens and surroundings are excellent !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to your during your stay.

We have taken up your feedback with concenred managers who have given assuracne to take corrective steps in the respect areas. We value your comments and it is only through such constructive feedback that we are able to improve ourselves and ensure they do not recur.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam

Address: G V Raja Vattappara Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, is delightful in many ways. While to some it is one of the finest beach resorts in Kerala, to others it is an amazing backwater retreat. And there are those that love it for its hill resort layout. Now it's all that and more. There's a nice new buzz all over. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kovalam Hotel Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Hotel
Taj Green Cove Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Kovalam Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Kovalam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.